An Old Looking Bench

in #diy6 years ago

Hello dear Steemians,

this is another not-a-knife-post.

It all started when (allegedly) I've promised my wife I'll make her a decorative bench. Apparently, we were in some store or another and she wanted to by a bench, and it was quite expensive so I told her "I can do that for a quarter of the price and ten times better".

Obviously, I had no idea she will take my word on it.
But you know how wives can be, she proceeded to bother me until I finally caved and so I've spent my workshop time not on knives but on the bench.

I was planning to make a video post about it, but my battery died halfway through so it will be a mix. Not a big deal it's just that I don't have many progress pictures.

Anyhow, I bought a plank and few pieces of iron bars and started with stressing the wood with various methods before staining it with tea, vinegar, and some acrylic paints.

Since various stages of staining took time to dry, I've fired up my forge and started forging the legs.

You can see some of the stuff I did in this video

And here are some progress pics
IMG_20181117_111206.jpg
IMG_20181117_113617.jpg
IMG_20181117_154353.jpg
IMG_20181117_154416.jpg

The final product
I must say taking a good picture of a bench is not something I am good at

Anywho, I've finished with a heavy coat of wax and gave it a nice shine

IMG_20181117_162905.jpg
IMGP1923.jpg
IMGP1924.jpg
IMGP1925.jpg
IMGP1926.jpg
IMGP1927.jpg

In the end, it was a fun project and not only did we save some money the wife is happy which makes my life a bit easier.

Thanks for stopping by and see you soon with a knife post...

Sort:  

Kinda cute, this bench ! I love its weird legs <3 And I love seeing it used under your tv too :D ... To be honest, I find this bench quite pretty :D

Why thank you ;)

Ładna ławeczka, nie ma zdjęcia jak przymocowałeś nogi.. mogę się tylko domyśleć.Czy ona nie będzie się rozjeżdżać na boki?

Thank you.
Like I said my video went bust, so not so many pictures.

I've attached the legs with a screw on the front and at the back the iron goes into a solid wood block that's screwed into the plank.
It's quite solid even though it is not really meant for seating - it's a decorative bench.
IMGP1928.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60696.93
ETH 2638.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61