PARROT'S LIFE - LEARNING ROPES AND NEW THINGS

in #pets6 years ago (edited)

pablo (5).png

Our new squeaky bird friend has much on his plate to deal with. I am adding new things every next day.
Also, he made a lot of progress when it comes to the aggressiveness.

He came to us 1st of May, and he is the 4th day with us.

END OF DAY TWO

As a bird was in a small cage his physical activity was non-existent.
The big cage offers more ways to climb, but a bird was unwilling to climb, to walk on the bars or to move.

When inside of the big cage, I strategically placed all the food on different levels and places in the cage, thinking a hunger will do the trick. Still, in the late evening, he wasn't willing to move. I placed his water tank next to him to drink and yes, he was thirsty.

All the fresh food I placed next to him was intact hours after. A bird didn't see a salad or an apple before, and it was tragic watching his confused reaction.

Late in the evening, a bird started to squeak, jump on the bars and nervously rotate around own axis.
He was stretching his neck towards the bowl of seeds on the lower level. But, he didn't want to climb down to get his dinner.

I assumed if I put a glove he will estimate my intention is to grab him, as probably all the previous people/owners were using the same to catch it, and he could go nuts seeing it.

So, instead. I took his little bowl to show what I am holding and stuck my entire arm into his cage adjusting a bowl from the inside. Bird didn't hiss or attack my naked arm (no sleeves) but followed where do I plan to put his dinner. He was next to my fingers but didn't show any interest to chop me. At the moment I moved my fingers a little he stuck his head into the seeds and start to gobble. Well, nice.

DAY THREE

The previous day I learned that a bird won't attack my naked arm. So from that point on it was easier to place food inside of his cage at strategic positions.

This is important because a parrot was held in a small cage, he can't use the bars, maybe has no muscle functionality and has a problem moving around.

At one point, a parrot found a perfect spot in the middle of a cage, looked up and around, adjusting his position to get space - and flapped a cloud of dust from his wings. A pretty good proof he was constrained all the time.

So, the third day I decided to put the game on the higher level.

I bought him bird bars for parrots and staple vegetables, so I can attach all that to a cage.

In the same way that I put a bowl with the seeds, I removed a bowl from a cage without paying any attention to the parrot. A bird came to the epic conclusion that those are the gifts, and I am bringing him food.

The same way I attached seed bars, I attached fresh vegetables and after a few minutes of observing a bird started to poke everything finding a piece that tasted the best. He extremely liked a bird bar and parked himself next to it.

DAY FOUR

The fourth day in the morning a parrot chirped at me right after seeing me and started to emulate my yawning by yawning repeatedly for ten or more times.

His bird bar and greens were chopped and there was a lot of trash in the bottom of the cage, so I would say he had a rich breakfast already.

But... something wasn't right. I changed his water and observed what a parrot is trying to say. He was chirping the same annoyed tone.

Finally, I took his seed bow, fill up more seeds and stuck it in a cage, holding it in my hand.

He carefully observed where my other hand is and if a bowl is safe to use, buuuut... he stepped back. After I put my other hand inside and under the bowl, he carefully stepped onto it looking above to check where my fingers are and then started to eat.

YES!!

I found out he likes to sharpen his beak on the wooden bars that were a complete novelty to him, and he enjoys dry bread both to eat and to crunch.

I moved the bars in different elevations and positions, rearranged food a few times to force him to move and to be active.

He is climbing a little more, trying to reach the treats and tasting pretty much everything he can find.

Parrot is amused with the bars and pulls everything trying to see what it is. He figured out that a little door has a handle that can open and was inspecting how to push/pull for a good 5 minutes. Bird shows more activity today and walks all around the cage, but careful and without acrobatics.

I will clean his cage tomorrow and find him a natural branch without leaves so that he can practice climbing and I will make him a 'shelf' on the lower level.

All taken into consideration, I think he is doing well, moves faster than the previous days and doesn't hiss or has any intention to chop me while I am moving stuff or placing food from inside of his cage.


Thank you for reading and visiting my blog!




Supporting: #steemrepair #qurator #isleofwrite #balkanblockchain #thesteemengine #adsactly #preppersonline #ocd-resteem #steemstem #utopian-io #curie #steemians @creativecrypto @sndbox


VOTE @mahdiyari FOR WITNESS.

Sort:  

What you have shown is that you really CARE!

Well, I am trying. It looks he is more than ok with the treatment.

Hmm nice friend you have made there. I guess he is getting used to the family. Nicely done.

I think we will need to wait a bit to become friends :))

I'm loving the bird saga!

He is responding to kindness and affection. Pretty darn quickly, matter of fact. I'm excited to see what comes next.

Thanks for keeping us in the loop!

Me too!
I think that speed of his reaction has more to do with timely food rewards and variety of the same than anything else.
He started to avoid seeds now and concentrates on almost everything else.

Sounds like he is starting to settle in just fine. That is great news! Keep up the good work and maybe it will start talking more soon. Thanks for keeping us posted on the progress!

He definitely has a variety of chirps, for now I am more concentrated that he communicates and that he gets variety of food. After some time I guess he will feel better to learn more.

It's really nice you're paying so much attention to the bird's habits and needs. Really making Parrot feel comfortable at his new home :)

No joke, it is like having an alien. I truly enjoy in little guys reactions.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63173.85
ETH 3147.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87