You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Application for mentorship to become a @curie curator

in #curie7 years ago

Curation groups like Curie is what makes a content-based blog platform like Steemit great. I completely respect what you are doing. I think I have an idea of how many hours of dedicated curation go into checking blogs from new and upcoming authors. Curation might be the single most important aspect of this platform, I think. If we want Steemit to succeed, as a community we must promote great content to make it easily visible.

It's so easy for great new authors to become frustrated with the fact that on your own, it's extremely tough to attain some visibility. I know I am biased and I know not all of my posts were all great, but I still feel proud of some of the posts I did. I try to enhance visibility by using these paid upvote-boosting services. But then, getting 80 upvotes but only 10 pageviews is not encouraging either.

Since I'm dutch I tend to be a little critical as well. So I also think that Curie might always be struggling to find enough dedicated curators that can work according to the strict Curie requirements for quality. Those strict rules can feel a little elitarian to the rest of the community. But I do think you are really doing a amazing and respectful job.

I would like to see more initiatives like Curie. With a similar goal, i.e. finding great content and promote it, but maybe with a little different focus and slightly different rules. How great would it be, if next to the 'home', 'new', hot', 'trending' and 'promoted' tabs, there would be a 'curation' page where different curating groups would have a spot to promote original and new blog posts?

Sort:  

Thanks for this comment! Have a great day!!

A curation tab on the main menu is an absolutely fantastic idea!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60791.78
ETH 2917.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34