Tales of a cyclist: Part 5 The eternal infernal squeak

in #cycling7 years ago (edited)

Cyclist

The winter had been a long hard slog. The incessant poor weather had taken its toll on both myself and my poor bicycle, as a result it was starting to feel tired and slow. The components had been ground away by the salt and grime and were on the cusp of failure. It was high time that I breathed some new life into my machine and gave it the tender loving care that it deserved.

So I went ahead and bought it a whole new drive-train: chain, cranks, derailleurs, rings, pedals and cassette. It was a difficult pill to swallow especially for me, my wife calls me a miser but I prefer the word frugal. To be perfectly honest if I buy something I expect it to last a lifetime, is that too much to ask? I still have pants from 2004, admittedly they are now crotch-less but they are pants nonetheless.

Crotch-less pants

When the parts arrived I unpacked them and obsessively lined them up on the table, ready for them to be accepted into their host. Removing the old components, replacing them like for like, I felt like a surgeon operating on his patient. For once, the whole process went swimmingly and two hours later I had finished. My drive-train looked pristine, sparkling from the spotlights in my kitchen. I gave the pedals a quick spin and traversed up and down through the gears, everything was sweet as a nut. Ready to ride!

Operation

The next morning I noticed something, something that fills my heart with dread and makes my eye twitch unintentionally. There was a squeak coming from my bike! It was faint, almost inaudible, no louder than a mouse's, yet consistent like a metronome. It couldn't be the new drive-train could it? Or perhaps the maintenance had just revealed something that was preexisting. Whatever the cause, now that it had been heard, it couldn't be unheard. I cycled the rest of the way to work with my head in my knees trying to locate the source.

Metronome

The squeak played on my mind for much of the day, where could it be coming from? Riding home was much the same, my head moving from side to side trying to single out the one component that was causing it, the motorists must have thought me insane.

It went on like this for weeks, still unable to identify the origin. The sound had started to bury its way into my soul. It was everywhere, ceaselessly tormenting me, from dawn til dusk, driving me crazy.

Until one day I snapped and dissembled the entire bike. Every component, every nut, every bolt, every ball bearing now strewn across the kitchen covered in grease.

I was hoping for this.

Neat dissembly

I got this.

A mess

My wife was far form impressed, I reassured her that the mess would be gone by the morning and got back to work. It was met with a prickly response, "It'd better be!".

All night I spent meticulously cleaning each individual piece. I felt like Pvt. Leonard 'Gomer Pyle' Lawrence field stripping his weapon, "It's been swabbed.... and wiped. Everything is clean. Beautiful. So that it slides perfectly. Nice. Everything cleaned. Oiled. So that your action is beautiful. Smooth, Charlene." After 5 hours, countless swear words and grease everywhere, the moment of truth...

Gomer Pyle


ARGHHHHHHH IT STILL FUCKING SQUEAKED!

I picked up the bike and launched it, it went sailing through the air before crashing back down to earth. I fell to my knees, my head now in my hands, I started to sob. "Nothing ever goes right for me!"

Throw Bike

Some time later, after my temper tantrum was over I went to fetch my bike. Turns out my best John McEnroe impression had snapped my rear derailleur clean off. I was now a broken man, the squeak had won, I had to accept it as part of my life.

Part 6 The Flintstone Race

Sort:  

😂😂🤣🤣 RIP bike... you're so funny!!! I love your writing. I can actually imagine you there in your kitchen throwing the bike 😂😂

Aww thank you @fitnessgirl it is always good to get some good out of the bad. A few good laughs and everything is A-OK again.

Hahaha oh my Fucking God. I feel you man! I had this stupid small sound everytime I turned my front wheel a little quick, so I kept doing that listening to it try to locate the sound, until I became possessed. Took me 2 weeks to figure out where it came from. Nothing worse than sounds coming from your bike that should not be there.

Omg it can be annoying, it drove me up the wall. I still have nightmares about it. It is fixed now but I think I might save that for another tale because that story is pretty funny too. Well at least in my opinion it is.

Haha share it. I enjoy reading about cyclists in agony and pain!

Lol, I will do once I have written it. I will try and get it done this weekend.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by munchell from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

You know what you need? A winter bike!

...As long as your wife won't kill you

Haha, great suggestion. I've been trying to push for one, a fixie, something nice and simple. But she isn't having any of it.

Lol.....ur Crazy fun :0) This post just cracks me up I laught like an Idiot..lol that must have been a sight...hihi upvpted

So glad you enjoyed it. I love it when I can make people giggle.

I really did and u absolutley made me giggle my as off....lol
A pleasure reading

I really did and u absolutley made me giggle my as off....lol

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58039.01
ETH 2460.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32