Mar 13 -- Steemit Ramble #80 -- Don't You Hate Missing Good Posts?

in #curation7 years ago

So, some of the whales have an ‘experiment’ running. They are choosing not to vote and are doing counter votes (downvotes) on the whales who do vote. While it is going on, don’t let it stop you from writing.

A whale vote has the impact of concentrating a part of the reward pool in one vote rather than it being shared around. Right now, from a dollar viewpoint, the reward pool each day is small due to the price of STEEM. If you are on the Steemspeak discord you can get the amount of the reward pool at any time by entering “$rewardpool”. Just as I started writing this post, here is where it stands:

Total Reward Fund: 67,546 STEEM (Worth: $4,900 internally; $5,313 on Poloniex)

So, if you’re here because you think you are going to make a lot of money. I suggest you either change the goal or find another way to make money. The lack of whale votes means that the smaller users are having influence and the reward fund is being spread out further.

For the most part, that wont mean much dollarwise but it sure will matter on the STEEM side of the fund. And more STEEM now, means a stronger position and influence on voting later. So, shoot for getting all the STEEM you can and powering it up. That is the goal that is going to benefit you on Steemit now and in the future.

Onward to today’s rambling

Update on Simplicity: Cutting Complexity with Steem 0.17.0

Well, after talking about the voting and the reward pool, seems to be about right to share the first post about the upcoming changes in the next hardfork. @steemitblog is put out by Steemit Inc. so, the post is fact, not speculation. The one thing it doesn’t give us is a release date.

THE BENEFITS OF COFFEE -- THAT'S RIGHT JAVA…

@macksby writes about all the best of coffee.. Well at least the benefits of drinking coffee. Oh, he did mention the downsides but I sort of ignored them, to me there is no downside and I don’t drink 80 cups a day, nor 40, nor 20. Some days I may make it to 10.

100 Word Story Contest. Week One. Open to all Steemians. 20 Steem and 700 Trail to be Won Every Week!

A new short story contest from the Steemtrail people, specifically, the writing-trail. Sharpen your prose and jump in. There will be a new competition every week.

Road to Hardfork: One is Greater than Zero

@ogochukwu writes a post on the same theme as I wrote above. If you are here for the money, you are going to get discouraged and leave. If you are here to build and take part in where STEEM and Steemit is heading, stick around, we’re in for a hell of a ride.

UPDATE:

Well, it is March 16th and I’m still working on this Ramble. Been crazy busy. Tuesday, as you likely know, @dantheman left Steemit Inc. He was the Chief Technology Officer. That position has now been filled by @sneak and life will continue on. I have a lot of regard for Dan’s abilities and will be most curious to see what he does next. There will be a next, just a question of what and when.

Being a Steem Stakeholder: Top Tips from an Ex-Director of a Fortune 500 Company

@riskdebonair shares some of his background and how his experiences relate to the community here on Steemit. An interesting read. If you’re not following @riskdebonair, you may want to. He’s an interesting member.

Community Service Announcement: You Control Steem. Vote for Witnesses.

@lukestokes reminds us that we all have 30 votes we can apply to the witnesses. If we don’t use them, then others will decide who functions as witnesses on the platform.

Don't Let Waiting Cripple You

How many times in your life have you wanted to do something or attain something and you decided to wait for conditions to be right? How many times have you actually ended up doing what you wanted after you waited? Did that work for you? @ogochukwu writes on how waiting can be crippling.

Wrap-up on Day #80

Well, I’m wrapping this one up and getting started on one for the 16th. I really find the amount of complaining getting out of hand on the platform. And yeah, that is me complaining about complaining people. :) If you’re not happy with what is happening, take a break or find some where else to set down roots.

The site is in beta, it’s still in development. Yes, I know there are many who believe it should be out of beta but it’s not, get over it. It’s one thing to express ideas about what you think is good for the platform or to express concerns about the direction of the platform and to harp on about it.

If we want to attract other people to this site, they need to see more than a group of squabbling people. We need each other and whatever positive contributions to make the platform strong and to help it grow.

Maybe instead of writing yet another complaining post, head off to a non-STEEM or Steemit topic and write a contribution of content. I’m looking for more of it myself.

OH, and so you know, here is todays reward pool:

Total Reward Fund: 117,269 STEEM (Worth: $9,147 internally; $8,822 on Poloniex)

Let’s go earn some STEEM.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting.

Please Join the Curation Trail

If you’d like to support the posts I find and upvote while searching for the Ramble shares, please join my Curation Trail on Streemian

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.

If you’d like to join my curation trail on Streemian, please click here

Mine STEEM on Eobot Click Here


Sort:  

Thanks, as always, for your excellent suggestions... I'm always happy to see another ramble come across my feed; know there will be some good reading there.

I'm kind of done with all the complaining, too... too much of a subtext of entitlement for my liking-- I don't see reddit or Medium giving people rewards of any kind, so rest up on the whining, folks. Ironically, I finally persuaded my wife (an accomplished blogger and writer, like we need more of) to join Steemit... just hours before Dan left. Somehow, we both managed to find a good chuckle in that!

Anyway, off to look at your gold nuggets for today!

thank you @denmarkguy and a hearty welcome to your wife joining in. Will be looking forward to see what she shares with us.

There will always be complainers but, it has been a bit heavy.. maybe we can just get on with posting and voting on good stuff and let them talk to themselves?

I'm hopeful that since "misery loves company," if they end up with less and less company they might just shut up... or go elsewhere!

wow... you caffeine fiend :)

Thank you so much for the acknowledgement you have given this new initiative! It is very much appreciated. Engagement and content which generates social interaction! Exactly as you do. Much appreciated.

I do what I can and will try to give support to others who are trying to grow the platform organically

... and the community is a much better place for the support which you give!

Here > Here. Steemit is changing. What an attraction that will be with high minded posts like yours. Up up and away.
Ready to Launch.gif

Why thank you for your very kind words @pitterpatter.

Two of my post made the ramble, thanks @shadowspub for repositioning good content to be read.

I do enjoy many of your posts @ogochukwu

I always try hard to provide quality content, I plan to start my personal blog soon, so I want to set a high standard for myself.

always a good idea to set high standards for our personal work, as long as it doesn't hold us back from actually moving forward.

This post has been ranked within the top 50 most undervalued posts in the second half of Mar 16. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $3.32 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Mar 16 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56002.99
ETH 2458.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28