PARROT'S LIFE - ONE MONTH AFTER - PREVIOUSLY MISTREATED PARROT FINALLY CALM SPENDING DAYS OUTSIDE

in #dailypetphotography6 years ago (edited)

Parrot is now outside of his cage most of the time unless he is taking a nap. This is his 32nd day with us.

My plan was to train a parrot to treat his cage as a base because the birds drop every now and then, so if he is resting it should be on one spot. He also creates a lot of dust, and garbage in general, so all that flying all over my study room is not that funky.

This parrot was previously mistreated so we got an adult specimen who doesn't trust humans, doesn't want to be touched, doesn't step up and behaves sometimes very hostile. He never bit me, just for teh record, and I have my hands usually all around him. He still snaps, lounges and hisses.


His flying capabilities are still very limited and I doubt he will ever know how to fly properly, but now he can take a left-right turn without landing on his head. He makes a circle across the room, lands on a window curtain, crawls up to the curtain bar, stays there for some time and then lands back on a cage and goes to sleep.

If he doesn't want to, I chase him across the room. There is no other option and I am not leaving him outside of his cage over the night. We have a cat and I don't want to take any chances.

Many parrots usually choose safety of a cage or nest to sleep, and if left outside could be noisy at night as they feel unsafe.


He is still very afraid and twitchy, so no sudden movements are advisable. In many cases when he had food inside of a cage he was behaving hostile, but with the food being outside on the platform he has to choose his moods a little better.

His communication skills are improving, but he generally refuses to be touched. And if he doesn't want to step up or doesn't allow me to pet him, it is ok. A parrot like this one can live pretty long, so I have time. As a pet, this bird can live 20-30 years ( with the oldest confirmed specimen being 36 years old) so there is no rush with anything.


IMG_20180601_080734.jpg

If left in piece he is very quiet and curious about all I do, especially what I eat. If I put anything in my mouth, he becomes very excited and starts to twitch his head left-right and walk around in order to get as close as he chooses.

The only problem is that he is sometimes incapable to approach his platform so it looks more like an art show than actually walking down to get a treat, but he is trying.


Previous posts about our parrot

  1. GIFTS OF KARMA - INTRODUCING OUR NEW FAMILY PET - LUTINO COCKATIEL (5/1/2018)
  2. OUR COCKATIEL PAL IS GETTING USED TO THE NEW HOME(5/2/2018)
  3. PARROT'S LIFE - LEARNING ROPES AND NEW THINGS(5/4/2018)
  4. PARROT'S LIFE - GALS AND GENTS I THINK WE MIGHT HAVE A NAME(5/6/2018)
  5. PARROT'S LIFE - PESKY ... LITTLE ... FATHERLY ... NASTY ... FLYING ... MINI... ROOSTER (5/10/2018)
  6. PARROT'S LIFE - SO, HE CAN EAT OUT OF A HAND, RIGHT! (5/14/2018)
  7. PARROT'S LIFE - COACKATIEL, ALLERGIES AND SOME OTHER DETAILS (5/15/2018)
  8. PARROT'S LIFE - AFTER 26 DAYS WITH US PREVIOUSLY MISTREATED PARROT IS EATING OUTSIDE OF A CAGE(5/26/2018)
  9. PARROT'S LIFE - FIRST FLIGHT WAS ALL I EXPECTED... HE'S FURIOUS (5/27/2018)
  10. PARROT'S LIFE - WALK AWAY AND LET ME SLEEP HUMAN!! (5/28/2018)

Thank you for reading and visiting my blog!




Sort:  

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Glad to hear he is settling in well. Looks like you will have a good companion for many years to come. I respect your patience in dealing with his moods. Many people these days give up too easily on things.

He hates my guts .... lol
He just ate a wall 6 times , before finding there is a big chandelier in the middle of a study ( no worries, bulb is under umbrella type shade, he can't get there).

I never saw a bird taking a running start before using the wings...
Come on my darling, fly... - I was cheering him while he was doing those funny poses on the edge of my table.
And then he goes - left-right, wiggle, wiggle, croa-croa ( obviously telling me to move away because he needs like a lot of space).... and then giving up.
And then again.

But, for the first time today I managed to lift him ( gloves of course I am not that dumb), while he was doing the marshal art attack in order to wiggle out, put him in my lap - after 3 unsuccessful attempt and evenly hilarious acrobatics around the room - and actually pet him. He hated every second of it but he didn't bit me and I managed to carry him on the small pillow into his cage to rest.

Very nice!

One at a time, slowly but surely he will be at his best soon just gove him time .

Nice to know he's doing well.
Happy weekend ahead to u and parrot aschatria! :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by aschatria from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

wow, you really do love this parrot.

what was that you were feeding it with ?

It is called millet. Parrots love it.

Awwww what an amazing job you have done!

My Mum love parrots, i will have to show her. She has a hand reared disabled sparrow called Hoppity.

Such a wonderful thing you are doing, such TLC = D

What a great thing. I usually help animals who are in trouble, but this parrot is really a though one. This is the first time that an animal defies me more than a month.

It's really awesome that you're taking in a mistreated pet and teaching it to trust again- it's a lot of effort, and a great many people wouldn't be willing to put in that work.

Well, I can't give up now...

You have a minor grammatical mistake in the following sentence:

In many cases when he had food inside of a cage he was behaving hostile, but with the food being outside on the platform he has to chose his moods a little better.
It should be to choose instead of to chose.

@grammarnazi I just checked, you have a minor grammatical mistake in your introduction post:
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@grammarnazi/grammarnazi-introduction-recent-updates#@copperfield42/re-grammarnazi-grammarnazi-introduction-recent-updates-20180510t192237387z
... also @binkyprod ask you a solid question, and you chose minimum courtesy to even answer it.
So, why don't you stop soiling my comment section over an every single typo, leave it to the human editors and actually preserve some of your reputation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63580.05
ETH 3253.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91