Curie Author Showcase (November 29, 2018)steemCreated with Sketch.

in #curation5 years ago

  • In the spirit of Curie's mission to promote undiscovered but exceptional content, we wish to use this twice-weekly section to provide an author showcase for some of the outstanding authors who received Curie upvotes in past week. Curie curators and reviewers nominate authors for inclusion in this showcase and author approval is sought and attained.

  • For those new to Curie, please follow @curie, and join us on Discord: https://discord.gg/jQtWbfj

  • Follow @curie's votes to support the authors. Please consider following our trail and voting for curated authors. If you are a SteemAuto user, @curie is an available trail to follow.

  • Vote for the @curie witness to support Curie operations (all witness payouts are used to fund Curie operations).

  • If you would like to delegate to Curie you can do so by clicking on the following links:
    50 SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
    Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.


Curie Comment Contest is ongoing. Earn Steem by leaving good comments on posts upvoted by @curie. Find out how here.

Featured Author: @fotosdenada
Thanksgiving 2018 (Original Photography)


Images property of @fotosdenada

Let's begin with a post related to the most recent holiday in the calendar, yes Thanksgiving, @fotosdenada is an amazing photographer who captured the closeness and fraternal spirit of the said holiday, each shot has a unique meaning and a singular dynamic achieved but a great work of composition that invites us all to the dining table to join this amazing author and photographer, in short, the pictures are as good as the food!

Featured Author: @abrahmatan
Step by Step. Mermaid. Digital Art (NOV 2018)


Images property of @abrahmatan

Now allow yourself to be charmed by this beautiful illustration of a mermaid by @abrahmatan a Venezuelan illustrator that with the goal of making his work better practicing and drawing every day and, of course posting about it on the platform, but his words about the subject are the most passionate!

Images property of @abrahmatan

As an Illustrator I realized that I improved my drawing skills everytime that I afford an illustration project. The problem was that not all the time I found this kind of projects, so I decided to make a personal project illustrations where I can push myself to get and improve as an artist and these illustrations is going to be part of my personal portfolio. You know famous quote "if not pain not gain": I mean if you want to improve as an artist you must to draw everyday and keep working as much as you can. - @abrahmatan

And there you have it hard work pays off, the post is super detailed on the process, the author takes you by the hand giving you the instructions and showing how he did everything, plus his gif game is on point!

Featured Author: @iamevilradio
Adrian Rowe - Splinter [ORIGINAL TRACK] [TECHNO]


Images property of @iamevilradio

Next, we make the jump from visual to audio with a song made by @iamevilradio, a techno tune which catches the best of the hardstyle and the hardstep scenes, the catchy beat is followed by a drop in the bass that will make you move even involuntarily and the author himself will tell us why

It was kind of just an experiment in designing and layering kick sounds and making those mesh with a heavy bassline that is constantly moving in the track. I wish I could say there was some bigger message here, but I just like to imagine when I'm making a track how I could give a dancefloor really interesting moments. Maybe it's a groove to get lost in or maybe its something distorted and overwhelming. This track was a combination of those things. -@iamevilradio

There you have it folks, pure magic and if you want my honest opinion, run and ask him for an autograph before he gets famous and doesn't have time for us anymore, I'll be here enjoying my new earworm!

Featured Author: @raikuhen
Undead Burg - Dark Souls 1 inspired 3D scene [Blender]


Images property of @raikuhen

Now let's enter the video games realm with a little help of @raikuhen who was brave and talented enough to render for us a humane version of the Undead Burg from the game Dark Souls, using Blender as his weapon he made it his task to recreate that iconic stage, he struggled for a month (because this is Dark Souls after all) perfecting this scene but the final result can give any pro a run for his money.

All images on this gif are property of @raikuhen

I am kinda sad I couldn't work a little more on this though, mainly because my computer couldn't keep up with all those textures and polygons any more. Every time I pressed Render, my video card was almost running out of memory, making me reduce the quality of some textures and desperately trying to reduce the polygon count.

What else can we ask from this author, even with technical difficulties he managed to recreate this great scene, but not only that he transformed it, humanized and gave it a new face, you know, as a favor for all of us players and our traumas with the game.


Featured Author: @fivealive55
Low Clouds at Golden Hour in the Santa Cruz Mountains


Images property of @fivealive55

Finally, we take to the skies, @fivealive55 with the help of his DJI Mavic Pro drone makes us feel like eagles soaring between the clouds, each of the pictures presented in this post is breathtaking thanks to the amazing vistas, and landscapes that could very well come out from your favorite fantasy book, but the most important thing is the passion the author feels doing this.

All images on this gif are property of @fivealive55

Drone landscape photography has become my passion over the last year. I still love shooting from the ground but the drone opens up a brand new dimension which expands the possibilities of images by some sort of magnitude. You end up with so many angle and composition options that it becomes overwhelming very quickly. I feel like I am just scratching the surface of possibilities and I am very excited to continue exploring them.

And I, personally, can't wait to see more of these absolutely gorgeous pictures and see the world from above with the eyes of a bird, or a dragon, who doesn't like those!

This Curie Author Showcase was written by Curie Curator @elfranz (Franz) at times with input from other Curie curators and reviewers. All images and quoted texts are the copyright of their respective authors.

Sort:  

Great job, @elfranz ! I really do love the personal touches of yourself that you added in. It just wouldn't be you without some gifs and some of the other stuff. Great choices on the featured posts too.

Gifs are the life force of the internet, everybody should use them! I had so much fun making this showcase, it was easy with so many amazing posts, the hard part was selecting just 5 lol

Thanks for the opportunity!

It's excellent. In a few moments I join you. Greetings from Venezuela, team!

Gotta say thank you for the attention you've brought to my track @curie. Thank you for the work you do on here and helping to carve out a place for creation on this platform.

A huge thank you for all the attention, the support and for featuring me here! The feedback and the support on the scene I created was awesome and it motivated me so much to keep working. Thank you @elfranz !

You deserve it man, the work you did there was amazing! Next try to do Anor Londo so you can trigger my PTSD like Dark Souls should do lol

Thank you!

I'm gonna work on something a little more original now that will be finished fairly soon, and I'll see what else after that.

Anor Londo is something I want to make, maybe even New Londo, I'm gonna have to see. I'll also need some more experience, I want to make those scenes look a lot better than the one I already made.

I'll also make a lot more scenes from all kind of games, like the old camp from Gothic 1, maybe even try to remake some areas from Hitman Codename 47 and then, when i'll get really really good, I'll try to remake Kaer Morhen from The Witcher 3 as realistic as I can.

The better I guess, the more I'll make :)

Thanks again for all the support!

The @abrahmatan 's artwork is truly magical!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63517.53
ETH 3062.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81