Tales of a cyclist: Part 4 - The Hysterical Doctor

in #cycling7 years ago (edited)

Chin cut


Now you have that disturbing image burned back into your mind, we can continue from where we left off.

I arrived at work, my hands shaking involuntarily and feeling a tad lightheaded from the excessive amounts of adrenaline pumping around my body. Good news was that this magic hormone had worked wonders on my pain receptors, could barely feel a thing. However the shakes did mean that locking my bike was a little trickier than usual, eventually managing to fumble my way through it.

I made my way inside, cupping my hands under my chin valiantly trying to save the newly polished floor. Then straight to the bathroom, ignoring the exchange of pleasantries that I usually share with the security guard. Looking in the mirror I lifted my chin, a deep 2 inch gash was staring back. Placing my hands either side of the cut I pulled it apart, there was the bone. Just to be certain, I repeated the process, it reminded me of Ace Ventura talking with his arse. Taking some hand towels I covered my chin, in a pathetic attempt to stop further leakage.

Ace ventura talking with his butt

I dropped my kit off at my desk and told my boss what had happened, purposely leaving out the 'finer details'. I even gave him my best impression of good ol' Ace.

"Excuse me I'd like to 'ass' you some questions."

Not sure the impersonation went down too well or maybe it was just the sight of blood, but his face went white and he looked as if he was going to chuck up his bacon and eggs. Anyway he ordered me off to hospital.

Sick gif

Now usually I am not one for hospitals, other than for severed appendages. A plaster and a sit down would have been my solution. But in this case I did have a legitimate reason to have a couple hours off work, how could I turn that down?

Luckily one of my colleagues overheard my predicament and offered to give me a lift, saving me from walking the 3 miles to the nearest hospital. After all I wasn't going to get fucking public transport!

10 minutes in the car without getting any blood on the upholstery, I was so pleased with myself. I thanked my driver and went inside.

The reception looked like an aquarium, sealed with glass from waist height to ceiling. The fish inside mumbled inaudibly, I shouted my name and address at them and pointed to my cut. Another mumble, they then proceeded to push wet wipes into one of those sliding air lock contraptions that you usually find in a bank. I took the wipes and sat back down, I guess I would be summoned when they wanted me.

Waiting ...

An hour later they called my name, by that time I had used up my supply of wipes and there was a little pool of blood on the floor. I quickly walked away from it pretending it wasn't mine, I was led through a pair of double doors and into a curtain palisaded cubicle. Once there, I was told to sit on the bed and wait for the doctor. So I put my feet up and chilled, humming the tune to Queen's Another one bites the dust, not sure how that popped into my head.

Freddie Mercury

Eventually the doc arrived, closing the curtain behind him. I sat up as he turned toward me, he looked so young, I know all old people say that but blimey. My initial thoughts were, when was the real doctor coming, this kid has only just finished high school. He started by saying, "Hello my name is doctor...", he stammered for a minute as his phone went off. I seized the opportunity and responded with, "Dre, Octavius, Kimble, Lector, McCoy...Dr Who?" He let out a little chuckle and continued, "My name is Doctor Drake, so what seems to be the matter today?"

baby-doctor.jpg
Credit

"Well I fell off my bike and landed on my chin and I may have also tweaked my wrist."

He put on his latex gloves and started moving my wrist in all directions, then he squeezed and I let out a yelp. It was very tender but he concluded that it was just badly sprained.

Next he asked me to lay down so he could have a good look at the damage. He prodded and poked it for a few moments, even doing his own Ace Ventura movements, before saying, "I can see the bone so you are going to need stitches, I will give it a clean, administer a local anesthetic and then pop a few in."

He collected all the kit required for the procedure and got to work cleaning the wound and administering the local. Whilst waiting for the anesthetic to kick in he asked the dreaded question, "So how did you fall off your bike, was it the ice?"

To be fair I should have expected the question and prepared a more respectable lie, but he had caught me completely off guard and I just blurted it out, "It was a dildo."

He was taken a back, "A hobo did this?"

xFevEvY.jpg
Credit

Phew he had misheard me, but now I was in a very difficult predicament, what was worse, running over a homeless person or the truth? I contemplated it for a few seconds and decided that hitting a hobo painted me in a bad light, so I told the truth, "No no no... a dildo."

His expression was classic. He went from professional junior doctor, to giddy teenager staring at private parts on page 78 of his high school anatomy textbook, in a matter of nanoseconds. Yes I remember the page number, don't judge me! He was laughing so much that he actually had to leave the cubicle.

Nick Cage Laughing

Upon his return he apologised for his lack of professionalism. I responded with, "Don't worry about it, I would have done the exact same." He finished off patching me up and gave me some pain killers, we said our goodbyes and went our separate ways, hopefully never to meet again...


IMG-20161108-WA0003.jpg

Part 5 The eternal infernal squeak

Sort:  

That was something else....I've had similar experience when falling off a bike.... Following you...

@crypto-p always appreciated another follower. It has been an experience commuting to work over the past year and a bit. Bikes can be dangerous but I have developed a great passion for cycling over that time.

I like that too, but I have a question : what do you do with the sweat, after you have reached your office? Do you shower there or you just sit wet? :) thanks!

We have showers at our office, and I take a spare pair of everything each day so I just get changed. It is especially useful when it is raining.

I think cycling to work is a great opportunity to keep yourself healthy and fit, at the same time you can listen to an audio book and make it even more efficient this way.... Today I went for running with my headphones on and listened an show about cryptos and Steem! Loved it!

Definitely keeping me fit, I have lost about a stone and a half since I started, and I eat more than ever.

Not sure I could cycle with headphones on though I like to hear the traffic coming. But each to their own.

You could put on just one 'ear'... Anyways, cycling is great, happy to know your story... ^^

Nice with a fellow cyclist here on steemit! Also read your other posts, really great writing man! Keep it up and I will keep reading! Cheers! PS. What is the name of your bike?

@holm thanks for taking the time to read my stuff, I really appreciate it. I really like making people laugh so it gives me a kick when people take the time to comment. I have this bike it is a Cube SL Road.

Cube

Ohhh, I know that bike! Cube is from Germany right? Have a lot of good reputation and I considered buying one for my tour I'm doing, I did roll with a little bit different though. But a great brand and a great bike!

Yeah they are German, you seem to get a lot of bike for your money, I would definitely recommend them. Mine is the 2016 model and it has done about 10k miles and is still going strong, obviously had to change a few things on it.

They also do a large selection of ebikes which look really awesome.

What do you ride?

I have no idea how to link pictures in comments, haha. But I run in a KTM Life lontano p18. It's a tour bike with internal gear system. :) also very cheap compared to bikes with similar systems. (yet on the expensive side)

This one right?

KTM

That is a lovely looking bike, the internal gear systems are awesome, so much smoother than a normal derailleur. And is that a rubber belt rather than a chain?

You link the same way as you would in a post. Or you can just drag and drop the image into the comment box.

Yep that's the one! It's a carbon fiber belt, again, very durable and no Maintenance. One belt = 15.000 to 20.000km , no oil or anything needed. Very convenient for long tours, but of course I can not give a full feedback on it just yet, but so far it performance great!

That is awesome, definitely sounds better than a standard chain. They last nowhere near that distance. The last chain I had stretched so much that the measurement tool just fell straight through. I had only done maybe 3000 miles on it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by munchell from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Wow nasty cut...lucky u didnt get hurt more badly...... I just love those pocs and gifs u use in ur posts...just makes me laugh :0)
I love Jim Carrey he is great.
Thx for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67200.37
ETH 3331.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77