You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 25 Reasons Steem Will Replace Bitcoin as #1 Cryptocurrency by 2021!

in #dlive6 years ago

Racism devalues steem; the fact that this platform is crawling with too many people affiliated with hate groups; who openly downvote non-white authors and content creators means this platform won't be able to hold up; as other groups of people continue to fall into this space, which used to be mostly white; better ideas will be introduced.

All these platforms steem has can be replicated - and a better way of rewarding people for their content (better than Voting, which is 100% Bias driven) - will emerge;

but for now, Steem is 'too much' like Twitter, or Facebook, in that a person can be Flagged for violating terms that they have not violated; and Judged by an Algorithm that isn't intelligent enough to realize when a user has not actually violated terms; but is just being flagged by a bunch of 'trolls' using the platform.

Hell I'd love for steem to be worth $8,000 or more some day; but, racism (The evil virus that it is) is bound to kill this currency, the same way racism corrodes corrupts and destroys everything else that it touches.

Sort:  

I’m not a racist. The scam of Steem has nothing to do with racism. Just because ostensibly white male whales happen to be running the scam, doesn’t mean they did so intentionally with forethought about race. They simply happened to be the ones capable of premeditating and implementing the scam. If you want to compete with them, then get busy on programming, engineering, human psychology, etc.. Please stop blaming racism for any of our failure to compete. Let’s all look in the mirror and ask ourselves if we are working as diligently as we can to compete.

I have written a point-by-point rebuttal of @‍jerrybanfield’s incorrect propaganda campaign.

@AnonyMit, What part of Steem is a scam? Steem says you make money. In 2017, I joined Steemit for free, made money from Steemit, and bought a plane ticket with the money I made from Steemit. Was my plane a scam?

I will quote from my lengthy rebuttal of Jeremy’s 25 points:

The whitepaper of Steem even admits that the “proof-of-brain” reward system depends on being able fool most of the users into doing more effort than they will be equitably rewarded. This psychological deception is quite clever and effective at fooling newbies and n00bs.

It is very important to understand that the cartels and whales generate asymmetrically, disproportionately more rewards than their share of the SP stake that they hold. So not only do they get outsized rewards, but they get more than their outsized share. This concept seems to fly right over the head of the community-at-large. It is much worse than capitalism and should not be conflated with free markets. It is a by-design power vacuum induced monopoly.

And quote from another comment I wrote:

And if you happen to be one the lucky bloggers that is upvoted by whale cartels, then you can be shining example that the scam tries to reward a few superstar bloggers to make everyone else jealous and manipulate their psychology to think that in the future maybe they can get high rewards too if they continue to give more effort to Steem than Steem gives back to them.

Combine that with the premediated by Daniel Larimer, sneaky instamine that @‍cryptovestor documented in his video which awarded some 80% of the money supply to STINC, which STINC now allegedly and plausibly employs in a sockpuppet scheme to obfuscate that they’re powering it all down into Bitcoin while capturing asymmetrically more than even their stake-weight share of the rewards.

I understand that it fools newbies. But then again, CNN fools newbies. I don't want to downplay what you are saying. I do not really like deception. But on the other hand, what is the alternative? I know, you talked about http://Yours.org as an alternative. Also, I would include http://Gab.ai and http://Minds.com like I said before. I understand that you may have to be lucky to get upvoted by whales. I would compare Steemit to gambling, Poker, the lottery, and people continue to play them and maybe they shouldn't as most people don't win more than maybe $5 every few years at the most for some of the gamblers. But still, Steemit is an alternative to Facebook still. And Facebook has deleted a lot of my stuff so many times. YouTube destroyed thousands of my videos. Twitter told me I was a Russian spy bot because of what I share and say on Twitter because I am conservative instead of brainwashed progressively liberal. I don't use Steemit for the money but because I need a platform that is not going to delete my stuff. I like money but the one thing I like more than money is the ability to keep my stuff from being lost.

But on the other hand, what is the alternative?

I am inviting everyone to feedback on a naming a new project which will attempt to fix these problems.

You will find a list of all extant tokenized social networks on distributed ledgers that I’m aware of.

I understand that you may have to be lucky to get upvoted by whales.

I have a much better design in mind. And note my criticism of the design of Yours’ reward system.

But still, Steemit is an alternative to Facebook still. And Facebook has deleted a lot of my stuff so many times. YouTube destroyed thousands of my videos.

Oh I agree. That’s the reason I use Steem now. I was perma-banned from Bitcointalk.org and I’ve had so many comment posts censored by for example WordPress’s idiotic spam filter.

But I’m concerned when Steem fails all the data may disappear from ready access if there’s no economic incentive to continue serving it. Steem’s design doesn’t even pay any transaction fees to the nodes which serve the content! The monetary reward and incentive aspect is very important to get correct. This is what I explained in my blog about consortium blockchains. It is why I am not enthusiastic about the $1 billion grab of EOS. We need a long-term viable paradigm. I am working on it. Maybe others are too.

I don't use Steemit for the money but because I need a platform that is not going to delete my stuff. I like money but the one thing I like more than money is the ability to keep my stuff from being lost.

Agreed. But we also need the monetary aspect to be long-term viable, else we’re potentially right back to having the widespread access to our content be lost.

And also we need a paradigm that encourages widespread adoption otherwise our content is not accessible to most people.

Agreed, gotta think long-term before Steem dies, and it can die, and http://Vid.Me died in 2017 and things do die and can die and I am concern with all of this as well. I had an incentive of using Steem when I turned my Steem into Bitcoin in order to buy a plane ticket. But some people would say it is too complicated to do that even.

I didn't know nodes are not paid. How can we get them paid and why aren't they rewarded with some Steem or Bitcoin or something for their work? Are Steem Witnesses paid? I guess some nodes can brag about it in some Steemit posts and maybe make some money that way at least.

I don’t think Steem will die soon because of the Steem Media Tokens pump coming and the speculation on whether investors will buy STEEM so they can earn 4% ROI monthly by upvoting themselves via sockpuppets in addition to the appreciation of the tokens.

Steem’s witness nodes are paid to generate new blocks for the blockchain, but CDN nodes which serve the content stored in and referenced by the blockchain are not paid.

The reasons that Vid.me failed are what is solved by a tokenized replacement for Youtube as the admitted by Warren Shaeffer the Co-founder of Vidme:

Audience building — Leverage an existing audience, and/or incentivize all platform participants by issuing a native currency (e.g. blockchain) to equitably reward contributors.

But I think he is incorrect about the necessity of operating a video site at a loss. Tokenize then charge the users for the bandwidth costs. It will be minuscule1 compared to the appreciation in the value of the token, i.e. users will see their wallet balances rise. This is what Steem and EOS do by minting new tokens to pay the witness (and pay STINC which presumably makes sure the CDN nodes are funded), which I think is a feature bug because that opens a door for spam as compared to charged users a microtransaction fee. And rewarding tokens by minting them from a collective money supply can’t possibly be designed to not be a system which must end up as a winner-take-all whale dominated clusterfuck (i.e. oligarchy and overlords). And by the time the token stops appreciating some decade from now, then the cost of video bandwidth will have become insignificant and users will have gotten accustomed to the advantages they get as compared to Youtube and not want to stop.

P.S. STINC = Steem, Inc.

1 Roughly less than $0.01 per hour of video consumed. For example at 2 Mbps data rate for 360 – 480p video that is roughly 15 MB per minute which is less than 1 GB per hour. Hivelocity offers a $98 monthly server with 50 TB bandwidth allowance, which is $0.0019 per GB. As of May 2016, high volume pricing was as low as $0.0025 and dropping 20 – 25% per annum.

Should users pay directly or should be like a tax where users are paid a little less in order to cover costs for everything, bandwidth, data, etc, maybe.

Hello @anonymint ... I don't know you. I've never spoken to you before - so why you would read my comment that is not addressed to you, and figure I was talking 'about you' is beyond me. However, that is usually the case with racism. White people like you decide to go and DEFEND racism; you DENY Racism and for why?? If you're not a racist, why do you feel a need to shoot down any conversations about racism??

Just because ostensibly white male whales happen to be running the scam, doesn’t mean they did so intentionally with forethought about race.

How do you know what their intent was, since you yourself, are Not a whale? - This is the problem with racism; white people like you never want to admit that racism is ever at play. Why?

Do you feel that if you admit that there actually are racist white people, it means YOU are a racist too? If so what kind of silly thought process is that? How are you so comfortable in believing Wild Fantasies are Truth?? What makes you believe non-white people are not smart enough to understand, that Not all white people are racist, EVEN if a lot of white people are racist??

White people being racist, does not make YOU a racist too; BUT defending racism, makes you suspect.

What I wrote, is a reality. You denying that reality, only bolsters my whole point. None of you even want to consider what kind of platform this would be, if racism was NOT an issue. When non-whites get to this platform, they are excited, initially. But then after writing posts that do not get votes, or views, primarily because this platform is filled with racist white people who have no desire to read what blacks have to say, and have no desire to 'help' anyone black - They Leave this platform. Then other whites who start to realize how Little Diversity is here - also leave.

What's left are a bunch of racist, nerdy white people that don't like or get along with anyone else.

How you can think that isn't negatively impacting this platform, is beyond me; BUT you don't think racism is a big deal - you are one of those white guys who thinks blacks are just making it up all the time; and no white people are working together to harm others ever --- which is a ludicrous belief system with all the History of Evidence we have that this is actually what white people do. Not all whites, of course - but plenty ..... you all need to adjust how you live on this earth; You're messing it up for humanity.

and because of your attitudes, this platform and all connected to it will fail. Other platforms, programmed by people who understand how racism cannot be allowed to permeate another space, will rise up. I care not if you agree with what I'm saying. I know it's right.

I’m working on creating a system that won’t give inequitable rewards to whales so that all those who join can compete meritoriously.

I have no evidence that when the whales of Steem created Steem with a design that is inequitable that they did so to discriminate against any race. FACT: the Steem system rewards the whales at the expense of minnows of every race and gender. You may see some whales upvoting some white friends of theirs, but there’s plenty of white minnows who are not being upvoted. And in fact I am upvoting dark skinned people. If you don’t believe she is dark skinned then you haven’t seen or tasted her dark black crotch! She’s just hiding from the sun always to try to be brown only. The ridiculousness of this point about darkness of skin color is to exemplify the ridiculousness of making an issue of how dark or light-skinned a person. The world doesn’t owe you a damn thing. If some group of people decide they want to exclude you for whatever reason, then that’s their prerogative. Go make your own if you feel neglected in theirs. Don’t try to tell them they own you anything. California is bankrupting itself with that politicization.

Besides dude, I am not even 100% “white”. My grandmother of my mother’s side was brown skinned with a large percentage of Cherokee native American indian ancestry.

Dude I grew up in Baton Rouge, Louisiana and we were so poor at one point that we were living next door to black people who had holes in the walls of their house and no functioning toilet. And I attended an elementary school in which my sister and I were one of only a few non-African kids in the entire school. I’ve enjoyed very much black people in Louisiana. But you’re correct that I associate more lately with nerds, because I want to be productive. When I was more into sports in my younger years, I had more opportunities to be associated with African lineage guys. But there are also some Africans getting into high-tech. The world is changing fast.

You really need to stop playing politics, playing the victimization role, and focus on doing something productive. There are many successful African people. And the ones who are successful get on with it, and stop whining. And as I said, many of us are working hard to create a more meritorious world.

P.S. You’re in Los Angeles? So you know Culver City. That is where I graduated from high school. I was a walk-on football player at Santa Monica junior college one summer camp and we had mostly black players. One of them was from Maryland and he and I become friends and hung out sometimes. One of my roommates at university was a light skinned black. Among my many interests, I also like basketball and I listen to all kinds of music including rap, R&B, etc..

You're being the typical obtuse white guy on purpose who tries hard not to understand what others are saying. So that's fine. I know who I'm dealing with as your 'kind' permeates American Society. We deal with you all the time, as you're all the same. you talk at people and never listen to what others have to say. So much of what people like you do, involves racism at the very top. I have been building websites since 2004 - over 14 years; and all my interactions with white/asian programmers has been filled with disrespect.

Denying that racism is the culprit is just part of your Cult. IT's how you roll. with dishonesty.

SO in several ways, it's actually partially joyous to see people like you suffering from what Racism causes. It causes inequality, and it causes all the issues you're mad about. It all stems from racism, racist attitudes, hate; The UNWILLINGNESS TO SHARE resources --- but you don't see it; from how hard you are working to defend racism. Deflecting doesn't change the reality that you cultures hate for non-white people will only cause problems for humanity; and everything we touch.

I just wrote a review on Agents of Sheild and how the fans in Facebook want the ONLY black character off the show; Why is that? Oh I'm sure it's not racism because nothing is ever racism when white people tell the story .... ;)

and you'll see I don't offer it up as 'evidence' or proof; - people like you are Morally Corrupt. Being honest isn't in your Genetic make up.

lastly claiming to have ONE black friend does not make you look like you aren't a racist. :)

nor does telling me you like rap and r&b ..........

none of that has sh*t to do with the fact that white people do not VOTE UP articles written by black writers on this platform; They don't resteem articles from black content creators; they don't leave comments or show anywhere near the kind of love to black steemers as they do white/asian ones; and that filters into all the problems you're speaking of, where the Whales end up being 99% white or asian; and you don't see race ... b/c you love the benefits that come from being white and the last thing you want is a actual fair world where all of us are just people.

I already told you I want a meritorious world.

You’re presuming they aren’t resteeming your content because of race. Maybe it’s because they aren’t sharing your interests, the way you write, etc.. You have to build a community of followers. Who are your type of people? Are they on Steemit? But I also already told you that Steemit is a broken design and I don’t advise you to waste your time trying to build something here. Look for a better platform.

Talking about race all the time makes you look truculent and undesirable. Any way that’s what you want to focus on, but I have more important things to do and certainly more enjoyable activities to do than beat a dead horse about this issue.

@Topnetworkeral, who is racist? Who is not racist? By who's standards are we to define what is good and what is bad? Are we to define words like racism and spam from your dictionary or my dictionary or this religion or that religion or no religions or this country's laws or that country's laws or what? What is free speech? Some people think free speech is limited like Mark Zuckerberg of Facebook said. Why not go back to Facebook if Mark is right? Mark agrees with you, right?

So if I point out how racism is a issue for the platform; your response is a "go back to Facebook?"

Sounds like a "go back to Africa if you don't like racism" response.

not surprised :)

Proves my point, entirely :)

I wrote a post in 2016 rebutting you before you even joined Steem.

Sounds like a "go back to Africa if you don't like racism" response.

He didn’t insinuate that, and you have not shown any evidence of racism on Steem. The white minnows are being disadvantaged also.

And in fact I remember a black guy in Germany who teaches dance who was earning $100s and even $1000s per post in 2016 and 2017. I don’t know if he is still active on Steem.

I see your resteemed @heiditravels 7 months ago and she is “white” and has been a favorite of whales.

Steem’s design is broken. The whales are raping the system at the expense of everything. Stop with the racism allegations. That diverts attention from the real issue which is an algorithmic one which you may not comprehend. I am an engineer. My job is to make systems work correctly. Has nothing to do with race.

he Literally said "go back to facebook"

this is why debates with white people about racism tend to be so pointless - none of you are willing to admit anything. Ever. Even when it's right in our faces.

also yea, I resteemed content from heidi because she makes great content. unlike white users on steem, I don't look at race before i resteem people. Meanwhile, no one white resteems My articles.

because that is how y'all operate. You can shout at me all you want that race isn't impacting the ecosystem; but it absolutely is. You white folks bring your hate with you online; and it'll kill everything you touch til; you change your ways. Jumping on My comment to tell ME that racism isn't happening on here, only makes me think you're just another racist defending racism; like y'all always do.

lastly, your comments are really all the Evidence I need.

Yours and the 'go back to africa/facebook' guy ..................

For more info on race, I love watching the @Stefan.Molyneux videos.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67321.51
ETH 3513.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83