Discovering Venice with alequandro! #14 - The Basilica of Saints John and Paul - A beautiful surprise entering the hospital in Venice

in #curie6 years ago

Today is 21 days that I do not use Steemit!!
I had a lot to do with the job and then I had to help my dad who was operated on the hip.

It was years since he had to do the surgery but the technique was not at a good level so the doctors had advised him 15 years ago to wait as long as he could...
A new technique has been developed that guarantees a very short recovery period because the operation is less invasive compared to previous techniques.

The day after the opeation my dad could already walk on crutches!!!
For the operation he wanted to entrust a surgeon experienced in this new technique that operates in Venice, so every day I went to visit him and I visited Venice...

To go to the hospital we took the boat, I took a picture...look at that traffic!

P1018660.jpg

After half an hour of navigation we arrived at the hospital which has an old and a new part that has expanded it.
I had never been to this hospital and I must say it is wonderful!!

Cattura.JPG

The hospital is accessed through the "Scuola Grande di San Marco" (Great Sschool of San Marco), a Renaissance building with a façade that leaves visitors speechless...

P1018676.jpg

To the right of the marble facade of the School is the Basilica of Saints John and Paul.
It is one of the most impressive medieval religious buildings in Venice, together with the Basilica of Santa Maria Gloriosa dei Frari. It is considered the pantheon of Venice because of the large number of Venetian doges and other important people who were buried there from the thirteenth century.

P1018677.jpg

A few meters from these wonderful buildings is the equestrian monument to Bartolomeo Colleoni, a bronze statue (height 395 centimeters without the base) created by Andrea del Verrocchio. For those who do not remember, Verrocchio was a master of Leonardo da Vinci, Sandro Botticelli, Pietro Perugino and many others...

P1018685.jpg

It was built between 1480 and 1488 and located in Venice in Campo San Zanipolo. It is the second equestrian statue of the Renaissance, after the monument to the Gattamelata of Donatello in Padua, dated 1446-1453.

P1018678.jpg

Waiting for visiting hours to see my dad I took a quick tour of the basilica...

P1018681.jpg

There are really beautiful high ceilings, domes full of decorations, paintings that you could spend hours watching them, I will definitely be back!

P1018680.jpg

P1018683.jpg

There is also a chapel built by Andrea Tiani in 1690 that I managed to photograph without the presence of tourists.

P1018684.jpg

As I said the visit to the basilica was fast, it was time to go visit my dad...

P1018679.jpg

I left the Basilica and entered the Scuola Grande of San Marco...
See what the entrance looks like!

P1018675.jpg

The entrance area is used as an exhibition area for modern works by Italian and foreign artists.
I was observing some works when I noticed a strange thing...

P1018670.jpg

I did not believe my eyes!
A cat slept on one of the exhibited works! He slept still.
People who passed by, began to notice it because I was there to photograph it!

P1018669.jpg

What a beautiful art exhibition! I really like it !!

The art of the unexpected!

P1018671.jpg

These are the beautiful things that make the days rich and interesting!

P1018672.jpg

Simple and unplanned things...

P1018673.jpg

Has there ever been an incredible situation? Do you want to tell me about it?

What's the most incredible unexpected thing that happened to you? The situation that changed your day? The surprise that made you smile?

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Hello @alequandro,

Congrats! Your outstanding work is featured on the Photocircle Top 10 Contributors for the category "Astounding City views".
Cheers!
@Photocircle Team


You may view the post where your photograph is featured through this link: https://steemit.com/@photocircle/photocircle-top-10-contributors-104th-edition-astounding-city-views

Learn more about this new project feature through the link below:

» Photocircle Project Quest

Thank you for your contribution to the "photocircle" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61