Pecky Greenleg: Chapter 5

in #dailychicken6 years ago (edited)

Click here for Chapter 4
#dailychicken

Jake wasn't sure what to do next. The lead the postmaster gave them, while interesting, seemed like a big, fat dead end.

He'd already talked to Gilbert at the hatchery and had gotten nowhere.

You have to go back.

Jake shook his head, glaring at Pecky.

"Go back? How? Even if I could convince Mom we needed more chicks, there's nothing more Gilbert will tell me."

Pecky strutted back and forth in the pen, frustration simmering around him.

Use me.

pecky5.jpg

Jake looked at Pecky doubtfully.

No, really. Use me. Tell your mom that I'm not well. I'll even act sick.

"I don't know...Mom already suspects something and I don't like keeping things from her..."

Then tell her.

Jake snorted and looked at the determined glint in Pecky's eyes.

"Tell her that the chicken I named Pecky Greenleg is actually a rooster who can talk? Tell her that I've already talked to Gilbert at the hatchery and the postmaster? Tell her--"

Ok, ok! I get it. But we have to come up with something. I don't belong here.

Jake looked down at Pecky and felt a twinge of sadness for him. How awful would it be not to know where you came from?

"Ok. I'll figure out a way for us to get back to the hatchery."

pecky6.jpg

Chapter 6

*Originally posted on A Pinch of Homestead

Chapter 1
Chapter 2
Chapter 3
Chapter 4
Chapter 5
Chapter 6

Sort:  

Very interesting story. What will Jake do next? I will be awaiting the next chapter. 😊

Thank you @trincowski! My kids are curious too. :)

Congratulations @apinchofhome! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - The party continues

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63188.04
ETH 2570.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.79