Jan 17 -- Steemit Ramble #58 -- Don't You Hate Missing Good Posts?

in #curation8 years ago (edited)

What an odd winter so far. Right now, there is practically zero snow on the ground, mid-January, and we’ve had a lot of rain. The upside is that we’re getting precipitation and that should help the water table some. The downside is there is no snow cover to insulate the spring seed that has been planted.

I closed the branch today and rescheduled our monthly meetings due to freezing rain and the resulting icy conditions. It’s changing over to rain, the temp has moved up a bit and most of the ice will likely wash away, but better safe than sorry. We really don’t need someone, especially a senior, to fall and hurt themselves on branch property.

Onward to today’s rambling

Update: Friends, Adventure, New Paths, 500th Follower, 500 SP and 500 TRAIL in Gratitude

@anotherjoe writes a well constructed post about his time here on Steemit. He’s done some great stuff on the site, especially helping out with SteemTrails. I was really impressed with his really well written tribute to another understated member of the community, instructor2121 and all the work he’s done on SteemTrails.

How an artist created a whole lot of trouble for being citizen minded

@arthuradamson writes his story about how his community campaign to rescue trolleys (shopping carts) led to a major community initiative that he will never get credit for because he apparently ticked off a bunch of people without even trying. A great story and well worth the read.

Ultimate Guitar Works Winnipeg, meet the owner Brian Tataryn rare and unique musical gear

A great post about a unique store in Winnipeg, Manitoba or this time of year, better known as Winterpeg. @sokal warms up the area a bit with his great story about the store and its owner.

Building a Life of Your Own Design

@ericvancewalton writes about he and his wife’s transition from more ‘stuff’ to less ‘stuff’ in their lives and the freeing aspects of not being bogged down with belongings that are often rarely noticed, used or appreciated. As I look around my own home, there is lots that I could part company with and likely not truly miss.

The Roadmap Has Arrived!!

This morning the @steemitblog released the long awaited roadmap for Steem and Steemit.com

Steemit 2017 Roadmap

The roadmap is a 22 page PDF that lays out what is planned for the next year. We need to remember, that Steemit is a site that is not yet a year old.

There are many on the site who complain because it doesn’t have various features already available on sites like Facebook and Reddit. Well Facebook started in 2004 and Reddit in 2005. They have had over a decade to develop to where they are now.

Overall, I think the roadmap lays out an ambitious building of a great foundation to an even greater site and technology. If you read through the comments, you’ll see that for the most part, the reception has been positive. Here’s to STEEM’s great second year.

Steemit.com 2017 Official Road Map First Impressions.

While there is a lot in the roadmap to digest, the average user on Steemit probably wants to know what is coming that could affect them. That would be the changes to the site itself more than the technology underlying it. @codydeeds is quick off the mark with a down and dirty post focused on the user interface. A good read for those who don’t want to wade through the whole roadmap.

6 Categories For Different Lengths Of A Story And What You Should Use For Steemit

If you’re a fiction writer and wondered how to describe your stories by their length. This post has it very nicely covered.

against the wind ...there's bad, and then there's bad choices

It has been a while since I shared a fiction piece on the Ramble. I liked this one, just when it seemed life was going to suck forever, it took a few turns. Nice work @johnjgeddes

5 Things that Excite Me About the Steemit Roadmap

@donkeypong writes an excellent breakdown and outline of the five items he finds most intriguing from a users standpoint in the roadmap released today. I think STEEM and Steemit is going to have a great year.

Wrap-up on Day #58

So, the big news today was the release of the roadmap. I’m new to this crypto world and probably have a lot to learn but I really am enjoying watching this project develop. It motivates me to write, even if I only get dimes and nickles it is more that I get when I write on other site

Here’s to a great 2017 for us all.

Supporting and Upvoting

Let’s not forget folks. I’m sharing these posts not only because I like them. I’d really like to see them get support and upvoting. I know some of the posts have done okay by the time I post my ramble, but some really could use the support and upvoting.

Subscribing to My Posts

In addition to following me on Steemit, which I really appreciate. If you want to be sure to know about every post, you can subscribe at my other blog. I’ll send you an email when I post.

Until Tomorrow — Just Steem on



If you like this, please follow me and upvote the post.

If you’d like to see the other days I’ve posted, just visit my profile

If you’d like to be notified when I post next, join my mailing list here.


Sort:  

Hello @shadowspub,

Congratulations! Your post has been chosen by the communities of SteemTrail as one of our top picks today.

Also, as a selection for being a top pick today, you have been awarded a TRAIL token for your participation on our innovative platform...STEEM.
Please visit SteemTrail to get instructions on how to claim your TRAIL token today.

If you wish to learn more about receiving additional TRAIL tokens and SteemTrail, stop by and chat with us.

Happy TRAIL!

Thank you, much appreciated for the support

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 18. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $4.74 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 18 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Your series is great. Keep up the good work!

thank you for your kind words.

Thanks @shadowspub. This is a nice series. I agree with @donkeypong. Keep up the great work.
Yes, @instructor2121 is known by many, but few realize what great work he does. Thanks for your salute to him as well.

You did the salute.. I just drew some attention to it hopefully.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66593.69
ETH 3319.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71