Sept. 13 -- Steemit Ramble -- Notes on My Favourite Reads

in #curation8 years ago (edited)

Changing Up the Title

You may have noticed, I’ve changed the title up a bit. Since I’m into my second week of my challenge putting the day of the week doesn’t strike me as something that helps to distinguish this edition from the one a week ago. The date does, so that is now at the beginning of the title instead of the end of it. 

Day 12 of My 30-day Challenge. 

I’ve challenged myself to share notes on my favourite reads on Steemit each day for 30 days. Since I’m enjoying doing them, I would not be surprised if I continue after 30 days but for now, 30 is the target. 

I’m starting off with 30 posts open this morning. Was up in good time and got some of my other duties done so I’ll have some reading time before I go on duty at the branch. 


How To Overcome Your Laziness 

Ever watch water running down a new pathway? It always takes the path of least resistance. We have that tendency too, but we often refer to it as laziness. @sirwinchester writes an excellent post on how to overcome our laziness and get on with what we need to do. 


Pi - The most mysterious number in the world

For me, math is a tool I need to use on occasion to handle the basics of living. Particularly the handling of money and my financial status. It doesn’t usually hold much interest for me, but I have to admit @krishtopa has written an interesting piece about the challenge over the years of trying to identify the number of decimal places that pi can extent to without a repeating pattern. 


The lies we tell ourselves - hindsight bias

@bitcalm has written a great article on our hindsight bias. The tendency to predict future actions based on biased past action. There has been countless times in my leadership role that I’ve heard ideas put forward by members of things to try and heard the proposer told very firmly. “Already done it. Doesn’t work”

I’ve learned to question the person closely as to what was done, when, how and what support was the idea given before considering how much weight to put into the pronouncement. Most of the time, once the questions are asked, it’s pretty clear that the previous attempt lacked the effort needed, yet, would have become the model for future choices. 

@bitcalm has a series of posts about the lies we tell ourselves. They would be worth the read as well. 


Stop Saying Your Gonna Do it Get Off Your Ass and Do it Now!

@hilarski calls it like it is in no uncertain terms. He voices his frustration with those who come onto Steemit and expect to make a killing right away. It takes work to build a business and that is what you’re doing when you are writing content for money. I’m happy that I have the incentive to write every day and that my followers are building steadily. I love the graphic at the top… right on. 


The Red Wolf Lives On!

@herpetologyguy writes a good post about the struggle to keep the red wolf population from going extinct in the wild. Losing wildlife upsets the balance of nature, efforts must be made to keep them going. 


Finding a balance between being out and accepting other people's uncomfortableness with being gay

@timcliff writes about his journey to try to find balance between being true to who he is an understanding those who are uncomfortable with a person being gay. It’s not an easy path to walk.


A Trip Inside A Communist Anti-Nuclear Shelter

@thebluepanda writes about a visit to an Albanian communist anti-nuclear shelter. Some excellent photos of the inside and what it was like during that era. 


I've Reached Another Steemit Milestone! - Is It Possible To Boost Your Conversion Rates On Steemit? - The Power Of Words! [A Freelancers Thoughts]

@hitmeasap writes a good piece about his progress on Steemit which serves as a bit of a guide for others. This isn’t about getting progress overnight, it is about building and sticking to it until you gain momentum. 


How to Cultivate a New Habit

@burnin writes a post about how to form a new habit. We usually have two choices in life, we let habits form and become slave to them for better or for worse or we form the habits we want and then let them run us. Our choice. 


How To Access the Darknet - The Easiest Way to Start Surfing The Hidden Underground Internet Safely and Anonymously

Even with the vastness of the web, there remains information that needs to find itself deep underground. Some of it is nefarious activity that will happen where every people gather. Some is just simply people wanting to freely communicate and being restricted by their governments. @contentjunkie writes about how to access the darknet where much of this resides. Interesting reading. 

Wrap-up of Day 11 

I need to stop thinking I’m not going to have a busy day. Everytime I think that, it gets busy. My internet connection seems to be cutting out a lot the last couple of days which makes it hard to get as much done as I’d like. 

All a person can do is keep on trucking and get done what can be done. Don’t sweat the small stuff. At least not until tomorrow :) 

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on 

If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post. 

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile 

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, just my mailing list here

Sort:  

Thanks for mentioning my post about Pi number. I'm super glad you enjoyed reading it

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66618.20
ETH 3498.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63