Food Adventures #004: Ruyi & Lyn


Hello Steemians! It's already Chinese New Year and as with most companies, that means you have already attended your company's Annual Dinner and perhaps even received that nice fat paycheck of the year. This year I had the chance to dine at Ruyi & Lyn for my company dinner and I just wanted to share my experience about it.

Ruyi & Lyn is located in Bangsar Shopping Centre, a mall that I rarely ever shop at(for obvious poor reasons). Luckily for me, instead of the usual Chinese Banquet dinner restaurants, my bosses opted for something different, and a lot more lavish in my opinion. As we were not given a menu, unfortunately I am not able to provide the name, what it consists of and also the price of it all. Without further ado, let's begin with the appetizers!

While waiting for the entrance to the dining area to be opened, we were served with drinks from the bar, and also some very pretty and very delicious appetizers. There were 3 choices; Hainanese Chicken Rice Sushi, Mango on Blue Sticky Rice Sushi and Nasi Lemak Sushi. They were made to look like sushi and I t's bite-size was very convenient for us to eat without filling us up before dinner started.


Delicious chicken on yummylicious rice


Mango slices on blue sticky rice. Sweet!


The famous Nasi Lemak Sushi is as good as it is popular

Once we were ushered in to the dining area and seated, each table was served with a big platter of Yee Sang. Yee Sang is quite a staple appetizer in celebrations during Chinese New Year and it signifies good fortune, abundance, prosperity, and vigor. It is usually served with dried vegetables, some crunchy bits, pomelo, condiments, and salmon.


The beautifully sectioned and plated Yee Sang


The first item on the plate to disappear, juicy salmon

As tradition, before eating it we are to mix it by tossing it together while saying good things. What's left is a yummy mess.


Abstract art right there

Our first dish came by soon after devouring the Yee Sang. I believe it was an appetizer which consists of fried chicken pieces coated in 2 different types of sauces. Just thinking about it waters my mouth.


On the left we have wasabi-mayo sauce, and on the right a tomato-base sauce

I have never been a fan of wasabi but that wasabi-sauce coated chicken was absolutely divine. It had the taste of wasabi without the nose-stinging feeling, saving me the embarrassment of scrunching my face from agony. Instead of the usual big serving and everyone shares the portion, we were given our own serving like it was a fine dining experience. The portions were still a little too much for me however.


Shark fin soup, are you real or are you not?

Next on the menu is I believe to be Shark’s Fin soup. I personally do not support restaurants serving this dish but I can not 100% confirm if it was real shark fin or if it was Nonetheless, the dish tasted great. No additional black vinegar needed.


Fish sleeping on a bed of egg whites

Following up more seafood, we were served a fried fish dish dipped into a sauce, laid upon a bed of poached egg whites. The fish didn’t arrive crispy but it tasted fresh, not too salty, and the egg whites helped keep it light to the taste as well.


Ol’ regular grilled chicken

Can’t go wrong with some grilled chicken! Unless it’s not chicken... Tasty nonetheless!


Century egg with a side of sliced mushrooms and broccoli

This dish reminded me of the vegetable and mushroom dish served at a 10 course banquet meal. Even the sauce was on point. The only difference was the century egg and as I recall it didn’t taste salty as I was expecting it to.


Light and fine noodles soup served with duck

I don’t recall this dish much as the Lucky Draw was in session and my belly was already too stuffed to enjoy the food. However, I do remember that there wasn’t a single dish that I disliked or hated and that includes this dish. The noodles seem like they were either hand made as they did not seem like they were the usual noodles (meehoon) used.


Panna cotta with berries

And lastly, the best part of all food courses; dessert!! I can never say no to dessert. What can I say? I really have a sweet tooth and yes I have a separate stomach for desserts ;) The panna cotta wasn’t sweet, nor “jelly-like”. The berries complimented the panna cotta and added the sweetness naturally. It was definitely a perfect way to end the dinner and a fun-filled night.

I hope you have enjoyed reading my post! I’m looking to do something a bit more with my Food Adventure posts :) Stay tuned to the next Food Adventure!

Another Food Adventure for Another Time!


If you have enjoyed my post, feel free to upvote it and follow me as well! I like writing about gaming, food and a little slice of my life :)



STEEM Geek Podcast

Sort:  

I have tasted Ruyi & Lyn's sushi before too! Honestly before I went, I read about their sushi, but I wasn't expecting much. However after tasting them, I have to say they are creative and also delicious! Totally worth it 👍

Same here! I ended up taking more then I should haha

Felt classy as well! The party kinda classy;D

Them foods look mighty unique now.

Them foods also tasted very delicious!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58027.38
ETH 2358.35
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38