Steemit.com 2017 Official Road Map First Impressions.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemit8 years ago

I want to start out with a major thank you to @dantheman, @ned, the steemit team, and the entire community for their work and efforts on this platform.

Got a chance to browse the road map for 2017 and am very excited. A lot of things are addressed and as they roll out will make a huge improvement to the network. For this post I will be sticking to the basic Steemit.com features on the way and keep it as less technical as possible as to translate for my non tech friends.

Steemit.com UI Changes

The above are all expected to be implemented by the end of 2017 which is awesome! It is impressive the speed at which technology evolves these days. Steemit is no exception to that and these changes will improve user adoption in all sectors.

Image hosting will be by far the most anticipated feature in the list and has been a major curve when helping people use steem. Though simple enough, uploading pictures and getting the direct link to copy and paste takes a certain level of knowledge and skill. We still have individuals getting their first computers and leaning how to use them, drag and drop photos will help those people publish their first posts without headache.

Comment moderation is a great addition though I have not ever needed it. Luckily my posts tend to be not as controversial and there has never been a need to moderate. As this site expands and more users join, I can see how that might be needed.

Community Namespaces excites me the most and am looking forward to how that plays out. It will be great to create and join different groups for different things and expand on each others abilities from within. This will be another nice aspect as steemit continues to grow and more unique users join. Not everyone is into everything and that is fine, this will give them the ability to create or join their own niche.

Mobile Apps are projected to be available Q4 towards the end of the year. I have been getting by using eSteem for notifications and the webpage for user interface so no rush for me. A killer app will help a great deal in new users and user activity. I appreciate them not rushing and taking the time to do it right, a bad app can tank a great concept (pokemon go).

I had planned on waiting to invest in mid February following the power downs and power myself up to dolphin status. With this new itinerary release and the increase in steem trading volume I might start dollar cost averaging now. The urge to panic buy is strong and hard to resist.

This will be an amazing year for all things blockchain and crypto related, steemit will be no exception to that.

Onward and upward, thanks for reading!

badge1badge2SteemVerifybadge3badge4

Sort:  

I 100 per cent agree with @codydeeds. This is an exciting development that shows the site is heading in the right direction. I'm really looking forward to the namespaces, as it'll make it far easier reach relevant audiences. And the image hosting will hopefully come with some simpler formatting tool.

Thank you for the comment! Last I checked a new formatting tool was live at https://test.steemit.com

Hmm, seems to be the same on on steemit.com. Didn't know the test site was there though. Thanks for the heads up.

not a problem, just found out myself about a week ago

With this new itinerary release and the increase in steem trading volume I might start dollar cost averaging now. The urge to panic buy is strong and hard to resist.

I started FOMOing like a week ago and I think I might've triggered the recent bull run.

I try to be as calm cool and collected as I can be when trading and luckily it is not amounts that effect me too much one way or another. Steem however has me feeling some type of way and I came in way after that major pump & dump. My logic says wait until mid Feb but my emotion says buy, buy, buy. The recent flag drama with ozchartart had me thinking negatively but the agenda release had the opposite effect. I do want dolphin status, that is a fact.

Oh the recent bull run has me thinking run up before sell off, but that is my logic side.

If you truly believe that you should sell your STEEM before the price dips. I will be willing to give you 15 cents per STEEM in bitcoins. Let me know.

Image hosting is usually an ever growing beast that never stops and becomes a major money pit for those that have attempted it in the past. Server space and bandwidth comes with a cost, I hope this doesn't get in the way of more important advancement everyone wants later this year ...


Hi @codydeeds, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads yesterday and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66914.48
ETH 3341.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72