Application for the Spanish Translator position at Utopian + DaVinci

Introduction and explanatory memorandum

English

My name is Isabella Level, I’m 24 years old and I’m studying the last year of Chemical Engineering at Simón Bolívar University in Caracas, Venezuela.

I’m applying to the translator role for the Utopian team because, as part of my career, I had the chance to get used to programming, especially on MATLAB language. It draw my attention the way Utopian helps Open Source projects, which were part of my education because, due to economical restrictions in my country and the philosophy behind the open source initiative, the Simón Bolívar University have been trying to teach us through the free alternatives that exist to proprietary programs in our working environment.

Despite this, many of the programs that are needed on my career are costly and I had the experience to observe the problems that working with them represented due to inconveniences with the licenses, which didn’t let us go forward for 3 weeks on some subjects.

In this way, I’m sufficiently used to the digital working environment and programming to deeply understand the technology and behaviour behind software in general, which is vital to achieve adequate translations. At the same time, as an engineering student, technical, formal and scientific documentation has been part of my career for this 5 years.

In regards of my experience on Utopian, I previously contributed in the translation of open source projects in several opportunities, including more than 25 translations to software technical documentation and more than 15 translations on user-oriented content.

Being part of the DaVini translators brings me the opportunity to be part of community of collaborators on open source projects once again and with my previous experience I discovered that it is something I like very much and that I want to keep doing it.


Spanish

Soy Isabella Level, tengo 24 años y estudio el último año de Ingeniería Química en la Universidad Simón Bolívar en Caracas, Venezuela.

Estoy aplicando al rol de traductora para el equipo de Utopian porque, como parte de mi carrera, he tenido la oportunidad de familiarizarme un poco con la programación, especialmente en el lenguaje MATLAB. Me llamó la atención la manera en que Utopian ayuda a los proyectos de Código Abierto, que formaron parte de mi educación debido a que, por las restricciones económicas en mi país y la filosofía detrás de la iniciativa de código abierto, la Universidad Simón Bolívar ha intentado optar por educarnos a través de las alternativas libres que existen a los programas propietarios en nuestro entorno de trabajo.

A pesar de esto, muchos de los programas propios de mi carrera son pagos y tuve la experiencia de observar los problemas que se presentaban al trabajar con ellos a causa de inconvenientes con las licencias, que nos impidieron por 3 semanas avanzar con algunas asignaturas.

En este sentido, estoy suficientemente familiarizada con el entorno de trabajo digital y la programación como para comprender a fondo la tecnología y el funcionamiento detrás del software en general, lo cual es vital para lograr traducciones adecuadas de estos programas. A su vez, como estudiante de ingeniería, la documentación técnica, formal y científica ha formado parte de mi carrera durante estos 5 años.

En cuanto a mi experiencia en Utopian, contribuí con anterioridad en la traducción de proyectos de código abierto en una gran cantidad de oportunidades, incluyendo más de 25 traducciones a documentación técnica de software y más de 15 traducciones de contenido dirigido a los usuarios.

Ser parte de los traductores de DaVinci me brinda la oportunidad de volver a formar parte de la comunidad de colaboradores de los proyectos de código abierto y con mi experiencia anterior descubrí que es algo que me gusta mucho y que quiero seguir haciendo.

Samples of Previous Work:

Voice Over

(I'm a very shy) Voice Over

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64768.36
ETH 3436.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51