Application for mentorship to become a @curie curator

in #curie7 years ago (edited)

geekgirl_steem.jpg

Curie is a curation projects that helps and supports great posts. Posts discovered by curie curators receive generous upvotes so that new authors who are continuously creating great content without much success get some exposure.

In the past curie was open for public submissions, however recently rules have changed and only way for new curators to join is by the recommendation of top curators and approval of reviewers.

I have joined the ranks of top curators for this week, and there is no guarantee I will stay as a top curator.

Many people were asking how to get a recommendation to become a curator. For that reason I decided to create this application post. Purpose of this application is not to recruit new curators, rather provide a process for those who already know about curie and have been asking to become a curator.

Since this process has not been done yet, I reserve the right to stop this process anytime, and I am not making any promises. Also, please consider this ONLY if you are going to be respectful of my decisions when I say "No". It is most likely most of the applicants will be rejected, since I intend to recommend one or two curators.


Here are the rules:

  1. Applicant must have reputation of 44 or higher.
  2. Applicant must have been on Steemit for at least a month.
  3. Applicant must be an active member who engages with community. I will decide that based on the history of the blog.
  4. Applicant must read and get familiar with curie guides and rules. Please check @curie blog posts and steeemit.chat #curie channel pinned messages and FAQ. Also read this guide by @liberosist here.

How is the process going to work:

Step 1 : Make sure you complete rules section and you qualify

Step 2: Leave a comment explaining why you would like to be a curator and what makes you the best candidate. Find a great post that fits the rules and guidelines, upvote it, resteem it, and leave a link to it along with your comment.

Step 3: I will reply in the comment if you are accepted for interview, then you can contact me on steemit.chat directly. I will also reply to those who are rejected in comments. Those who are rejected can reapply next time if this program continues.

Step 4: I will ask those who accepted for interview few questions, and based on that select ones for mentorship.

Step 5: Those selected for mentorship will need to curate and find 4 great posts and message me directly. This will have to happen gradually, not at once. If I find the posts acceptable I will submit those posts to curie. If I reject one post, candidate will get one more chance to submit me another post. If I reject more than one candidate will be rejected. If curie rejects a single post, candidate will be disqualified. During the process of post discoveries we will be discussing posts and curation methods in chat, so I can share my knowledge and skills.

Step 6: Once all 4 posts were successful and mentorship is completed successfully, I will recommend the prospective curator.

Step 7: Ultimately reviewers will need to approve the recommendation. If they approve, candidate becomes a curator.


These rules and process might change or be completely removed. Since this is a new process, I am not sure how it will work out. I can stop this process at any time. Please be respectful of my decision.

In the event this experiment is successful and I continue maintaining top curator position, I might continue this in the future and those who received rejection can reapply.

Sort:  

Curation groups like Curie is what makes a content-based blog platform like Steemit great. I completely respect what you are doing. I think I have an idea of how many hours of dedicated curation go into checking blogs from new and upcoming authors. Curation might be the single most important aspect of this platform, I think. If we want Steemit to succeed, as a community we must promote great content to make it easily visible.

It's so easy for great new authors to become frustrated with the fact that on your own, it's extremely tough to attain some visibility. I know I am biased and I know not all of my posts were all great, but I still feel proud of some of the posts I did. I try to enhance visibility by using these paid upvote-boosting services. But then, getting 80 upvotes but only 10 pageviews is not encouraging either.

Since I'm dutch I tend to be a little critical as well. So I also think that Curie might always be struggling to find enough dedicated curators that can work according to the strict Curie requirements for quality. Those strict rules can feel a little elitarian to the rest of the community. But I do think you are really doing a amazing and respectful job.

I would like to see more initiatives like Curie. With a similar goal, i.e. finding great content and promote it, but maybe with a little different focus and slightly different rules. How great would it be, if next to the 'home', 'new', hot', 'trending' and 'promoted' tabs, there would be a 'curation' page where different curating groups would have a spot to promote original and new blog posts?

Thanks for this comment! Have a great day!!

A curation tab on the main menu is an absolutely fantastic idea!

@geekgirl, I have been trying to become a curator but is extremely hard to get at mentorship.
I would love to be a curator because of the rewards. I'm always looking for quality blogs to follow anyway and will be great to get some extra bonus for me and many other great posts I see get lost every day. I have been in the curie chat I'm capable of curate properly and follow all the rules if you think I will be a good apprentice let me know.

If you don't apply following described steps, I wouldn't be able to tell.

Hi, I don't like curie and others who decide which is good or not. I prefer to let the readers decide. It feels unnatural and manipulated when a few people at curie do these things. Have you had the same thoughts yet or do you see it from a different perspective?

What's the difference, really? The curators at Curie are readers too. It's a free and open market, we all do our best to curate content :)

  • Makes it more difficult for a good post to go trending because the work of all individual curators gets diminished.
  • Makes people discover good posts not by reading 'new' or 'hot' but by reading the curie only and profit afterwards
  • Is promoting posts which do not have mistakes/ formatting errors in them yet the content is good (I don't care about errors)
  • Makes things stale and not dynamic

Makes it more difficult for a good post to go trending because the work of all individual curators gets diminished.

On the contrary, Curie empowers curators to find an undiscovered post and give it the attention it deserves. Otherwise, Curie is a very small project, and the overall votes take less than 5% of the reward pool. Less than individual whales, and less than stuff like randowhale. So, it barely affects your curation.

Makes people discover good posts not by reading 'new' or 'hot' but by reading the curie only and profit afterwards

Also, on the contrary, it encourages people to read new and hot, as they might good posts that are a) worthy of being submitted to Curie; and b) frontrun Curie to cash in the curation rewards. Voting on a post after Curie has voted is absolutely unprofitable - that's how Steemit's curation rewards algo works. You'd want to vote before.

Is promoting posts which do not have mistakes/ formatting errors in them yet the content is good (I don't care about errors)

That's not true either. Sure, good formatting is nice; but we have often voted on posts with poor English / dodgy formatting even because the content was so good. Literally thousands of such posts have been voted by Curie.

Makes things stale and not dynamic

Curie has over 700 curators since Streemian Guilds opened in February, and a further 500 before that. Instead of one or two whales voting everything, we have hundreds of curators sharing their voices. That's like the exact definition of dynamic.

I feel you have totally misunderstood how Curie works. Either way, to each their own. It's a free market.

I guess I got it wrong then. Thanks for explaining! :)

Curie has over 700 curators since Streemian Guilds opened in February

Holy cow! That's a crazy number of curators! Are they all active? Who actually parses through all those options?

However you guys are making it work, I think your doing a great job - it's awesome to see new users catapulted to trending. I wasn't curied, but I had a similar single large post, and it was a major motivator early on.

One interesting Curie related phenomenon - I was going through the last couple of weeks posts and checking out the authors to see where they stood after payout. Sadly, at least a couple never even stuck around the platform long enough to collect - they just have a couple of hundred dollars sitting unclaimed in an abandoned account. Tried to find them on steemit chat and discord, but no luck :(

Edit: @zenmotherfucker is the main one I was thinking about - but I can't figure out how to contact him - not on for 20 days - and like 200$+ waiting for him.

I think curie is serving community great deal. That is just my opinion.

i think so, curie was help me when my reputation was 28, curie upvoted me and my reputation be 35, i wanna join this curie if i meet minimum requirement of curie member, thanks @geekgirl

i invited many student to join steemit, i told them to create good content, sometime they feel bored when they have created a good content but they dont get better reward, my purpose to join curie to propose their best content to curie to make them spirit for creating content by getting more reward of their content, therefore, they can tell their friend to join steemit and compete to create best content depend on their skill.

you application is not complete, you have not provided a link as described in Step 2. You are disqualified this time. Try next time. Thank you for participating.

I forgot input the link, thanks for your kindly. i will participate next time @geekgirl

I ready to reapply Application for mentorship.

  1. I would like to be a curator because i invited many student to join steemit, i told them to create good content, sometime they feel bored when they have created a good content but they dont get better reward, my purpose to join curie to propose their best content to curie to make them spirit for creating content by getting more reward of their content, therefore, they can tell their friend to join steemit and compete to create best content depend on their skill.
  2. Why i fell i best candidate, i create my content in science tag, base on chemistry, then many of my content entry of The Fifth Rank Page and i get an appreciation, sometime posted on steemiteducation, steemwizards, and twice in OCD. i create a content with a source. then i know which content is best, maybe we could say an original content with source:
  3. This is a content link https://steemit.com/science/@teks/the-next-little-ice-age-vol-26

Thank you @geekgirl. I love writing posts and good content but unfortunately I am not old enough here at steemit to participate. Have only been here for 2 and a half weeks and loving bloggging. Followed

you can always come back

I'm already a curator in curie but I may need mentorship. Anything you can help me with that?

dm me. we can talk

This is cool. Curie is almost like reddit.jobs, only like Steemit.jobs.com

Hi @geekgirl,

I want to be a curator because I like to read and review articles. I have experience in this as well. For few years, I was working as a researcher and I was reviewing articles for journals, such as 'drug and alcohol dependence', nicotine and tobacco research' and few others. I have also published my own research which is available online. So I had been working as a researcher and a reviewer. So I think, I will definitely enjoy my role as a curator in Steemit, and I will hopefully do well.

I have chosen this article for you.

https://steemit.com/news/@zen12/so-why-should-we-fight-for-privacy-privacy-it-s-nobody-s-business

I read and understood the rules of curie before selecting this article. Also, I have upvoted and resteemed it and left my comment about it as well.

I look forward to your response.

Thanks!

I think being part of the curie project is a tough job. You need to read every single thing. Thanks for being there, and wish you have lots of fun in reading and selecting the best authors

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62549.96
ETH 3022.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67