Working Title (Minnow Support Creative Writing Curation)

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

Happy Thanksgiving to those who celebrate today! I just celebrated my year anniversary of doing curation for MSP- kind of hard to believe we've been doing this for that long. We have lots to be grateful for this year, so be sure to send a little gratitude to some of these great writers!

IMG_20181110_155116837.jpg

Cold shelves lined walls,
where women were stacked.
Paint-flecked carved pain
engraved in family names.

An Oven Should Only Bake Bread by @raj808 wasn't originally on my list to be curated today, however, I have taught Night by Elie Wiesel for the last 7 years in my classroom, and his poem/photos/post hit me right in the sternum. I think it's so important that we can still go to these places, see that they exist, see the evidence with our own eyes. Many of the people who experienced this are getting older, and they won't be around to tell us their stories forever.

loves are lost and stars are gone
to the other side of the globe.

Old Times Were better by @marlyncabrera is such a strong piece- she has a real understanding of literary devices and how to use them to communicate a theme, plus I love her classic voice.

Her bone-thin hands snake their way up slow, clutching desperately in the darkness, looking for him when he's no longer there. His voice, gruff and sweet at the same time seizes her, makes her heart catch in her throat

Night Ride by @honeydue makes strong use of imagery and is such a beautifully worded piece.

No we’ll never be rich
Or famous
No one will know our names
We won’t make the papers
Or the history books
But I’ll love you just the same

What I Want Most by @calluna is based on her love of steemit- and I adore the feel goodness of it.

performance

I got a face full of smile, a head full of happy,
A belly full of laughter and a heart full of love.
Walked many miles, feet and soul flyin’,
Free to be me in a sea of full of hugs.

We are Family We are Free by @katrina-ariel is also based on her love of steemit, particularly her experiences at steemfest. She promised to make this one a song for us so I'm super excited about that.


mspgif.gif



Art and pullquotes are from their respective posts
Reflections are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

Thank you so much for seeing my poem and sharing it here. I’m honored to be included with these fantastic writers. 💞


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi @sunravelme!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.424 which ranks you at #2144 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 2143).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 213 contributions, your post is ranked at #28.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Ow thank you so much for including my story here. I'm honored! <3 Happy anniversary! :)

Happy anniversary Sun! And thank you for curating my poem and accompanying thoughts/photos about the visit to Auschwitz and Birkenau. It wasn't an easy read, I'm sure, and wasn't easy to write either. I actually tried to write more verses to that poem but they were not very good and I ended up deleting them. They were full of cliche and a little muddled in what I wanted to say. So in the end I just added two new lines and rearranged some elements of the first draft. Perhaps it was better this way, short and to the point. You actually picked out the two new lines in your snippet

Paint-flecked carved pain
engraved in family names.

Thanks again for your support and I hope all is well with you :-)

Thanks, @sunravelme for choosing my poem :) What you say about my writing is really nice. Much appreciated.

It is quite important that MSP offers support and motivation to writers on Steemit during these hard time Steem is going through.

@msp-curation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54274.36
ETH 2279.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33