Daily Diary: Day 3

in #dailydiary6 years ago

Welcome to Day 3 of my Daily Diary, where I intend to record progress on habits I want to develop. You can read the intro post here


Recently, I’ve been wanting to redesign my life and build some new habits. I recall hearing somewhere, on average, 21 days of continuously doing something was the tipping point when it becomes a habit. There are many great books written on the importance of building productive habits, such as The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg.

So in my desire to continuously improve on various aspects of my life, I’ve decided to start a daily diary recording my daily actions corresponding with habits I would like to develop. This list may change over time as I work on new habits, but below are the initial actions I will be recording against. To give extra incentive for me to carry through with the actions, I will be recording my daily diary on the Steem blockchain for transparency.


So this is how I faired on Day 3

Daily Habit 1: Go out for a walk each day with my daughter

Day 1: Completed - took the kids to the park.
Day 2: Didn’t have time to go for a walk. Had a pretty full day today but did spend a bit of time with the kids.
Day 3: Didn’t go for a walk. My daughter was sleeping when I left for work and when I arrived back home it was too dark already.

Daily Habit 2: Speak words of life - say more encouraging and thanks giving words each day, and reduce complaining, blame and negativity

Day 1: Needs improvement - Was encouraging when speaking to my wife today, but was a bit harsh with my son when he wasn’t sharing toys.
Day 2: Was much more encouraging in my words today. Was pleased with how I did in this area today, especially after a sleep deprived night with my daughter not sleeping well.
Day 3: Was again encouraging in my words today and didn’t complain or say anything negative.

Weekly habit 1: Catch up with friends on a regular basis

Yet to catch up with anyone on day 1.
Arranged to catch up with some new friends in a couple of weeks time.

Weekly Habit 2: Give to someone or some cause, or do something for someone

Yet to do anything generous on day 1 and 2.
Gave an offering today to a missionary starting a pharmacy near Tibet.

Summary

Happy with my progress in terms of speaking words of life. And felt really good to give the offering today to this missionary who has sacrificed so much in leaving his family to be a blessing to the people near Tibet. However, I need to try be more diligent and find some time to exercise and go for walks with my daughter over the next few days.


IMG_1769.PNG

Sort:  

Speaking words of life is a good habit to cultivate. I need to do it more

Congratulations! Good report worthy of placing my thought on. Keep moving, dont stop. In the end we shall have cause to reflect in soberity and say, "thank you Lord".

WOW! I like that 2nd habit. :) That is really a good practice right there. :) Keep it up!! :)

Dailydiary is a list of your daily work.its a so essential to us..thanks for sharing this blog..
Keep it up my dear..
Always with you..

A very motivational and a good example to follow for every individual. Happy to know how devoted you are in doing good for Gpd's glory.

This is excellent I am from two years ago I wanted to change my life but my limit now I could not and the biggest problem in the money then the money but saqum and i hope that steemit will be my key to it
By the way welcome to my simple page will be a great honor to me

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

I pray God give you the power to continue in this quest @nextgen622

Great progress on the day three getting along the way so nicely

Daily Habit 2 such a powerful one... I've been so grumpy lately, will try on my own.

Thanks. All the best with it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58720.84
ETH 3088.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41