DIY Fish Stringer!!! Repurposing Old Dog Leashes!

in #diy6 years ago

IMG_1894.JPG

Having the right tackle is very important for every angler. Whether it is the top of the line equipment or my favorite homemade. It doesn't matter either way.

I am Getting ready for the year ahead and all of the fishing I plan to be doing. While I do plan on catch and release, the approaching warm seasons are when I like to try and put some meat on the table. One tool that stands out to me other than a rod, reel or even lures is a stringer.

IMG_0680 - Copy.JPG
Stringer through the mouth of a 20" (Paralichthys dentatus), summer flounder AKA fluke.

If you are like me not all of your fishing is done off a boat, in fact close to none for me these days. Because of this I don't bring a cooler and if I do Its not big enough to keep a catch. From the shoreline, wading, or kayaking Stringers are my favorite tool to keep a catch fresh.

To use a stringer you feed the line through where the lower jaw meets the gills. you can exit the mouth, but, if the fish has teeth, simply exit adjacent to where you fed it in. The metal tip on the stringer makes this much easier. Then feed the metal tip through the loop to secure the fish. Finally tie the end of the stringer to something and dip that sucker back in the water.

The stringer allows you to keep the fish alive longer with the added benifit of being able to bleed them out in the water.

IMG_1861.JPG

As I mentioned above I prefer the homemade option, it's a lot cheaper if you ask me. A friend was recently getting rid of these old dog leashes as he no longer has a dog. At first glance I thought they were fishing stringers, until I saw the puppy on the package. Even so I quickly realize I have some old tent stakes at home and could whip up some quality stringers.

IMG_1862.JPG
lIMG_1864.JPG

I start by cutting the clips off of both ends and melting the braid shut with a bic lighter. I know I could have kept the clip on one end. Rated for dogs, Still I dont know how it would stand the test of time and frankly don't care to find out.

IMG_1866.JPG

So off they came, I trust my surgeons loop (shown above) way more anyhow.

IMG_1868.JPG

This is the trickiest part, I think, tying the line to the tent stake. Good news if you know how to snell hooks, this is a very similar except without the eye that a typical hook has. Curl the line around the stake and feeding the tag through all the loops including the off set loop on the bottom. Then pull as tight as you can.

IMG_1869.JPG

The knot should end up looking like the picture above shows. If the knot is too bunched it may not be a good fit with smaller fish. I'll set that knot in the middle and fire up my dremmel.

ezgif.com-video-to-gif (2) grind.gif

I cut off the exess length and that pesky bend. It's important to leave a little bit of the elbow in the bend so the knot doesn't slip off.

ezgif.com-video-to-gif (2).gif

Finally I flattened 1/3 of the stake and gave it a tip usinng the bench grinder. Doing this makes it easier to slip through any fish's gill plate.

IMG_1894.JPG

The perfect tool for bringing fish to table? Im not sure, but, it certaintly is my favorite. I will rest assured that I have the right tools for my upcoming year of fishing.

Thank you for reading.

For more please:
Upvote &
Subscribe

Be sure to check out my latest fishing trip:
https://steemit.com/fishing/@nickbuha/largemouth-bassholes

"Got my rod, reel, bait, nuts and were set".

Sort:  

As long as a shark does not take a fancy to it...

Great idea.

Thank you!! While here on Long Island we do have sharks, mako, blacktip all the way to the very rare sighting of a great white, they seldom come close enough to the shore to get in anybodies way. But with the earth warming up who knows maybe I wont be able to do this in the future.

We get a lot of sharks coming into estuaries and estuarine lakes, as well as working the surf zone, so have to be careful with burley pots and stringers.

I can Imagine that in Australia, My stringers wont fly there. :)

Always a place for them in the fresh water. Not up North because of Crocs maybe, but definitely in the south.

I love the gifs too. Great upcycling tutorial on how to save some money while being environmentally responsible.

Thank you very much, I am very happy ppl are liking those gifs. :)

Great idea definitely , i have used this method to keep large catfish alive for the night to have a nice photo shoot works well and is cost effective thanks for a great post

Thank you very much!

Very good use of materials for making fishing gear. You saved them leashes from going in the trash and have some great stringers, basically for free.

I love how you use the gifs in your posts!

Thank you!!! I try to save money everywhere I can. I feel the gifs give motion to a post without having to make a video.

This is an awesome idea and thanks for sharing! Also, great pics and gifs to help show how to do it.

Thank you!!! Iol brought to you by my stinginess. :)

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Curious? Read @resteembot's introduction post
Check out the great posts I already resteemed.

ResteemBot's Maker is Looking for Work.

This post was upvoted and resteemed by @resteemr!
Thank you for using @resteemr.


@resteemr is a low price resteem service.
Check what @resteemr can do for you. Introduction of resteemr.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64116.01
ETH 2758.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65