I Finally Came Clean About My Depression + Video

in #life8 years ago (edited)

Yesterday was World Suicide Prevention Day, and I decided to be honest with everyone about my mental illness. I had opened up about my depression on Steemit last week but finally decided to come clean to all of my friends and followers on Twitch, YouTube, Twitter, and Facebook. I had disappeared from social media and streaming for over a week, and I tried to explain the best I could why I was gone. I was extremely nervous about opening up about an illness that has such a stigma and a ton of misconceptions surrounding it, but I'm glad I did. I still feel like I didn't convey it properly, but I did my best.


After hiding my struggle with this illness for years, I feel as if a weight has been lifted from my shoulders. I've finally stopped hiding something that I deal with on a daily basis now. I know it may not seem like a big accomplishment, but I'm proud of myself because it took a lot of courage for me to post the video.

Being honest about this monster I'm fighting felt a lot like washing a wound. It was uncomfortable and painful at times, but I feel like I can finally take the time to heal instead of just ignoring it and pretending it doesn't exist. I was pleasantly surprised at the amount of understanding and support people showed, and I regret not doing this sooner.
Depression can be isolating because it's so difficult to talk about and understand. But if you're dealing with it, please don't stay quiet. Just talking about it can help. Don't go through this alone.

Sort:  

How bout you work on a post (or just keep it private, but write it down) stating some of your short term goals and perhaps if you don't have any you can think of - spend some time and jot them down. Give your mind something to look forward to and work toward.

The focus may help quiet the white noise voices in your head.
Indeed take your time, you are a strong woman. :)

Hope you come out of the worst soon. You seem to be dealing with it in a positive way. I understand where you are...I'm in a similar place. Stay strong and keep fighting. x

Get Back on Track
Stay Busy
But Stay Rested too

I'm definitely working on it. I'm feeling a lot better today and actually got up at a reasonable hour and got a few things done. I'm hoping I continue to feel better. I'm ready to get back to my old self.

Balanced Diet
Adequate Hydration
Sublingual Vit.You B12
You My Need Iron
Coffee, Tea, Coke-Cola, Pepsi And Even Green Tea all Bind To Iron
Sounds Like You Are Physically Exhausted
Eat Greens, Spinach, And Iron Rich Foods

It takes a lot of courage to speak up. I also deal with depression and anxiety on a daily basis. Good for you!

Thanks! Yeah I was nervous about what people would say but so far people have been supportive.
Good luck to you, though. <3 Feel better soon.

It's a good thing you've decided to share it. Get better and hope you'll find the support you need here from some Steemians who are able to help.

If you don't mind I would like to include your video in my TOP5 Lucky Find Psychology posts for today so that more people see it and maybe it'll find somebody who needs to hear it all, or maybe somebody will see it who could help you.

We Steemians Are Still here!
Take Care

I hope this finds you feeling better. I know this is a difficult thing to overcome. Do yourself a favor and find a naturopathic doctor to check for certain nutritional deficiencies that parrot the symptoms of clinical depression. Wishing for your continued strength.

normally I would say some stuff people would say is rude, but that sux. please get some help from a profeshional. it is the best thing you could do. hope you get happy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64097.37
ETH 3476.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53