DIY with Nessie #1: COPPER MAGAZINE STAND

in #diy7 years ago

When i moved into my apartment, i longed for anything that wasn´t IKEA and added a nice, personal touch to my place.

Since i couldn´t afford any designer pieces, i took to recreating some i´ve seen and found this to be so inexpensive.
Other times i am just sick of something in my place, but can´t afford to replace it with something i like, so i get creative and try to upgrade it.

And on rare occasions i even come up with something entirely new myself and it turns out looking good :)

I´ll start with something small: a pretty little newspaper stand. Due to my (former) job in the music industry i had plenty of music magazines at home, and the ones with "my" bands on the cover i really wanted to keep, so i needed a nice place to store them.

You will need:

  • 2 x 430mm copper pipes (22mm diameter)
  • 2 x 230mm copper pipes (22mm diameter)
  • 4 x 350mm copper pipes (22mm diameter)
  • 8 x 90° copper elbows (22mm diameter)
  • Scissors
  • 425 x 800mm piece of leather (or any thick fabric)
  • hole punch
  • 6 pairs of rivets
  • a copper cutter, if you can´t get your copper pipes cut in the hardware store
  • super glue

Unbenannt-1.jpg

Learn from my mistakes:

Dry-assemble everything first before you even look at that glue!
Then, when it all looks good, put a wee drop of glue into each elbow piece and assemble again.

Use the hole punch to punch holes in the leather piece, wrap it around the long sides of the copper stand and use the rivets to secure it on both sides.

DSCF5080.JPG

Voilà, you have created a simple, minimalistic, chic magazine stand!

Optional tweak: if you prefer your magazines standing upright in the holder rather than lying in it, use a longer piece of fabric/leather ( i recommend 445 x 1470mm).

Let me know if you have any questions, share the fruits of your labour and stay tuned for the next episode!

This series was inspired by @things post - thanks!

Sort:  

First of all, this was post was amazing! It is super nicely written and something clumsy like me can try as well. Second of all thank you so much for letting me know that there is at least one soul who got benefited from it. I hope to see many more from you. Good job!

yes, thank you, that was great inspiration! And believe me, i am super clumsy too. Inanimate objects have a habit of throwing themselves in my way.. constantly!
I´ll be coming up with more DIY posts, i´ve got so much diy stuff in my house!

That would be awesome! I will definitely try some of those. I need stuff in this house!

Learned something new about you today!
When are you gonna break down the process of making your delicious kombucha?? I know you've explained it to me a few times now but I still can't wrap my head around growing "the mother" :)

(Upvoted and Resteemed :) )

Thank you lady :*
I will make a kombucha post eventually! Just, as you know, they are definitely not the most photogenic mothers out there! I´ll sweettalk to them tho and see if they might be up for a shooting :)

This looks a great design masterpiece to me!! It's beautiful. I love the copper color against the black leather!!

thank you querida :*

Wow! That is super creative. Honestly, I would never have the patience for this. It looks great. Also, I am a fan of copper things!

Super sweet that you got inspired by @things and our house :D

It really only takes about half an hour - i am super clumsy and have no patience, that´s why i stuck to glueing and punch holes rather than soldering and sewing ha.
I have more copper projects coming up, just get @things to make them for you :)

Glueing and punch holes :') It looks great though!

And I am not sure if I would want @things to make that for me. It's like she has two left hands.

hahaha. this one paired with her answer above.. lol. i see interesting times coming up in your household ;) please provide pictures :D

Hahahah, I am scared. I should record it when that time comes.. I definitely won't hesitate to grab my camera!

great and elegant idea ! j'adore...

WOW! Nice job!

I've learnt it takes a little imagination to make something boring into something fab 💘

new follower here

I found you via @heiditravels

oh thank you! and yes, you can tweak a thousandfold by just improving tiny things!

upvoted and resteeemed... lovely .. even my husband the art-wood guy likes it.. great job!
coffee-animated-emoji.gif

very gud & smart design.

You may want to coat it with something to keep it shiny and copper colored. That or the oxidized look might even look cool too. Good post!

Good suggestion! Apparently i don´t have any oxygen in my place tho, since none of my copper things have oxidized yet :D But definitely a good idea when doing anything with copper outside!

that is really cool, i love diy things, I made almost all of my pictures frames hihi

Oh sweet, are you gonna make a tutorial for us :)?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60870.66
ETH 2917.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62