JURY DUTY - PART 1 - FRIEND OR FOE?

in #discussion7 years ago

I guess opinions vary... what is yours?


Recently, I got a notice in the mail. Yes, @papa-pepper has been selected for jury duty. For about the next three months, I am on standby in case jurors are needed for a trial. My first potential opportunities are coming up later this week, and personally, I'm excited.

AN INCONVENIENCE?

I understand that while there is no guarantee that I will even have to serve, jury duty can still be seen as an inconvenience. I would even have plans for the end of this week if it wasn't for the potential of me needing to go to court. It seems that many people generally feel negatively about jury duty, but I think that there is a real opportunity here.

While many may see jury duty as a foe, I do not. Since I live in this country and can only change so much, I feel that it is best for me to do the most I can with the opportunities that I am given. Therefore, I view jury duty as another opportunity. I think that the fact we even have the option to jury trials is a huge plus, and ultimately, it is supposed to be part of a checks and balances system to help the people not be oppressed by the government.

Even if it pales in comparison to what it used to be, we still have the opportunity to be an educated people and understand more fully exactly what some of our rights and freedoms are. I will go deeper into the potential benefits of jury trials as I continue this series.

RARE OPPORTUNITY

Ultimately, the people have the capability to use things like jury trials as a way to defend themselves against tyranny and bad laws. I realize that this doesn't always work, but it stands a greater chance at working when people really understand what it going on. I am not going to try to find any valid excuse to get out of this opportunity, but will rather embrace it.

I know many people in this area who have been here for decades and never been selected for jury duty. Some would say that I am "unlucky" to have been selected after only living here for a couple years. However, I believe that there may be a reason for it. Perhaps I will have the opportunity to help an innocent person. Perhaps I will be used to make sure that "justice is served." Perhaps I won't get selected at all. Perhaps I will have an opportunity to protect someone from a "bad law." (More on that next time.)

TO BE CONTINUED...

Maybe this situation is just to prompt me to share more about this topic with others, like my children, or even all of you. It's been a while since I really studied some things like this out, so I am also glad to have the opportunity to research some more and refresh my education.

Have any of you ever been selected for jury duty? Do they even have such a thing where you live? If you have been selected, what was your response? Do you view jury duty as a friend or foe?

Until next time…

Don’t waste your time online, invest it with steemit.com


GIF provided by @orelmely


TO TRANSLATE POSTS VIA OPERATION TRANSLATION CLICK HERE

Sort:  

Part 2, I agree.

you'll never get on the jury if they find out you know about jury nullification.

Yeah, I figured I could use it as an easy way out if I wanted out, or I'd have to hide that fact to stand a chance at actually getting selected.

If you ever want to get pick for jury duty just SHUT up and don't express your opinion! Lawyers deliberately select uneducated people so they can manipulate them during trial. If you show any intelligence then your likeliness of being selected as a juror is almost none!

yes, so sad. i learned this at an early age, as my grandpa was kicked off a jury for knowing about trucks, and yet the case was about trucks.

as if the people that understood it best wouldn't be the best at understanding and deciding the case, but they don't want you to think, they want you to do what they tell them, to understand it as they present it...

it really represents a injustice to justice in my mind.

I always point out during the selection process that I am a proponent of jury nullification. Haven’t been seated for a trial yet though.

Probably why you're not selected. They want an obedient jury

Interesting. How many times have you been called in for jury duty?

Three total, but the last time no one called in was needed and we were all released before 10:00 AM. That was Colorado where you phone in every day for one week. At the end of the week, or if you have to report and aren’t used, you’re done for the year. I believe professional jurors might be a viable option.

You should learn to shut up if you ever want to be part of the jury...........

True. Better to keep quiet about it.

Was going to post the same thing

I bin the letter, ignore it and hear no more. If they did come back to me by phone I would just say I never got the letter, but it doesn't happen.

And that is an example of why you have 2.4 million followers and are the most popular person on Steemit, while I'm a totally negative tool, but we are all different!

Lol, funny on the last part, but I should have read the first part before posting on the blockchain, huh?

The blockchain is all just a fictional world! :)

you could also possibly have possession of some children under the age of << insert your local laws age >> which makes it impossible for you to help cage your fellow man.

My brother-in-law was arrested for contempt of court doing just that.

I know I wouldn't want to live in a country where everything was decided by government officials.

Yeah, you have to deal with the hand that you were dealt sometimes until you get other options. Thanks @azurejasper!

Your post has been resteemed to my 2500 followers

Upvote this comment if you like this service

Cool, thanks!

Jury duty carries great responsibility. It is the footing to any legal system and needs to be dispensed with great thought, care and caution remembering it's up to the prosecution to prove guilt not the defense to prove innocence. Good luck. I have confidence you will be dispensing the responsibility well.

Acá en Venezuela en un tiempo fueron seleccionado jóvenes mayores de 18 años para servir de jurado en la corte, y a mi me seleccionaron, vi tanta injusticia que me esquivé y no participé más. y se siente mucha impotencia ver como amenazan a una persona si no apoya un juicio favorable, es tanta la tensión que temes hasta por la seguridad de tu propia familia. No sé si será cobardía, pero es mejor que digan: "aquí corrió un cobarde"; y no, "aquí murió un valiente".

Maybe check out the work of David-Wynn: Miller before you report for duty, @papa-pepper! He has an enormous amount of knowledge in this area. You can find him at: http://dwmlc.com/. The important issue is that these are kangaroo courts, fraudulent corporations and anyone who voluntarily participates gives consent to fraud. The only Constitutional Court in America is The United States Court of International Trade, which is a national court established under Article III of the Constitution. The US Corp was forced to form this court bc other countries would not trade with the US Corp without having a true legal Constitutional Court for redressing peaceful trading concerns. Here is a sample of Miller's work:

Wow, thanks! I figured some advice to check out info would come in. Thanks!

Sure thing! Best of Luck! Looking forward to hearing what happens. If you where a civil American flag pin (our true flag that represents America as a peace-time nation of traders, not US Corp in perpetual war doing commerce) then you would most definitely be dismissed on the first day, FYI. You can find one of those here: http://uscivilflags.org/products.html#pins

LOL - go figure! Thanks!

Anyone who isn’t intelligent enough to get out of jury duty ought to be barred from serving on a jury.

LOL, you are not alone in those thoughts.

Trying to get out of jury duty is great material for comedy. One comedian said, "Being on trial is scary, because your life is in the hands of 12 people who weren't smart enough to get out of jury duty."
Once when I was in the selection pool, I came within 1 person of being selected. I almost wanted to be a part of it, just for the experience, but on the other hand, unpaid time away from work would not have been good. It was informative to see the process up to that point.

That's funny!

Jury nullification!
Spot on!
;-)
Namaste!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58306.22
ETH 2596.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.39