Working Title (MSP curation)

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

pedestrians hold sway
passing bikes pay homage
with a ring-a-ting-ting
but keep safely to the left

there is no
rush hour mournings

Fernweh by @prydefoltz has this utopian vision that I adore almost as much as her subtle wordplay and clever structuring. This feels like a reality that is not just possible, but probable.

Where is this time
that I crave for so much,
does it hide in the shadows,
fooling me with pretty reflections
projected in my mind.

Searching by @trucklife-family explores the lack of time and the impact on the individual.

I saw the saps of blood oozing down that mossy bark staining the frock that covered her
I heard that MERCY cry of that centuries old giant
the knife going through her chest, plucking out her heart
In a place I should not have been but I was because I had to be there
because providence brought me there on a bright beautiful morning

The Willow's Wail by @nicholas83 impressed me with the masterful use of juxtaposition and imagery.

Like the voice trailing a girl's skin
With the echoes of her father's last prayer.
There are things that leave their footprints
In our hearts, through the openings on our skins
Where a boy once stood before a mirror
& saw the reflection of his soon-to-burn body

Of Things That Become Our Shadows by @riahdex makes use of repetition but avoids the sing-song feel of saying the exact same thing over and over. Instead, he reuses images so that they feel new each time- until ultimately, you understand how pain shapes a person.

8-track stack of sweat-soaked night-
mares thundering across mind plains
valleys, recesses, alcoves hold secret

Meditation by @shawnamawna explores the pained nooks and crannies of the brain, just as meditation does, and comes to the final realization that it still develops healing in the end. Absolutely, gorgeously done, @shawnamawna is a poet to watch out for.


mspgif.gif



Art and pull quotes are from their respective posts
Reflections are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

Wow. This was unexpected. Thanks so much @sunravelme, and to the other writers whose works were featured, congrats.

Some wonderful picks, sunravelme. I am honoured to be among them:)

Love your work! It certainly caught my eye, and I'm looking forward to seeing more from you!

Thank you:) I am flattered:)

thank you so much for including me amongst these great writers, I feel very honoured.

Great seeing this! A couple of poets I hadn't heard of before too. Thank you for doing this tirelessly, Kara :)

<3 Glad to see the poetry community grow here on steemit!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sunravelme☀ from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61519.90
ETH 2995.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.45