MIDNIGHT SURPRISE (An Original Short Story)

in #story7 years ago

PicsArt_09-09-12.43.52.jpg

It was an ordinary night.

I finished my paper works at around 9 p.m. while I munched a box of pizza -- the most decent form of dinner that I can manage to get at this point in my life. I was determined to go to bed earlier than usual, so when my head hit my pillow, I fell asleep right away.

Maybe a couple of hours later, I woke up to the sound of muffled knocks on the glass window. Without looking at it, I knew it was my sister. She always does that whenever she sneaks out at night. She would climb the tree outside of our house and make her way to my window to get in.

I got up wearily and headed to the window. But instead of my sister, I was greeted by an unfamiliar stature. I stepped back as the figure slowly lifted its head.

As my eyes slowly adjusted to the faint light coming from the lamp post outside, I noticed that my guest was a woman. She has a dark, curly hair that covers most of her face – oh wait, no.

Good heavens, she doesn’t have a face.

PicsArt_09-09-12.45.11.jpg

I woke up screaming in terror.

I let out a sigh of relief when I realize that it was just a dream. Still eager to go back to sleep, I turned away from the window and closed my eyes.

As I was finally invaded by sleep, I was yet again aroused by a persistent muffled sound coming from my window. This time the knocks were accompanied by a woman’s voice calling out my name. By then I knew I wasn’t dreaming.

Still groggy from being deprived of sleep, I got up, mentally rehearsing a sermon that I will serve my sister over breakfast. My sister gave me an apologetic smile that somewhat looked sarcastic to me as I opened the window.

I headed back to bed while she was climbing in. Usually she would shut the window right away once she’s inside, but I was lying in my bed for more than five minutes now but I still couldn’t hear any movement in the room. Anxious to know what’s going on, I looked around the room for the first time since she arrived. A shiver ran through my spine when I remembered that I’m in my apartment --
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
.
and my room is on the 10th floor.

~o~

Hello! This will be it for today, I guess. Have a good one!
Love. Love. Love.

Sort:  

Hi @lyxng,

Now that is kinda horror story for me. My apartment is actually in a small house in the ground floor. Not sure that make me feel any safer. Hahahah

Thanks for sharing. You have a talent :)

thank you @theleapingkoala . just try not to look at the windows. hahaha!

Yup. LOL. I have curated your post Here. If you wish to take a look ;)

Congratulations @lyxng! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Omgggg this is so scaryyy. lol hahaha. But quite interesting. :)) the 10th floor twist on the last tho made me shiver hahaha

Hahahaha! Thank you! :)

noice! i needed that after seeing a meh movie in IT :) thank you so much

hahaha! Thank you so much for taking time to read it. :D Just a bit pressured with the comparison. hahahaha! CHEERS!

hahaha! maka uga.

Good read. Enjoyed it. :)

I'm glad you liked it. thanks!

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.22
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 65476.67
ETH 3385.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.18