INTRODUCTION TO GARDENING. TIPS, PHOTOS AND FLOWERS! PART I

in #curie7 years ago (edited)

https://steemit.com/flower/@steamdan/20180224t095035602z-post3.jpg

Hey guys. I'm all about making my voice count. So I'm going to give you some insight which I learned in my journey as a plant grower. For a start, I don't really have a garden, and that is why I don't really consider myself a gardener. What I do have is an inventory of many (Almost 10.000 and over 70 different species) plants, and a laboratoryish workplace divided into 7 areas. The difference or reason for that? I don't have (yet) an appealing space to show off all of my arsenal. So, I had to work without a garden (if you get my point), instead I have a sort of open greenhouse/warehouse, and from there I distribute most of my plants to home yards, schools, malls, stores, offices and basically everyone who wants from one to many. My main goal is to help nature spread all over my region, because that could have a strong, important impact in our climate, a cooler temperature and more rains to ease the high heat from every day, by turning our brown town into a greener one. I have access to water (Not everyone in my country can say that, many can't), different plants I've been collecting and seeds from every food I bought for that purpose, add just a couple of tools to that and I'm ready to work. You'll see that I don't have much of resources and because of that I wanted to keep this as an experiment. Which was to prove that even in these desertic conditions I could grow not only tropical/frugal/vegetable plants; but interior ones and many others from different climates as well. The 7 spaces aren't so small and I will get more into it on next posts. But it would be fair to say that I've grown mainly ornamental plants for most of the entire time this experiment has lasted, meaning that I have been researching and learning about many of these plants growth and needs for more than 5 years, so, we could call it my career.

https://steemit.com/flowers/@steamdan/20180227t063520462z-post2.jpg

It's always been up to me to improve my ecosystem-weather conditions because I live in the equator, in a really desertic region in South America. The last drought season here has lasted at least 4 years, and just this month started a very welcomed rain season, which I'm currently taking advantage of, in terms of soil preparation and planning. If possible, I'm going to spend a couple more months studying a day at a time the progress and development of many ornamental and frugal plants and trees, for the whole year ahead.

https://steemit.com/foodphotography/@steamdan/20180226t222920807z-post00000001.jpg

I haven't bought many tools and materials neither. My country has a dificult crisis in which we have to spend more than our income in food and every service or product that you can either afford or find, and even though I work a lot, the money never lasts too long. I will show you what I did buy, and all I've been able to use along this green ride. You may realize that even with short resources one can "garden very much". As I have been for almost 10 years now.

https://steemit.com/photography/@steamdan/20180224t100423707z-post1.jpg

Right now I'm growing pop-corn, lettuce, and I'm starting the cycle on corn, squash, cantaloupes and beans.

This looks like fun!

0000.jpg

0001.jpg

IMG_0427.JPG

And these are lettuce seedlings

06.jpg

012.jpg

013.jpg

Support my work and I will become better at it. That includes getting better in this network of course. But one of my new goals is to be able to do something like this!!

0006.jpg

Thank you for taking the time to check this post out and for giving me a chance to work even harder. Cheers!

Last but not least a special thankyou for amazing people like these, whose encouragement was absolutely important for me to make it to this point. Thank you!

@creative-truth

@melbookermusic

@livesustainably

Sort:  

Separate the CORN and SQUASH plant to grow properly... I like homesteading... All the weeds must be removed for the health of the plants. You must have a big base or pot for the plants. Or better is aquatic if you know this?

I have mine in our house, I will share this week...

Hey there. Thank you for the observations ! I'm having currently four different ways of growing corn:

  • In pots one each (will post later).
  • In short rows all alone (pics 3 and 8).
  • In a square with cantaloupes and beans (pics 6 and 7).
  • In pots but as many as 3 to 5 plants in a single pot, with a single plant of squash and 3 to 5 of beans (last pic).

In my country it isn't easy to buy nor make a hydroponic setup (at the moment, for me), but I definitely have studied the possibility. Maybe later this year i'll be able to grow lettuce in a hydro system, if that goes well I will try to grow some other more challenging vegs, for sure. The main idea is to not only improve the natural conditions, but to also grow enough food to give and sell to all nearby regions. As of this moment all the vegs and fruits are brought from very far mountain towns, but I believe that with this daily sunlight and a couple of changes in the humidity of each area and of course, with the help from other people, I'll be able to grow also potatoes, avocados, passionfruits, oranges, apples, grapes, and for sure a lot of more plants that will benefit all communities and the entire ecosystem within my region.

I'll be more than happy to see your work, thank you for sharing and leaving a comment here. Cheers!

Hi :) I like your post. We have a cottage with a small garden where we grow some kinds of flowers. But only during summer. This one I like the most.
IMG_20180228_205259.png

How beautiful ! It's a lilly, right? Thank you for sharing your flowers and by stopping by, these look like you did a good job growing them. They look lovely !

Yes it´s lilly :) my favourite.. we have many other species and good conditions for their growth.

Such a fun cover photo. I keep imagining that flower is going to lick up bugs like an anteater or an elephant.

hahah I wasn't trying to have it as the cover photo, I should have thought of that and put a less vertical pic in first! That's the only hibiscus I have left now. Had two more called double petal flowers or something like that, I believe they were hybrids; one orange almost gold looking, and the other one had bright red ones. Slaughtered by the heat they were no more!

Many flowers also have that "alien" look if you ask me, to me those pistils look more as tentacles! One of the flowers I want to photograph the most is the passiflora, to me looks more alien brought than made in this planet don't you think? Aliens!!

Thank you for your support. It means a lot to me and it will make a big difference in my next steps. Hope you can make it to next posts and see for yourself how many plants I've been able to grow in the last 8 years! I've had also several losses, but the numbers always keep going up in both species and total. Started with less than 25, Now I'm reaching the 10K stage. And I won't stop there either! Again, thank you for taking the time and effort to write a comment. I really appreciate it! Have a great week.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by stk1025 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Resteemed By @tisko
Thank you for using our service! @steamdan

Click here to see how to use Tisko Bot.

You got a 33.33% upvote from @greengrowth thanks to @steamdan! You too can use @GreenGrowth by sending your post URL in the memo field to the bot. Minimum bid is 0.01.

If you feel this post is spammy or not worthy of @Greengrowth you can contact a moderator in our Discord Channel https://discord.gg/6DhnVTQ.

This post has received a 17.48 % upvote from @steemdiffuser thanks to: @steamdan. Steem on my friend!

Above average bids may get additional upvotes from our trail members!

Get Upvotes, Join Our Trail, or Delegate Some SP

You got a 3.19% upvote from @ipromote courtesy of @steamdan!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

This post has received a 1.63% upvote from thanks to: @steamdan.
For more information, click here!!!!

Try the new Minnowhelper Bots for more information here

Do you know, you can also earn passive income after every bidding round simply by delegating your Steem Power to @minnowhelper?
you can delegate by clicking following links: 10 SP, 100 SP, 500 SP, 1000 SP or Another amount

Help support @minnowhelper and the bot tracker by voting for @yabapmatt for Steem witness! To vote, click the button below or go to https://steemit.com/~witnesses and find @yabapmatt in the list and click the upvote icon. Thank you.

Voting for @yabapmatt

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63818.94
ETH 2624.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78