You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: We are killing the oceans, and ourselves...

in #diving6 years ago

When I ride, no trash ever leaves my car unless it goes into the trash at the gas station. At home, all plastic bags are kept for re-use as trash bags or for carrying other things. I do what I can to make sure nothing I use ever makes it to the ocean.

If everyone did these simple things we could reduce our plastic footprint.

Sort:  

that's good, I do the same but still I dont trust completely on how the garbage is disposed after they take it from out homes... even if you live 3000km from the beach any bag that is not well disposed makes it it's way to the ocean, maybe it takes years but because plastic is not degradable at the end it gets there...

exactly!

Yeah. I still have some unease about it, that's why I hang onto them as long as I do.

I think the best we can do is to try to avoid buying stuff that comes in plastic and whatever plastic we cans avoid find some way to do home recycling...

Agreed. Whatever we do, it's going to be a monumental effort that will require cooperation from every single human being on the planet. I just can't see a better way.

I hear that there are efforts to replace oil based plastics with hemp based plastics and I think that is a step in the right direction. But there is still 1,000 years of work to undo the damage to our oceans...sigh.

Another thing I've looked into is community gassifiers that basically cook all organic waste, including plastic and turn it into reusable elements, gases and compounds. Even waste metals can be captured with this. As the tech improves, we can improve our chances of surviving and repairing the damage we've done.

I'm an optimist. I think that someday, we'll strike a balance of harmony with the earth and a modicum of prosperity.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64928.52
ETH 3525.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36