Monday Ramble Through Steem -- Notes on My Favourite Reads Sept 12th

in #curation8 years ago


It’s Monday, start of a new week and day 10 of my 30-day challenge here on Steemit.

I have some non-Steemit things to accomplish this morning. The branch’s newsletter needs updating and out to the media before noon, I need to update our website and do security checks on my sites. I have a post rattling around in my head for one of my other sites. Oh and some data to send in for a grant application we have in play. 

In between it all, I’ll be rambling around Steemit. I have 25 posts open right now for reading. 

Wow, it’s mid-afternoon and I’m only just getting back to reading. Crazy day but a lot done. Sitting behind the bar at the branch right now hearing the latest gossip going on out at the table. 

Onward to my reading

Believe in yourself and step out of the worry hole (featuring @alwayzgame as author)

@richman has featured the writing of @alwayzgame in this post. @alwayzgame lays out why it is so important that we learn to have trust in ourself and not be influence by what others may or may not think. You live with yourself, not others. 


Flash Fiction Noir: The Pinnochio Protocol

@markrmorrisjr has written some darkly funny flash-fiction here. I enjoyed it. I hope you will. Loved the ending. No, I’m not telling. Go read it and upvote him :) 


Picking Through Your Thoughts

@doitvoluntarily writes about how our thoughts so often drives our outcomes. If we are negative about the outcome of a project, there is a very strong chance the outcome will not be nearly as good as it would have been with a more positive, hopeful outcome. 

We have a fellow at the branch, he’s a great worker, but seems to live in constant fear of an event failing. Because he fears failure, he would set us up for failure if we didn’t shift him away from a lot of the decision making. 

We recently had an event. It’s an annual BBQ, held the same weekend as a big music jamboree in town. This year was a bit different in that there wasn’t food being served down at the jamboree so we stood to gain attendance on our BBQ.

This fellow couldn’t bring himself to believe in that possibility and managed to hold back the food quantities until I gave instructions they were to be increased. He had a fit but had no choice but to comply. 

As it turned out, we blew past the numbers he had ordered and had a great turnout. Had we let him go with his thoughts, we would not have had the success we had. We would have run out of food and had to turn people away. Thoughts drove success and avoided other thoughts driving failure, all in the same event.  


The 9/11 rescue dogs

@wiser has prepared a wonderful tribute to the dogs who served at ground zero of 9/11. Dogs who are in service are a very special breed. They bring their intelligence, fortitude and unconditional service along and we often don’t fully appreciate them. 


Subcultures and Social Trends: The Modern Hobo and The Vagabond – When Technology and The Homeless Collide

@lpfaust has written a fascinating piece about hobos. While he talks about the often romanticized hobos of the Great Depression era, he’s mostly talking about the hobos of today. In the digital age, what else would you expect of a hobos than to be digitalized? Great reading. 


I Finally Came Clean About My Depression + Video

@pseudopoise has written about talking about depression. It’s difficult to reveal to anyone about depression, unless you really know them and how accepting they are. When it comes to mental health, the misconceptions and myths outweigh the reality. 

As I sat reading today I could hear in the background the chatter going on about one of our members currently hospitalized for some serious mental and physical issues. I so wanted to round the bar and ream one particular guy out who kept saying he’d gone ‘wacko’. It’s those attitudes that drive people suffering from conditions, like depression, into silence. 

Good on you @pseudopoise for speaking out. Hang in there, life can get better. 

Day 10 Wrap-up

Well, it’s getting late, so this is going to be it for day 10. I can hardly keep my eyes open right now. I’m going to post this when I wake up tomorrow morning. I prefer to post today but I think I’d rather format when I can focus. 

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on 

If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post. 

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile 

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, just join my mailing list here


Sort:  

A good collection of posts and stories.

thank you.. yesterday was a shorter one than I usually do. Too much offline stuff to get done. Hate it when my reading gets interrupted :)

Thanks for the mention on the latest installment of my Subcultures and Social Trends series. It's a bit of a niche category that requires a bit of work. Thanks for the recognition, it definitely keeps the motivation going. I'm targeting either Thursday or Friday for the next installment in the series.

thank you for the work you do on it.

Thanks for the mention :)

my pleasure @wiser it was an interesting post and timely

Thanks for mentioning my post!

my pleasure, thank you for your work :)

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64188.14
ETH 2766.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66