Old Times Were Better. A poem

in #poem5 years ago (edited)


Girl playing with a doll by Henri-Pierre Danloux (1790) - Image in the Public Domain

Old Times Were Better

                                   Old times were always better,
                                   my grandmother used to say.
                                   I, a little child, did not really get it;
                                   old times are past, and I loved my dolls.
                                   I thought this,
                                   or a similar thought,
                                   with the words and indulgence
                                   of a four year old.
                                   By the moment I meet Past,
                                   —I think to myself—,
                                   loves are lost and stars are gone
                                   to the other side of the globe.
                                   But longing hearts and youths
                                   look lonesome within picture frames
                                   now that present begins to wrinkle,
                                   rendering memories askew.
                                   And the awry truth of present day
                                   twists my brains and my will.
                                   And I remember, I remember
                                   how I played with my dolls.
                                   Apprehension was a ghost
                                   haunting perennial conversations.
                                   While my dolls chose their drama
                                   to be done by the minute.
                                   Oh, how I amused myself
                                   among elastic characters
                                   among elated souls
                                   of elaborated fictions.
                                   Past has come running to find me,
                                   and I sourly remember
                                   how I played with my dolls
                                   when times were all that better.


Thanks for reading.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://marlyncabrera.timeets.com/2018/11/20/old-times-were-better-a-poem/


Soy compañera de viaje en


Logo diseñado por @octocel

Y miembro de @talentclub.


Imagen diseñada por @wilins

En @EquipoCardumen te invitamos a seguir de cerca el trabajo de @talentclub, @helpie, @reveur y @bebeth, comunidades que trabajan duro por llevar adelante la plataforma.

Visita @provenezuela y conoce más de su proyecto #ProConocimiento.

Haz click aquí para ingresar al servidor de #SteemitSchool en Discord, donde encontrarás la oportunidad de formarte como usuario exitoso en Steemit y de conocer gente maravillosa e interactuar en inglés, español y otras lenguas.

                        

Sort:  

Saludos.
No fue la mejor opción pero lo pasé por un traductor.
Bellos versos que de alguna forma me recuerdan a mi infancia.

Los recuerdos de la niñez, aun cuando sean agradables, siempre nos dejan nostalgia.

Gracias por pasar por aquí, @sandracabrera :)

It is always enjoyable to read your poems, @marylncabrera. Thank you for having posted your "Old Times Were Better".

The action figures that I used to play with, when a child, were Star Wars, Transformers, and Space LEGO. When my friends and I became older, we did re-arrange the parts of G.I. Joe action figures, and use model paint to turn them into Marvel and DC superheroes.

Then we would take them on missions that included putting them on rafts to watch them float in the ravine; if they made it all the way to the end, we would watch them sail away.

You're too kind, @lanniebrockstein

What you describe, I guess, is typical of boys. The kind of relationsip between you guys and your action figures, for example, is quite different than the one we girls have with our dolls; I can't picture myself and myfriends getting together to dress up our oldfashioned dolls and get them in a lizard-drawn or cat-drawn carriage to see them go off to some royal ball. I guess we would try to control them as we roleplay (we would certainly attend the ball, our puppetish firends in our bossy hands). Usually, I guess, fathers want to see their boys manage by themselves, while mothers want company; something similar happens between men/women and their “dolls.”

(I miss your sonnets.)

Dear @marlyncabrera,

Thank you, *Smiles. I hope to make more friendships at Steemit, and to join more communities, before posting anymore of my sonnets that are songs, and which also include the literary videos that I made for them, because I do not want for them to become buried in the blockchain, as my “Trembling Streams” and “Shipwreck’d Desires” sonnets/songs/literary videos were.

From Lannie.

I understand. I remember having read somewhere that Steemit was all about "relations, relations, relations." It is a shame to feel you waste your effort because of a failure in the strategy; definitely, you must save the best for last (or until it is time).

Have you considered joining a community?


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you very much for the support and motivation, @c-squared ☻ ♥

This post has been selected for curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Oh, that is really, really nice. Thank you for your consideration and support, @sunravelme and @minnowsupport beautiful people ☻♥

Much appreciated, @msp-curation! ☻♥

Hi! We are @steem-ua. We upvoted you! Why? Because we noticed that you published some pretty cool posts, such as this one!
We like to support you, to help you grow on Steem. Would you like to know more about how things work on Steem(it)? Then feel free to join our steem-ua Discord Server.
Once you have joined our steem-ua Discord Server, please talk to people you see in there that have the UA Scout role. Tell them you have just joined, and like some help on how to make it big on Steemit. And they will help you!
Good luck!
Kind regards, @steem-ua
PS: Discord is a Chat Server Program, you can sign up there for free, and meet and talk to a lot of people on Steemit!

Thank you for the support and motivation, @steem-ua

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99