Sept 27 - Steemit Ramble - Notes on My Favourite Reads

in #curation8 years ago

Well, it’s day 22 of my 30 day challenge and yesterday I reached 200 followers by the time I post this I should be passing 700 posts. It was just a couple of weeks ago I passed the 100 follower mark. Steemstats.com shows my reputation as 58 while Steemit still has it at 57. I’m guessing I’m pretty close to 58 as I was 57.9 on Steemstats yesterday. Steady progress. I’m building a base here on Steemit.

I started from nothing, stumbled around and then started to build. I’ll keep building because I believe Steemit is around for a long time to come and I want to be part of it.

When I first started on here I saw a fairly narrow range of posts. Now I’m seeing a much wider range and I think it will just keep growing.

I caught most of Ned’s talk on the radio over the weekend. Heard him talk about a Russian version of Steemit preparing to get underway. That is great. Hopefully other languages will follow. That will give people who struggle with English a way to express themselves in their mother tongue. It will also create opportunity for those who are bi or multilingual.

Onward to today’s rambling

Those who use reason and do not mystify s**t which is in it.

@darkminded153 writes an interesting piece about thinking, reason and the contrast between thinkers who engage in reason and those who simply don’t think anything through, they just join the hive and whatever dominant reasoning becomes their own. No pun intended, but reading worth thinking about.

Homemade cat food recipe

@tanata writes one of the best cat food recipes I’ve seen. Like our own food, cat food contains many fillers and preservatives that are not good for them or us. Being able to take the time to prepare good quality food is good for everyone.

SteemQ - A Decentralized Video Platform for STEEM

@furion posts about a project that is in development to create the YouTube of the blockchain with a similar income stream as Steemit. Although, the income any video on SteemQ makes wont be shown to the casual user for a variety of reasons that is detailed in the post.

I’m not big on videos but I know a lot of people are, so this is a great addition to the blockchain for those who have the talent for producing and promoting videos. The day needs to come that I start working on learning how, but for now, I’ll stick to writing.

The Life of a Minnow - Why You Should Care - Part One

Interesting post by @whatsup on his perspective of being a minnow on Steemit and how those experiences can and would impact the user experience of people just trying out the site. I could relate to a lot of what he posted and, especially non-techie people would likely find that their experience.

Sympathy for Number 13: the Rise and Fall of the Devil’s Dozen

@donkeypong writes a very comprehensive piece about the number 13 and the unlucky mystic it has held over the centuries.

Letting Go

We all have that time when we need to let go. It could be of a person, a job, a situation, an issue… things that are holding us back in life and we need to let go, put them in the past and move on. It can be heartwrenching but necessary.

@annaguzc writes a brutally honest piece about her quest to let go of a bad relationship. She had to grieve the lost of the good points and embrace the departure of the bad points. Situations we can all relate to.

The importance of knowing why you are on Steemit

We get out of anything pretty much what we put into it. This is true of Steemit, but to know what we could get out of Steemit, we first need to know why we’re here. @dmitriybtc writes a good piece looking at the various reasons to be on Steemit. Good reading.

SteemValue Update - Displays all currencies at once, and faster load times

Great post letting us know about an update to the tool SteemValue. Great site easy to use to find out the value of various currencies. I’ve requested the addition of Canadian dollars… I’m a bit biased that way :)

Project Positivity - Challenge #1

Well, I wrote about the start of this project yesterday and already they have posted their first challenge. There is a list of whales who have come onboard to take part supporting the project. Great stuff. I am mulling over a possible post to take part. Will need to give it some thought. It will mean showing more of myself than I normally do. How about you? You taking part?

STEEMIT SLANG: Your Guide To Understanding WTF Is Going On In Steemit

Everything develops it’s own slang and terminology. It’s not always easy to catch onto and understand. @stellabelle writes an excellent glossary of what is used on Steemit and if she’s missed anything. She invites you to add it in the comments. So don’t forget to read the comments.

Wrap-up for Day 22

Another day with a great variety of posts to read. I love variety. I get bored if there is too much of the same thing even if some topics interest me more than others. I planned on having all day to write tomorrow but got a last minute call to cover the bar. So, guess where I’ll be tomorrow? LOL

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

This is a great list @shadowspub. I got to most of them, but there are a few that I've missed. :)
8 more days of this! What's on board for the 30 days after that? :)
Congratulations on your milestones too. It's proof positive that being consistent works!

thank you @merej99. I have enjoyed doing the Rambles and since it seems there will always been posts that could use support, I will likely continue doing them. My busiest time of the year is rapidly approaching so I may miss a few days but I'll try to keep on track. I also will be planning some posts on other topics as well.

I've got NaNoWriMo coming up in November and prep through October for it so I've really got to figure out my schedule for everything I've got to/want to do. My problem is always taking on too much, killing myself in the process, and then complete burnout for a month. I'm trying to prevent that.

I hear you on that .. long days.. short nights and little downtime .. be gentle to yourself on occasion

Nice, thanks for the mention. I also enjoyed several of the posts you mentioned.

Nice I enjoyed this read and congrats on the followers truly! I made a steem account then kind of walked away from it but things are really starting to turn around for me. I got 100 followers in 5 days. Check out my guidelines on how to get followers I will be posting more ways how to expand your audience!

that's nice work getting 100 followers in five days.. well done. Glad to see you are getting back to working on the site. I'll check out your profile now that I've followed you.

Nice I shall follow you back!

Keep up the fantastic work:)

Thank you @thecryptofiend .. you are very kind.

Maybe you will read my post too and think about something nice for your followers! Thank you!

I'll have a look :)

I encourage everyone to take part, even you! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66053.97
ETH 3448.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67