Introducing Daily Diary - recording progress against habits I want to develop

in #teamaustralia6 years ago

Recently, I’ve been wanting to redesign my life and build some new habits. I recall hearing somewhere, on average, 21 days of continuously doing something was the tipping point when it becomes a habit. There are many great books written on the importance of building productive habits, such as The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg.

So in my desire to continuously improve on various aspects of my life, I’ve decided to start a daily diary recording my daily actions corresponding with habits I would like to develop. This list may change over time as I work on new habits, but below are the initial actions I will be recording against. To give extra incentive for me to carry through with the actions, I will be recording my daily diary on the Steem blockchain for transparency.

A special thanks to @boxcarblue who served as one of the motivations for this daily diary, as his series of posts relating to his own goals inspired my personal diary.

Here are the initial habits I will be recording my progress against each day for the next few weeks.

Daily Habit 1: Go out for a walk each day with my daughter

The aim of this habit is to get some exercise each day and relax as I breathe in some fresh air and appreciate nature. It is also to take my daughter outside and give her a change in scenery.

Daily Habit 2: Speak words of life - say more encouraging and thanks giving words each day and reduce complaining, blame and negativity

I want to be a positive source of energy to those around me each day and be thankful to God for all that he gives me, thankful in the good times and thankful in the midst of trials.

Weekly habit 1: Catch up with friends on a regular basis

To me, relationships are more important than most things. So I want to make an intensional effort to catch up with friends.

Weekly Habit 2: Give to someone or some cause, or do something for someone

I want to become more generous and be a blessing to more people.

So these are some of my initial goals I would like to track my progress against over the next few weeks. If this goes well, hopefully I’ll add to the list.

I’ll be using the tag # daily diary to record my progress. You can join me in this challenge toward personal development too if you’d like.

Until next time
Jimmy


IMG_1769.PNG

Sort:  

ohhhhhh i liked your habits. Your habits are so positive and good. I think every man should have some positive and good habits. That will help him/her to lead a happy and successful life.
Especially I liked your this habit

Daily Habit 2: Speak words of life - say more encouraging and thanks giving words each day and reduce complaining, blame and negativity.

I will try to follow this one : ) Hope you will share more positive habits with us. Thank You ! Have a Good Day .

Your weekly habit matched with me.I do the same cause i also believe that relationship are much important in this world.Everyone should talk with their old friends or long distanced friend once in week.It is really important to stay connected with every relative and friends to share and care about love.

It's a great idea, I would suggest trying habitica.com - if you haven't already, to gamify and track your progress.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Mmm. That sounds good. It's always expected that we redefine some aspects of our lives as humans. And even more, be sanctified from some behaviors. It's not always true that the 'good' behaviors are enough for us. We need to build ourselves up socially. I love your list. Starting from your family and that's a good one. Your daughter must be very happy to walk with you. May you succeed in your daily diary.

Give to someone or some cause, or do something for someone.

We can make a living by what we get, but we make a life by what we give. Thank you brother @nextgen622!! probably i will start my own daily diary record soon hahahaha.

Love to read it.....
You are continue your habit, Then you will success. May God bless you

Nice
I like your blog
See you

Great habits to follow to stay fit and happy :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59273.25
ETH 2758.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28