The Daily Five for December 8th - You Pick the Nominees! Show me the New Steemians to Follow!

in #curation7 years ago

Alright guys, We are going to do things a little bit differently today.

I knew I would not have time to do this every day, and today really snuck up on me. It is the end of the work day and I haven't been able to look at anything in the Introduceyourself Tag at all. My son has a choir Recital this evening, and then we are running to the Predators Hockey Game against the Golden Knights, which features the return of James Neal to Nashville after being allowed to be selected in the expansion Draft, as well as the first time PK Subban will be playing against his brother. So this is all cool stuff. But it means I have no time!

So here's the deal! I want you guys to bring me today's best introduction posts! The comments are free reign, comment links to some great articles by new people for me! Tell us why you think their post deserves a look so we can decide if we want to go check them out or not. Either when I get home tonight, or sometime tomorrow, I will go through all the posts in comments and pick my favorite five to give a full upvote (About $2.00) for being nominated.

But What's in it for you?!

Well you would ask that wouldn't you?

All comments with worthy nominations will get a $1.00 upvote from me (value approximate based on my VP at the time, but will try to get it right around a buck). If you do a really good job convincing me to visit a new person's post, I may find myself visiting your blog with my upvote powers as well. So impress me!

So what to look For?

Here's the guidelines I follow every day. The closer you get to these guidelines, the closer you will get to getting big props from me...

  • Reputation between 25 - 35
  • Introduceyourself tag
  • Post is a legitimate introduction post, not tag spam.
  • The post does a good job of giving us information about this new person and why we might want to follow them. I do not have a minimum word count, but I don't go for the three line intro with a picture, unless there are multiple pictures and they are really well done and tell a story about the person.
  • Must be in English. It doesn't have to be the best English, I highlight a lot of people with English as a second language, it's fine. But I don't know any other languages, so I can't judge them properly.

I expect I will do this type of "contest" style Daily 5 once a week or so, so be on the look out for other opportunities. But I also won't have this delegation to boost my vote forever, so get in while the getting is good.

I will also follow nominees who I think could be great (I follow every person I put in the Daily 5), so if you have a friend who is in these parameters, or close to it and brilliant, nominate them so I can check them out. I might follow them and get them some good upvotes along the way. Maybe even a visit from Curie. ;-)

If you need some inspiration on what to look for, have a look at some of the earlier versions of the Daily Five for this week and see what type of people I have been finding:

I look forward to seeing what everyone comes up with! Now have at it!!!

Sort:  

Hi Mike! I started searching yesterday in the evening, but only today I have found a great nominee: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@nas-rudnits/journalist-poet-and-great-dreamer-eng-ua anyways, thanks to your inititative I've welcomed several newcomers, and I'm very glad about that. You're doing great job for all of us :)

Hi godo! Thanks for the suggestion. I had actually upvoted paradigmprospect's intro post before I started doing the daily five. He is on my follow list!

Hi @mikepm74 , that is good to know! I added you to my list of users who are doing internal vote based peer promotion here and I will give you a referral link in our next official contest list. Have a good weekend!

Hi @mikepm74, this is a good idea... so I have resteemed.

You got a 5.51% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @mikepm74!

This post has received a 11.74 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @mikepm74. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62255.52
ETH 2449.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63