Daily Dose of Sultnpapper 09/30/18> Better late than never today… and panhandling for SBD.

in #dailydose6 years ago

Past the fork...

For me I am going to put the fork aside for now, things are back to normal in my world of steemit, at least it will be in 41 minutes, that is when my voting power will be back at 100% and School of Minnows will swoop in and grab the first vote with it and that’s fine with me. Since I joined a second group on here in the way of # steemitbloggers I haven’t contributed many votes to the School of Minnows and we all know minnows are the ones who need the most help.

Private messages...

I had someone whom I never have had any interaction with either on steemit or in discord send me a private message in discord asking me to make a donation so they could buy food for their family. Like has been known to happen I closed my eyes to think about this situation and low and behold it is now almost 8 hours later and I am finally awake and on my first cup of coffee. I didn’t even hear the family leave for church, but Blondie is here with me, week six.

I would look...

I had told the person I was busy when I first read the message and I would look and see what I could do when I got back to my computer, I was leaving to take Shortie to her girl scout thing at the time and was walking out the door. When I did get back from the GS event I went back to the computer and I saw I had nine more messages from this person.

Putting words in...

“Why haven’t you transferred anything to me?” , and “You said you would send me some SBD” were a couple of them. He even told me he looked and saw I could afford helping him. Well the fact is, “I would look and see what I could do” was the exact words I used so that doesn’t seem that I promised to send anything. Having looked and found nine messages from them and trying to put words in my mouth that I didn’t say really turned me off. I haven’t looked again at discord to see if there are more, but I can safely say that what I can and will do is block that person from my end so I don’t need to even see messages from them. That is what I can and will do.

Aggressive turns me...

Had this person not been so aggressive I would have sent a SBD or two and then blocked them since panhandlers who are that aggressive turn me off. This person might very well be in a desperate situation and really need the money but I can’t save everyone and so this one is being turned away for lack of good manners. Manners don’t cost anything to own and you can use them all the time and never run out of them.

I do know...

He had a picture of himself he included in is DM standing on a nice white beach holding the flag of his country and I do know there are serious problems there and it isn’t out of the realm of possibility that he is in a desperate situation. My suggestion would be put your key board or phone down and grab a fishing pole, that water surely has plenty of fish in it.
My other suggestion would be to not hound people and you might get a better result.

Now I have to get on with my day, since I have slept damn near half of it away.
Until next time,

Until next time,
@sultnpapper

Note: Thanks for reading the daily dose.

Sort:  

I am a notorious blocker of DM ers. As you said, with manners and grace I will give more readily of my time (and not often my money). It's like the "Will Work for Food" guys. It's just a BS line, they won't work for anything.

My most recent guy was saying he was broke and needed money. He's posted 6 times in the last 2 months and 3 of them were about getting high. Not likely that'll I'll do anything there.

I don't have much today, I'm trying to convince myself to go to Wal Mart and losing the battle. Monday is a much better day :)

I still stand in solidarity with you and Blondie.

Yes, the "Will work for food" folks were the inspiration in naming my BBQ review series. "Will Eat BBQ 4 U" since I actually do what the sign says I will do, unlike most of those "Will work for food" sign holders.
That was the first panhandler message I had gotten, most of the unsolicited messages I get are on the latest and greatest crypto currency to hit the innerwebs and how I can make 100 to 900% profit if I get in NOW. Those get blocked real quickly too.
Thanks for the support, Blondie smiled when I told her you are still in our corner.

FOR TSE:

I didn’t even hear the family leave for church, but Blondie is here with me, week six.

Do you have evidence that the people you're boycotting have even noticed, let alone care? I'm not advocating that you start attending church again (since that's none of my guzbucking business) ---> but I am concerned that you seem to expect -- or hope for -- something that doesn't stand a cat in hell's chance of happening.

What it may do instead is tell you how little you mattered to any of them in the first place.

The saga continues.

I honestly don't care if they (the church mgmt.) notice me missing or not. The youth minister who has the paper knows that we are boycotting, the youngest boy has made that clear because Blondie has been boycotting the youth group stuff as well and he asked where she has been.
So you would think that if Blondie, being a newly confirmed member of the church and member of his group he ministers, isn't important enough in his eyes to get her what is rightfully hers than he isn't much of a leader or very good at setting a good example.
So I think you are correct in how little we actually matter. We may have to find another church and Salem Lutheran in Tomball really isn't that far a drive on Sunday mornings. That might be our option, but right now I am holding firm and so is she.
We may have to do as @lizelle suggested and start spending Sunday mornings in front of the church with protest signs.

Oh please don't do that mr Papper, we don't want to read about your funeral in the news ;)

Okay, I don't believe Blondie would go for it anyway.

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 269 (10/02/18)

I upvoted your post.

Best regards,
@Council

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

I think these panhandlers smell me. I do. What they don't know is that I have worked with various agencies my entire life, serving the homeless and disaster relief.

I have had to block so many from DM and the thing that bothers me is that some actually could use the help, but, then my brain tells me that most of those in that situation wouldn't come across so aggressively. If they are texting this, how desperate is their situation? As you said, you need to exhaust your own possibilities before you bang up my door.

Get that fishing pole.

I have had to be downright aggressive in my own way. And PS.. you are right. Manners cost nothing.

Thanks for the daily dose!

Yes, if you have exhausted all possibilities then come see me, asking for fishing hooks.

You know I will!

This post has received a 1.56 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @sbi-booster.

Wow, that was bold indeed! I wonder how many people he is doing that to!! Not good. I agree there are many people in a bad spot but to get aggressive with you, not the way to get help @sultnpapper. You're so kind, I know you would have helped. :)

Thanks, if I tell someone I am going to do something I will but on my time line not theirs. Getting pushy with me isn't a good thing since I grew up with two older brothers who liked taking that approach so I have been against that my entire life.

I would’ve done the same. I think that’s the right thing to do.

Thanks mam, I just got turned off real quickly with that fellow being so pushy.

I would have done the same I do help peope in need but not if they get aggresive or pushy

I tend to push back on aggressive and pushy, it is something that I have done my entire life.

Yes I am exactly the same way and always have been

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60589.35
ETH 2628.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53