Working Title (MSP Creative Writing Curation)

in #curation6 years ago (edited)

IMG_6447.JPG

kiwihug-265638-unsplash.jpg

I loved you, but in the way a tortured man loves fire, in the way you love the ax swinging down upon your throat. The only thing is, the ax went and left me here all alone, somehow still alive. And I'm not happier for it, not one bit.

Liz by @honeydue is such a gorgeous piece of freewriting. The masterful use of simile and metaphor, the abrupt swing in tone towards the end- the tension kept me reading through the entire piece.

women-214792_960_720.jpg

"I understand your point of view, sir, what happens is that you have paid many prostitutes that others have got for free."
"I pay for my pleasure, I do not care what others enjoy."

The Death Lawyer by @seifiro is, when taken at face value, shocking. However, if you look past the language at the extended metaphor of it all, the commentary on death and aging is fascinating, complex. Definitely not safe for work, or for those with closed minds.

entrepreneur-3404056__480.jpg

I just want to eat lemon cakes
I like the crisp deliciousness
I like the yellow comfort
I crave the altered sugar.

Untitled 12 by @acousticsteveo makes me feel things that I can't quite explain. It might be the use of juxtaposition, or the incongruous mixing of nouns of verbs- but it's a fantastic piece.

TEMPLES MADE WITH HANDS - a 5-minute Freewrite by A.E. Jackson

"I stand before you confused. The way was clear. The plan decided. Now, all is ruin."

Temples Made With Hands by @aejackson is an unusual freewrite- it feels like a preview of a larger piece, and I am ready for more. I appreciate their use of words that are carefully curated throughout the piece for their effect, and the tension between the unknown choices.

IMG_20170528_134651.jpg

For each kill Persephone forced Sebastian to make, she was at least 80% certain the victim had been a demon. She didn’t bother sharing any confidence intervals with Sebastian, of course. He just assumed she could recognize her own. More importantly, he assumed Persephone would bring him to a quick end if he didn’t do her bidding. She did nothing to alleviate his anxiety on the matter.

Asleep in Nara by @michaias is at turns amusing (love the bemused analysis of Supernatural fan culture) and fascinating (a demon named Persephone? Yes please). Part One is a great place to start.


mspgif.gif



Art and pull-quotes are from their respective posts
Reflections are property of Sunravelme

Sort:  

I haven't seen this series before, so it's good to see it. I also invite you to check out my multi-curie series that I serialize six days a week.
Regardless, it's great to see authors being highlighted.

A great selection of well written poetry. Love your reflection and analysis.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Honored and humbled to be highlighted @sunravelme - grateful - thank you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Keep writing great pieces!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Honored and humbled to be highlighted @sunravelme - grateful - thank you!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Holy cow! Thank you for featuring my story and for taking the time to carefully select passages to quote out of each piece you featured.

I'm honored to be listed here and glad you're finding the story engaging. And thank you for pointing people all the way back to Part 1, even!

A really good story must be started at the beginning ;)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Hi @sunravelme!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.420 which ranks you at #2153 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 11 places in the last three days (old rank 2142).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 235 contributions, your post is ranked at #175.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62205.55
ETH 2397.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50