MinnowBooster you ask?

in #curation6 years ago

Many of you know that there is an upvote tool (bot) that can help boost your payout on your posts called MinnowBooster. This can be helpful for minnows trying to gain exposure and be seen on the platform. I have used this tool in the past to do just that.

Recently I turned the tables. I wanted to help minnows boost their posts and see how a voting bot could help me if I sold my voting power to MinnowBooster.

Last Sunday (March 11), I signed up to sell my voting power to MinnowBooster and here are the results:

My SP was around 2300 + or -

I set up my vote selling to stop when my voting power reached 50%. This way, I would still be able to cast a vote for a few of the steemians I follow. Within 24 hours my voting power was at 50%. This wasn't a surprise as it is clearly evident that a lot of users make use of this service.

On Tuesday the 13th, I raised the threshold to 60% giving me a little more voting power while still being able to support the minnows making use of the service.

I continued at 60% until Friday the 16th when I raised the threshold to 70%. My reasoning for slowly stepping back up to a higher level of voting power for me was to ensure once I completed my trial of how this worked I would also have most of my voting power back for my followers.

So today is Sunday the 18th. After one week of vote selling here is what I have made based on my SP while reducing how much of my vote power was available for the bot:

IMG_2937.PNG

Now, this may not seem like a lot but one also must consider that my voting power was used to place upvotes for 157 posts that I otherwise would not have voted on. This results in an additional sum for curation. Now I haven't gone through and added up the results for this as of yet, but I think a reasonable guesstimate would be in the neighborhood of and additional 1-2 SD (I will go through and add it up to provide an accurate number in a follow up post), making my total for the week around 10 SD.

So, if you have a reasonable amount of SP can you make money selling your vote to MinnowBooster?

Absolutely.

Will you make as much as you would if you're writing your own posts every day and have a decent following of regular readers?

I think that depends on a lot of factors.

Overall I was satisfied with using the service in this way. As a matter of fact I have left my vote selling turned on at 80% so that when I am not as active minnows can be helped and I can make a few SD.

A lot of users have a number of issues regarding voting bots. I get this, and most of the reasoning I have read about on both sides (for and against) makes sense so you will have to decide for yourself if this is something you want to participate in.

If you think you might want to, here is a LINK . Good luck!








Sort:  

Just yesterday they were commenting on this minnowBooster but I want to find out a little more about this to see how I can use it to go forward a little bit even if I do not understand it very well it is good to know this method, greetings to you @brimax

Research is the best way to approach most things such as this. Be sure you fully understand how these work before moving forward.

Hello friend how are you, how is your wife, I have talked a lot about the bot but it does not catch my attention I was afraid to lose what little I earn, but of course they keep insisting that you do not lose if you know how to use, yesterday I decided and I started using minnowsupport and of course it's my first time, but now with your post you encourage me more to try this bot, thanks for the information my friend, I send you many greetings and your wife.

Being afraid to lose what you have is a good choice. Be patient and learn all you can before making any decisions you may come to regret.

Hello my friend @brimax how are you ?. Brother of truth that this information is very useful and informative, helps those who do not have much time on the platform to upload their publications and that are more viewed here. Besides that I like to read that you used all that power of votes to help your followers who are low in their publications, and I can certify that this is so because in all this time you have supported me in several publications and again I agradesco Personally, I have not used a bot in steemit, I have read a lot about them and I have seen several of the bots that exist here, but the problem is that I have not trusted much that I have seen, let me say have commented on a bot that is good and I think I will try to see. And well this comment in the post is very good and also serves a lot for those who want to grow on the platform and help their followers, I think I'll try to see how it goes. Thanks for this information really brother that personally is very useful for me because as I do not have a lot of time on the platform, I would like to upload a little more my publications and be a little more seen in steemit, thank you friend. regards

The main thing to remember is that most bots are set up to help the bot grow, not the user who purchases votes. I will say this, if I know I cannot be on steemit for a while I will certainly go ahead and sell my vote to help all minnows. As always Brother, thanks for stopping by my blog!

interesting read - will definitely check into this a bit more as time goes on...

For vote selling you will need at least 500 SP and even then bandwidth may become a problem.

so when's a good time to "go to market" Doesn't seem like it would buy me much to buy steem at the minute... never sure or should I just do it whenever I've steem dollars there??

I say anytime. Right now the price is less than 1 to 1 so you'll get more steem per SD.

Hello Friend how are you? how is your wife? I hope you are well, little by little I have been investigating on these boots just yesterday I found one where I help you with the votes in your publications I am interested in knowing this a little bit more, it is always good a little help to advance and get known in steemit

Just keep researching until you are comfortable with what to do!

That's right, I'm in that I've tried many bots, I'm investigating about the MinnowBosster thanks for the contribution friend

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67508.70
ETH 3753.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73