Dr. The Leaping Koala_ my journey on Steemit # 2_ My first Curation attempt...steemCreated with Sketch.

in #curation7 years ago (edited)

Hello my dear Steemians,

I wrote in another Post my little plans to help steemit reach it's core values.

This is my first attempt at the curation part, as I already stated in the title. Hahaha

So, whom I visited today and what have I seen/learned?
I started my alphabetical visits few days ago, so today I just continued where I left last time. Except this time I will mention the Steemians I visited and what have I seen/learned from their posts.

Ready? Set...GO!

1- @kayleigh-alesta
Apparently @kayleigh-alesta has been going through a move lately and was feeling a bit blue, but her birthday is coming soon and she wanted to feel better. With lots of faith and courage she turned to steemit for support and asked her steemian friends and followers what do they think of her (as a woman), here.
Unfortunately, I saw the post barely on time for voting, but fear not my dear fellow Steemians @kayleigh-alesta has other posts that you may find interesting to vote.

~ Also, lets not forget to tell @kayleigh-alesta that she still got beauty in her, wish her a very happy birthday and give her warm hugs and wishes of another 100 years of happiness and beauty :D


2- @kona
In 2 posts, @kona, gave a lengthy discussion and a valid opinion about the Mandela effect phenomenon, which you can find, respectively, in Part 1 and Part 2.

To summerize, the Mandela effect is a hypothesized explanation of how the brain can perceive falsified information about past events and believe them to be true, despite the evidence indicating otherwise.

Again, unfortunately, I saw the post barely on time for voting, but I still find the subject very intriguing and worth knowing. I personally think the the Mandela effect has a different explanation, which you can find in the comment section in Part 2.

~ Let's all applaud to @kona for bringing up a very interesting subject and for discussing it at length


3- @leoplaw "Museum"
With such a talent at art and painting, @leoplaw page is filled with beautiful art works that are worth checking and voting.

~ There are still several posts that can be upvoted, I am sure you will find something you would like to upvote in @leoplaw Museum


4- @lyxng
A writer of short stories, I believe @lyxng is a talented writer. Her latest short story Midnight surprise sent a goose bump all along my spine after reading it. I just hope I will not have some weird dreams tonight ;D

But wait, @lyxng is not only a short-story writer but apparently a designer as well.

~ A couple of @lyxng posts are waiting for more appreciation and upvotes.


5- @make-a-whale
I strongly suggest that you follow @make-a-whale. They are having an initiative to help minnows grow and support each other. They are also another power working to help steemit deliver it's core values.

I just joined @make-a-whale and I am already excited to working and growing together. They are not recruiting anymore (I barely made it yesterday with them) but keep an eye and you may become the next @make-a-whale mate ;D


6- @maninayton
Unfortunately, it looks like @maninayton hasn't been active for few days now.

~ Let's all hope that @maninayton is doing well and will come back to steemit soon stronger and feeling better.


7- @minnowsupport
Another initiative that I strongly recommend to all new steemians to join.
They have the discord channel and the lovely @minnowsbooster bot :D


8- @nadversion56
Another artist in the neighborhood.
Her latest post is about a copyright platform Binded that is perfect to give artists and photographers full copyrights over their work

~ Although still not having a museum full of art work, @nadversion56 definitely has interesting arts and posts to check :)


9- @nagavolu
Looks like @nagavolu is interested in health and self-help info and has been posting some.

I believe @nagavolu would benefit more from adding more info on his posted videos, also adding his input or intake from what he learned.

~ Just a reminder to any new steemian, be aware not to copy/paste any info from online source. I fell in this trap as a new steemian, which was frowned upon, even though I added the source to the material.


10- @nelinoeva
As one of the most lovely people I met in Steemit, @nelinoeva has also a very lovely and I think unique hobby. She likes watching and walking on the moon!

Unfortunately, I wasn't able to watch the Moon Walk video. For some reason it didn't open in my computer. But, oh my God! How much I loved the dreamy real Full Moon photo she took.

~ Lets applaud @nelinoeva and her dreamy hobby and pay her a visit to enjoy watching the land of dreamy love "The Moon"


11- @nesian101
I added another person today and glad I did. I found the info @nesian101 shared in his last post about crypto very good for any person new in the crypto world. Not necessary to follow what he is doing exactly (unless you want to), but it is kind of an insight on what another person is doing or choosing in the vast crypto world and how they feel about it.

~ I think it is worth a read.


~ Thank you very much for reading, commenting and upvoting. I hope you liked my first curation attempt and found this episode informative

.... Till next curation episode

Dr. The Leaping Koala :D


Source

TEAMCANADA-GENERICFOOTER2 (1).png

Logo courtesy of @bearone

Sort:  

This has an impressive number of upvotes, given the reward payout size.

I bet this post would make the "daily most under-rewarded posts" list, the Daily Tribune, if they are still doing it.

Hi @lexiconical,
Thanks for your comment and upvote. I think the votes were all bots. I remember I used discord upvote site and few sec after I got so many little votes from so many.
But It would be great if more people get to know about this, because it will give many steemians some sort of exposure and interaction :)

"But It would be great if more people get to know about this,"

All you can do there is keep doing, it and keep trying to get more followers (so they will see it) by commenting on big articles!

Thanks @lexiconical for the advice. Sometimes steemit feels so unfriendly and harsh. But I need to remember your advice so I wouldn't give up soon.

"Sometimes steemit feels so unfriendly and harsh."

It's like the world that way. Beauty wrapped in an enigma wrapped in sorrow.

You can always DM me in the MSP Discord if you have any questions. I'll give you the straight answer I'd want to hear, even if it will probably make you hate me.

That's how I roll. As my blog tagline says:

"Wisdom And Knowledge Shall Be The Stability Of Thy Times."

-A top notch bible quote

My dear friend @lexiconical,
I will never hate you for telling me the truth.
Actually, I am glad you do. This way, I feel that I can trust you for not being corrupted and saying things to gain.

You advised me in another reply to follow @jerrybanfield upvotables

I like curation projects, I think they're helpful to the featured authors. JerryBanfield does one called Upvotable, you might want to look it up.

I have been doing it, but I was always ignored. I am not trying to attack Jerry, but I am not very sure if his upvotable posts are helping those who are at the bottom of the ladder.

Have you checked the comments @jerrybanfield upvotable 33?
I believe @verdanas comments are telling the truth as well. I have been feeling this for a while now.

Now do you think if I write a post regarding this issue, I would survive in steemit?
I don't think so.

I will check those comments and get back to you.

I will say this though:

"Now do you think if I write a post regarding this issue, I would survive in steemit?"

Without even knowing the issue, I can say, yes, you would. It might even be very popular as Jerry has some haters. Jerry would never flag or attack you, he'd probably come apologize.

I used to be afraid of writing any post I thought would be controversial. Later, I realized flagging a minnow to death for a post like that only makes the post look even more correct, and is likely to lead to other whales over-compensating and voting that minnow back up.

The worst case is very unlikely.

More to come.

Thanks for your reply. I look forward to hearing back from you :)

Only read about 10 of them so far, but this is what verdana's argument boils down to:

"That's nice but here this is not fair to others. Please don't take advantage of your connections. "

He is then correct rebutted:

"I would argue that Steemit is all about connections."

Much like life also is.

Furthermore, I think verdanas is correct here:

"Jerry this is out of control. I think you can't handle so much work. It's to much for one person. You can't trust upvotes cuz they are not balanced. You won't even notice bottom posts with 0 worth upvotes."

Yeah, there's only so much Jerry can do. He posts a lot, goes to AA everyday, has kids and dogs, etc. Still posts 3-4 times a day, with videos and transcripts.

Curation is very hard work. Digging up obscure posts is harder. Jerry runs mostly on submissions. I have not been watching the submissions, so I have no idea if he is picking good ones. I only meant to highlight his post format as another example of curation projects that are making steady rewards.

Perhaps you can do better than him.

What type of post would you want to write regarding this issue? There's almost always a way to post something diplomatically. I have gone through many draft revisions, sometimes 6-7, before posting things that started as angry rants and became sober appeals to common sense and logic.

I'd be happy to help you edit.

Thank you very much. I would love your help editing my post for sure.

I will work on it to make it as diplomatic as possible of course. Attacking people just because I was ignored is childish and sad. I would like to think I am beyond that at this stage.

The points I would like to highlight in the post are similar to what @verdanas has mentioned.
1- Connections are important, but we shouldn't abuse them. (you will find that said so many times, yet still happens)
2- Thanking Jerry for trying to help, but also suggesting that if he is too busy to do a fair judgment, then there are ways to combat that
~ Making upvotable as weekly posts or even monthly.
~ Asking for only a certain number of posts to be submitted to each upvotable episode.
~ People who have been recommended or posted in a previous upvotable are not allowed to recommend or be recommended again so soon (lets say they can cycle back every 10 upvotable posts or so)
~ Instead of writing the upvotable posts and getting overwhelmed by the amount of recommendations he has to read, he can simply sponsor one, two or more curation posts made by other growing authors. This way he can help others to gain money and fame as well as increase the outreach and number of people to be acknowledged for their hard work on steemit. All the while he is still helping steemit and steemians (if that is the intention)

Jerry is human after all. These upvotable episodes give him more money and fame on top of what he has. If he really desires to help with that, it would be great if he gives it more attention and efforts. or decline the rewards it makes. Otherwise, it looks like he is one of those who wants to gain by helping specific people that help him grow.

Again, I am not attacking him and maybe I do sound jealous of him. But he is doing too many things that he doesn't have time to do, which makes him the center of attention but he is not really benefiting many people who are obscured by him and other veteran steemians.

Jerry himself wrote about the top authors on steemit and how they are making more money than him. Does he see it as a competition of becoming a top author? of collecting more money and fame? or of growing while helping others?
Those are questions only Jerry can answer. But we certainly have the right to question anyone who is claiming to want to help, if they are not doing a fair job.

Hope to hear your comments.
Thanks again for engaging with me in this discussion :D

Also, you clearly have real voters too. There are actual commenters in your replies.

Yes, I am very happy to have real people following me and engaging my posts. It means a lot more than anything else.
It is true that I want to be successful by having more rewards and building my SP and reputation, but having real followers who are following me because they accept what I give not because I am rich and vice versa, is the ultimate success.
The success that is built on real value not money and greed.

I hope to be able to give them back more value in knowledge and in money eventually.

Thanks for the mention @theleapingkoala!

As others have stated I will be sure to check out all the other posts mentioned here.

This is a wonderful idea - one that I may adopt too! A good way to help out the minnow community!

It is my pleasure! The more we help each other the more we grow and the better steemit become :)

I am glad you are thinking of doing something similar :)

WOW! Thank you so much @theleapingkoala :D

It is my pleasure!

Keep up the good work @lyxng :D

Thank you so very much for the nice review ! 😀
What a fantastic idea you have. I am going to see all of the posts. There are many tallented Steemians unnoticed and it is great what you are doing.

Thank you very much for the continuous support :D
Steemit needs more people like you for sure <3<3

This post has received a 0.52 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Congratulations @theleapingkoala! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you very much!! This is awesome...I'm going to check out out all the other posts as well...what a wonderful idea ...when all is settled I would like to try this too!!

It's awesome that you're taking the time to do this

Thanks for your sweet comment :)

Thank you for including @make-a-whale in your curation report, @theleapingkoala! I, too, believe that that project is in line with Steem’s core values and vision and was specifically created to help active and committed Steemians to recieve support and grow faster than they would otherwise.

Agree and glad that we are both part of it :)

thank for your reply. as i was on camp i missed. sorry for that. i am following you. your post is very encouraging. thanks again.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66266.06
ETH 3031.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67