Design a character contest, season 10: The Angry Beavers

in #designacharacter6 years ago

Howdy Steemians

Now this is exciting times :) We have a brand new design a character contest hosted by @w0olf. It's been a while as @w0olf had some important business to take care of but he's back with a bang :D

So I had to participate in one of my favourite art contests once again.

20180728_011133_0001.png

The challenge is wonderful reimagine challenge, with a choice of 3 sets of characters. I chose to reimagine The Angry Beavers in my very own style :D
Which was so fun I can't put it in to words.

Final Image

So here we have the final image with a fun making of timelapse right below.

angry beavers.jpg

Video Time

The timelapse video breakdown, with music from the one and only @jeffandhisguitar, check out his blog for more awesome music.

I painted this on my iPad with an Apple pencil with the application Procreate.

Starting with a paint to canvas approach, using larger paint brushes to sketch on the base form. Building up refining the shapes and lighting in a sculptural way.
I didn't want to over detail this image so I gave hints of detail but left most of this to light and shadow.

The video covers more visually then I can describe so give it a watch :)

Thanks for viewing
Nick aka @niko3d

...........................................

Steemit Bloggers
Join us @steemitbloggers
Animation By @zord189

..............................................

Sort:  

Duuuude ! How can one top this? It looks super cool, love the shades and colors. Brutally AWEsome!! You're the man Niko !

Cheers buddy :) but you're the man Dan.

Brilliant mate :D
Some tasty looking beavers..
His nose looks so real and solid!!
Like a piece of chocolate I want to break off and chomp... nom nom
Nice choice of track too :)
Dreamcatcher... good vibes to lots of scenes.
Cheers niko.
( ah I also put you on the list for the steem basic income )
Not sure what is happening with that, but i sent them 1 steem and your name :)

Wow thanks buddy :-D that's awesome, not sure how the basic income works either so curious too :-)
Chomping his Chocolate nose haha :-D aye love dreamcatcher such a great tune.

You inspired me to pst Dreamcathater today :D
I may change the name :D

Your balance is below $0.3. Your account is running low and should be replenished. You have roughly 10 more @dustsweeper votes. Check out the Dustsweeper FAQ here: https://steemit.com/dustsweeper/@dustsweeper/dustsweeper-faq

This is so cool!
It's amazing that you can do it using just the iPad!!

Thanks :) It's really nice to use for painting and drawing to be honest, one of the best stylus tablets ever made.

No doubt, the results were great!

I'd say you got it on pint.. good work man, how long did it take you to finish it?

Cheers :) Think it was about 3 to 4 hours of work.I didn't count, but was totally distracted by other things.

Very interesting redesign, @niko3d!!! Unique and full with your own personality and take ! Good luck in the contest !!!

Now these are some badass beavers! Great work @niko3d! Thanks for your entry! Great to see my good old dac veterans again 😁

Thanks @w0olf :D and of course us oldies need to stick together lmao
:D now we just need to get the word out your back :D

That is pretty cool. I always thought it was hard to know where to put the highlights even when knowing where the lighting is coming from. And then you did the shading. That just made it all pop. Well done!

I like it when people use technology as a tool. Creative and cool!

I love seeing the video here showing the steps. It has two artforms that I love, but am not that good at: drawing and playing guitar. My mind just doesn't seem to be able to translate an internal image to paper. I used to do pen and ink as a child--spent hours on small detailed images. Never really got easier.

Proud member of #steemitbloggers @steemitbloggers

Thanks :) you should try giving it ago once again :) just don't care touch about it and let your mind play naturally with the pen and paper. As soon as you loosen up abit the creativity will flow.

Always watching :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65144.58
ETH 2627.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83