Daily Diary: Day 2

in #dailydiary6 years ago

Welcome to Day 2 of my Daily Diary, where I intend to record progress on habits I want to develop. You can read the intro post here


Recently, I’ve been wanting to redesign my life and build some new habits. I recall hearing somewhere, on average, 21 days of continuously doing something was the tipping point when it becomes a habit. There are many great books written on the importance of building productive habits, such as The Power of Habit by Charles Duhigg.

So in my desire to continuously improve on various aspects of my life, I’ve decided to start a daily diary recording my daily actions corresponding with habits I would like to develop. This list may change over time as I work on new habits, but below are the initial actions I will be recording against. To give extra incentive for me to carry through with the actions, I will be recording my daily diary on the Steem blockchain for transparency.


So this is how I faired on Day 2

Daily Habit 1: Go out for a walk each day with my daughter

Day 1: Completed - took the kids to the park.
Day 2: Didn’t have time to go for a walk. Had a pretty full day today but did spend a bit of time with the kids.

Daily Habit 2: Speak words of life - say more encouraging and thanks giving words each day, and reduce complaining, blame and negativity

Day 1: Needs improvement - Was encouraging when speaking to my wife today, but was a bit harsh with my son when he wasn’t sharing toys.
Day 2: Was much more encouraging in my words today. Was pleased with how I did in this area today, especially after a sleep deprived night. with my daughter not sleeping well.

Weekly habit 1: Catch up with friends on a regular basis

Yet to catch up with anyone on day 1.
Arranged to catch up with some new friends in a couple of weeks time.

Weekly Habit 2: Give to someone or some cause, or do something for someone

Yet to do anything generous on day 1 and 2.
But pledged to give an offering to a missionary starting a pharmacy near Tibet. Will be transferring the offering next week.

Summary

Happy with the progress in terms of speaking words of life and catching up with friends. Need to start looking for opportunities to be more generous in terms of supporting those around me.


IMG_1769.PNG

Sort:  

You are sharing something worth learning from. As believers there are areas of our lives we need to work on by ourselves. There is nothing like "God change my character"; when he has given us grace to do it. Didnt appostle Paul say, " I die daily". Thank you dear brother. I am going to look at how I can adapt your method to improve my own life. Maranatha!

Amen. Thanks for the encouragement brother.

Your diary writing is so good
Thanks to share with us

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Doing awesome this challenge is going to be awesome for you

Congratulations @nextgen622 for this initiative, it is sobering for me and very nice to read. If it does not bother you, I'll take your example to put it into practice with myself. God bless you in this Daily Diary and thank you for sharing it.

Sure, go for it. Blessings to you too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59111.01
ETH 2441.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45