How I Managed To Hold My Breath For 4 Minutes With Only One Day Training.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #diving7 years ago (edited)

First of all this isn’t gonna be a guide about how to hold your breath longer, this is just kind of like a documentation about how I managed to hold my breath for 4 minutes in only one day of training.

Disclaimer! I am not advising anybody to try this at home. It can be dangerous and you should only be practicing with a supervisor that can help you if something goes wrong. Never try it in the water without a professional trained instructor.
https://goo.gl/images/JWXaHw

Ok so the first that I did after waking up was, taking 1 breath of air and hold it for as long as possible, which was a little bit over a minute.

Then after a few minutes I did the same again. This time I could hold my breath a little bit longer, because whenever you hold your breath with as much air as possible in your lungs you kind of stretch them. This expends the capacity of your lungs, which then enables you to storage more oxygen in your system and this obviously leads to a longer breath hold.
https://goo.gl/images/rqQNrg

It is important to always try to hold your breath for as long as possible and not to stop when it starts to get uncomfortable. You need to learn how to suppress the feeling of wanting to breathe, because as soon as it gets uncomfortable it is just the carbon monoxide, that is pushing against your lungs from beneath. You still have a lot of oxygen left in your body. So if you learn how to suppress that feeling you can hold your breath much longer.
https://goo.gl/images/kgKXun

I hold my breath a few times over the day to stretch my lungs and to train to suppress the feeling of wanting to breathe. But the take one breath and hold it for as long as possible tactic just kept me going until the 2 minute mark.

I then made use of the apnea diver tactic. You breathe out completely and then take a breath that fills your lungs up at about 75%. Then you breathe back out again and take another breath, but this time you fill your lungs up 100%. Now you breathe out and take another 100% breathe until you think you can’t anymore and then you take 2-3 really small breaths where you just sucking the rest air in that you couldn’t get with the big breath. This tactic kept me going until the 3 minute mark.
https://goo.gl/images/zotUR5

But I still wanted to see if my body is able to hold it for even longer, so what I did before I hold my breath was, I completely relaxed and hyperventilated. So I layed in bed for 5 minutes to relax my muscles so that they don’t burn as much oxygen anymore. I hyperventilated until my teeth, feet and hands were prickling, which is the sign that there is enough oxygen in your system.

When you are holding your breath think about something relaxing, like laying at the beach and listening to the waves. That helps me quite a lot to forget about the uncomfortable feeling, that you have while holding your breath.
https://goo.gl/images/3ed5Fr

Thanks for reading and let me know if you could improve your breath holding.

Sort:  

Congratulations @maxsurf! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20