PARROT'S LIFE - PESKY ... LITTLE ... FATHERLY ... NASTY ... FLYING ... MINI... ROOSTER

in #blogs6 years ago

parrot banner.png

Overbearing, demanding and behaving as a feathered prick, a parrot is becoming pesky little pet with a bad temper.

Today is his 10th day with us.

Images are a bit blurry because they are made close range, but focus is not so good and I didn't use flash not to startle my parrot pal. I will have to improve my snap technique soon.

The bird's physical activity and the abundance of the food made certain that his level of energy is more than satisfying but it also made all of his frustrations, rotten temper and hidden instincts to shine with the impeccable precision to us, the subjects.

He is becoming a little creepy as well.
You see, a cage bars are on my level when I stand, so when I am sitting at my pc, a parrot is higher than me.
When he notices that I am watching him, he tilts his body down and carefully monitors me making some weird movements with his head and eyes. I guess animal is just trying to focus me or the light is not correct.
But... it feels weird.
Mostly not, but sometimes he is producing short chirps, so if I answer in any case a parrot gets excited and the shit-wreck ( literally) arises.

I mean, the birds are untidy, so regular cleaning is a must. Before he started to eat properly I thought it will be once a week, but now I think I will have to do it every second day. He produces a lot of flying trash, like seeds, parts of bread, other food...

I made him a branch for climbing, he hated it with the passion. He usually uses one part of a cage for a toilet ( because he also walks on bars with a beak so...), but no. He soiled all over that branch and then squeaked at it until I was forced to remove the 'new furniture'.
Maybe it was a wrong color, next time I will get the piece of a plank, paint it in bright orange and attach bells, feathers, and various second-hand shop trinkets on it. I bet he will like that. He's awful, lol.


A parrot hates craws. Every time he hears one, he makes sure we hear it too. Or, in case we missed to hear it right away, he repeats the high pitched screams just to make sure that we know it is there.

To put it short and sweet - a parrot is growing increasingly annoyed because he wants out of the cage by all means, but his cooperation is literary equivalent to a pirate, so I don't think we goin' to make the trade.

He even dropped it onto that other dude in the mirror, probably because another imaginary parrot has bigger feathers...
Parrot's cage is set in front of a mirror, so he is usually very quiet and satisfied thinking that he has a companion.
The other day he became territorial and argued with his other self for about 30 minutes putting out a whole display of poses and terrifying whistles. Either something is wrong with the seeds, or the fact I baptized a parrot Johnny Depp is bringing up some gifts. I guess some native ancestry is rising from a jungle. I will not explain this one.


( Parrot's name is Johnny Depp ... read the previous post why...)
PARROT'S LIFE - GALS AND GENTS I THINK WE MIGHT HAVE A NAME


This morning he made a spectacle of begging trying to persuade me to open the cage. That wouldn't be a problem, but he is not trained to use our space and he is still hissing at me and doesn't want to take food out of my hand.

The parrots who are not trained are advised to keep in an inside enclosed garden - aviary - specially made for them, or in a large cage till trained, out of a simple reason - bird can ( and will) hurt itself in an attempt to escape the room as fast as possible, either cramming full speed into the windows or crashing against the furniture or walls.

I will try to adjust his communication before adjusting space to his needs.

I tried to bribe him with some fruit to start to cooperate, but a parrot is not willing to come close. When there are bars between us he is pretty self-assured and has no problems posing for a photo or waiting for his favorite food. He doesn't wait anymore for me to hang the bread, seed bars or fruit inside of a cage. He usually starts eating before I let it go or while I am putting it in place.

Parrot is crazy about the bread and he recently started to eat fresh food and dried fruits.

But, when I try to give him something - he is not overly enthusiastic to take it from my hand.

Of course, he has no problem grabbing the cage bars and climbing up and down. Today he tried the cage floor for the first time and he likes how much space there is.

Landing down is kind of monkey-like and slow because he climbs with a beak and feet, but the ascent back up is kind of nasty - for me. He just flaps his wings when he wants to go up leaving a big cloud of seeds, food trash and you-know flying out of a cage.

He is not afraid of a vacuum cleaner and the only thing that is so super-interesting for him is how the dirt is disappearing so fast.

Most of the day he is either taking the prolong naps or grooming. A parrot is sleeping with his head rotated almost 180 degrees and a beak clipped in his back between the wings, which is kind of awesome. The rest of the day is top filled with all kind of crazy stunts and vocal reactions.


Thank you for reading and visiting my blog!




Supporting: #steemrepair #isleofwrite #balkanblockchain #thesteemengine #adsactly #preppersonline #ocd-resteem #steemstem #steemians @creativecrypto @sndbox #poetsunited


VOTE @mahdiyari FOR WITNESS.

Sort:  

Hey @aschatria,
Your post "PARROT'S LIFE - PESKY ... LITTLE ... FATHERLY ... NASTY ... FLYING ... MINI... ROOSTER" hast just been Resteemed !!! You may receive an Upvote soon 😉😄😉
Because you're my follower. I'll continue to do it..


😝🙂😝 Best regards, free resteeme. @tow-heed😝🙂😝

Well if he continues to act that way, you can always introduce him to my cat. :D
But hes just lovely, im scared a bit of owning something that can fly, i always feel like if i would let it out it would fly off somewhere.

At first encounter a parrot gave our cat a nervous breakdown as he charged at a cat and tried to grab her thought the cage.
I am afraid for a cat lol.
But, yeah, a parrot could end up severely injured either cramming into the window or a wall, or during the failed air offensive on a kitty.
Our cat listens to a few commands, but at a sight of a bird she goes 'crawling ninja' pose, keeps her eyes off the annoyed bird and tries to move very very slowly ... away.
It can fly away, and our climate is not adjusted to parrots natural habitat, plus we have a pair of eagles around what would be so happy to see a lil guy.
Well, one's lost, another's gain.

That is too bad that he is having a hard time settling in. Have you tried covering the cage at all. I know that helps them sleep at night, but it also might give him some calm and peace during the day? Is there a local pet shop or zoo you can go to for advice? That might be an option as well. Looks like you are doing your best to give him the greatest home possible.

Nah, I wouldn't say he has a hard time settling, but hard time accepting he has to be cooperative. There is no need to cover because a bird sleeps like a rock the whole night, and most of a day is very calm and quiet.
When it is active, then it is active, but apparently this is normal. The only thing it has to change is to trust us. For 10th day this is amazingly big success, which says it is intelligent.
Today I am giving him recordings of his kind, and he is adding tones.
The only reason I am not letting him out of a cage is because he is still hostile to us, he would soil the entire room and there is a big possibility of the accident or injury.

Maybe I have a really stupid idea now...

Good Luck!

Haha crazy guy! I never wanted a parrot, and now? hmmm hmmm :D I'm sure Johnny will be better and better :D He will need to be closed a bit more time :D :D

Cooperation equivalent to a pirate that cracked me up lol. Your parrot is living a Thug Life. I was quite entertained with his antics.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63247.38
ETH 3242.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90