We are killing the oceans, and ourselves...

in #diving6 years ago

Today I don't wanna show you beautiful fish, today look at just a one of the other things I see every time I go underwater…

Me with what remains of some kind of plastic bag (the kind used for 50kg of potatoes)
vlcsnap-error475_Modificado.jpeg

Yes! garbage! mostly plastic…

The whole surface of the oceans is full of small pieces of plastic that you cant see unless you look pretty close… The deepest places at thousands of meters have also lots of plastic… the most far away and lonely island, 5000km from any city have their beaches also full of plastic… Every fish you eat has plastic in it's stomach and the chemicals from those plastics in it's meat… So you eat plastic too…

This is a serious problem that we have to solve ASAP! right now!

I advice everyone to watch the documentary calles "Plastic Ocean" and also on a similar subject watch "chasing coral"
Sadly, our kids when they go diving they are not gonna see coral or beautiful fish, they are gonna see garbage and no life at all...

Sort:  

I hope you remove what you do find, as a diver I absolutely want to help reduce the human waste in our oceans as the ocean is no place for our waste! We should be repurposing and recycling every last item. All matter has practical value.

I wonder if steemians would be interested in sponsoring groups that reduce environment waste. Steem On!

I do and even more, walking on the beach or eve in the streets I normally go picking up plastic, I never come back home without garbage in my hands and pockets…

That's a good question, in a few months I'm starting a small free distribution magazine in buenos aires about recycling and everything that has something to do with environmental maters...

I agree with you this is a serious issue. Nowadays everyone is using the plastic bag which is the serious problem for us and animals live oceans.

What I see as the main problem is that most of the products we find in supermarkets are in plastic... the companies making them should pay a lot of taxes and those taxes should go to recycling or even better they should change their ways and sell everything wrapped in biodegradable materials...

When I ride, no trash ever leaves my car unless it goes into the trash at the gas station. At home, all plastic bags are kept for re-use as trash bags or for carrying other things. I do what I can to make sure nothing I use ever makes it to the ocean.

If everyone did these simple things we could reduce our plastic footprint.

that's good, I do the same but still I dont trust completely on how the garbage is disposed after they take it from out homes... even if you live 3000km from the beach any bag that is not well disposed makes it it's way to the ocean, maybe it takes years but because plastic is not degradable at the end it gets there...

exactly!

Yeah. I still have some unease about it, that's why I hang onto them as long as I do.

I think the best we can do is to try to avoid buying stuff that comes in plastic and whatever plastic we cans avoid find some way to do home recycling...

Agreed. Whatever we do, it's going to be a monumental effort that will require cooperation from every single human being on the planet. I just can't see a better way.

I hear that there are efforts to replace oil based plastics with hemp based plastics and I think that is a step in the right direction. But there is still 1,000 years of work to undo the damage to our oceans...sigh.

Another thing I've looked into is community gassifiers that basically cook all organic waste, including plastic and turn it into reusable elements, gases and compounds. Even waste metals can be captured with this. As the tech improves, we can improve our chances of surviving and repairing the damage we've done.

I'm an optimist. I think that someday, we'll strike a balance of harmony with the earth and a modicum of prosperity.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

So true sadly. Just came from the Maldives and luckely did not saw so much plastic in the waters (bigger pieces then), but some beaches are full of bottles and other useless stuff. Lot depends on the currents. Last year I was snorkeling in Belize and was shocked about the amount there in the sea, especially ik the reef canals :(

Yes, it's everywhere… Even where we cant see it… the whole oceans have tiny pieces floating on the surface… if you look at the ocean looks clean but if you filter some surface water you always gonna find plastic… :/

You got a 1.85% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @pluriforme!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

You Learn More From Failure Than From Success. Don't Let It Stop You. Failure Builds Character.

You got a 3.49% upvote from @upme thanks to @pluriforme! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65348.61
ETH 3557.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45