Steemit School Poetry 100 Day Challenge #42--The Willow’s WailsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)




At a place I should not have been but I was because I had to be
because fate brought me there on a bright beautiful sunny morning when
laden canoes docked
When the growling chainsaw ran through the heart of that great beast
I heard the willow’s wail
I heard the crackling screams as her gossamer-like head fell in defeat
Death gripped her person
Her fall shook the land where heavy tractors mowing through choked the air with tin-canned coughing nuzzles.
On that salubrious morn
I saw the great beast fall
I saw the saps of blood oozing down that mossy bark staining the frock that covered her
I heard that MERCY cry of that centuries old giant
the knife going through her chest, plucking out her heart
In a place I should not have been but I was because I had to be there
because providence brought me there on a bright beautiful morning
I heard the willow’s wail
I saw her fall
I heard the nightingales scampering, screaming, salvaging what they could
but nothing could be saved ‘cause all was lost
Hermit crabs shuffling sounded an ode to destruction
while frightened creatures fled and trampled each other in a stampede made by savage men as the refugees fled
Over and up, over and up, running for redemption
as they dodged the fall of the weeping willow tree
Arias composed by bullies bulldozing came with the whisper on the stroke of a pen
MOUs signed saw erected signs
NO SPACE ON THE BEACH
NO ENTRANCE YOU’LL FIND
with corals bleached and wetlands breached
and morasses drenched
saw all them locals squeezed from the land
In a time when I should not have been
but I was because I had to be
because chance brought me there
on a bright beautiful sizzling sunny summer morning
when that great willow wailed
as death kissed her muscular root
when the machines tore through her
branch by branch, limb by limb
and watched the sap slowly oozed through
to stain the robe of her fallen crest
I was there
I heard her mercy screech

Image1,Image2

A little about me and poetry

This poem is my submission to the School Poetry 100 Day Challenge hosted by @d-pend, whom I would like to thank for sponsoring this competition. He is indeed a godsend. Though a bit dubious, I would consider myself an intermediate writer of poetry. My first love is prose, so if you get a feel of something other than verse in my poetry that is why. I use poems to assist me when I have writer’s block. This strategy, however, seems to be morphing into something more serious. At least I think so.

Thanks for reading.

Poem by: @nicholas83

Date: 4/18/18

Join the Steemit school at: https://discord.gg/hyfYQ9P

Sort:  

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Wow this really touched me @nicholas83, so many people never hear the scream or wail of these mighty trees that sustain us here on earth, so many do not give them the respect they deserve. This is beautiful and so sad at the same time, a really great poem xx

Your poem reached my heart. The willow tears stain the floor in pain. Screams of terror when you see the chainsaw around

Too beautiful the ball of words that describe the precise moment when he witnessed the murder of a centennial tree. That agony, that procedural dismemberment, immerses us in the feeling of the tree and the witness. Very good job, Nicholas.

Interestingly I was thinking about the life of trees recently. They are alive, but can they feel pain? I think they do, and your poem makes it true. Good one man. Exploring your topics I see.

Actually, this one is from about 2011. Thanks for the feedback.

Interesting, you have poems from dem times. I can't find any of mine.

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

I like how you repeated that you were there but you shouldn't be a few times throughout the poem. It helped the effect of what was occurring to become more visceral.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56160.19
ETH 2367.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31