Stone Pile and Wishes of Common People

in #culture7 years ago

20170903

You can see very unique but not special structures in Korean mountain. These are piles of stones. Nobody knows from where these stone piles came and when these began. Only what I am remembering is my granma had put one stone on the pile of stones when she had visited the Buddhist Temple.

Time is changing. Religion in Korea was also changed a lot. Eventhough Korea was a Confucian country, Christianity have prevailed over korean society for 100 years since Door had been open to the religion from out side.

Some scholars had guessed that the purpose of the piling stones had defensive and security meaning.

In the past, I could had seen the piles of stones in the entrance of the village. I heard the reason why they had piled stones in the entrance of the village when I was a elementary school pupil. In peace time people had gathered the stone when they passed the entrance of the village. They said that piling stones were kind of combat readiness. When enemy invaded, people though the stones at the entrance.

This story reminded me of my childhood. There was a stone throwing combat periodically between villages. Boys took part in the stone combat. I remember adults didn't care about that fighting. The battle field and combat time was designated as custom. Boys put a metal pan or bawl on the head like a helmet. Accidents were happen from time to time. They bleeded and head was torn sometimes. May be that stone battle was a kind of combat training.

But the stone piling in the mountain is supposed to be quiet different from the combat readiness in the entrance of the village. The stone piling in the mountain seemed to express people's sincere hope and wish. There is religious meaning in stone piling.

Whenever I have visited the mountain, I find and l look around the stone piles with caution. There were so many stone piles in Gyeryong mountain than another mountain. The shapes were various than other mountain.

I guessed that there were much more wishes and hopes. Usually people put only one stone over the other stones.

You can estimate how many people have prayed for their wishes. People's wish is simple, healthy and kidd's success entering college. One thing we shouid remind is peoples's wishes are all connected.

As I wrote, people put stone on other stones what someone had already put on. It means that our wishes could be attained with relations of people. I heard so many times from my grandma that if you want to be treated well and receive fortune, you should do good things for others. When you did good behavior, then your children or grandchildren will receive the paybacks from the heaven. Strangely enough christianity and my granma's traditional religious teaching was all but similar.

Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

But in my place , as you visit the religious places, I can even see the stones piled up. I was eager for finding the reason for the piled up stones. An old man passed by at a moment and asked for the reason . He's answer was mindblowing

"The more you pile up the stone's ,the more you server the people. You can get a safe place in a heaven . You have built a home for the poor"


I was shocked. It seems like in every corner of the world , the piled up stone has some beliefs !


Thanks for sharing !

It is interesting korea and nepal have similar custom even though they are apart far away from each other.

On my country is a one beach, there are too piles of stones. About 3 m height. and they are so many. But I don`t know why they to that, the people where come to beach. Some religion.

Thanks for this fascinating post and wonderful photos. Stone piling is world wide it seems but I rather like the connotations of the practise.
Always interesting following you @slowwalker
Thank you

Thank you for reading

Stones have a lot of wisdom within them. They bring great medicine.
I am a stone balancer. I like working with stones and balance them one on top of another looking for the perfect balance points. If you'd like, I have so much to say about stone balancing and the amazing effect it has on the person who practice it.

I used to wonder why people put up the cairns everywhere. I understand better now and it warms my heart knowing that it is put up in memory of another.

I wander through Arlington Cemetery here in the Washington, DC area and see many stone piles on top of the gravestones.

Thank you for your comment
people' heart seem to similar

I always thought that cairns (piled stones) were a way to mark a trail. I went hiking/camping once in the mountains, at some point I got separated from my friends, each had a different pace of walking. I worried a bit, I felt lost at the top of that mountain. But, thankfully there were stone piles marking the path to follow. I followed them and I rejoined my friends later. Perhaps some cultures see them as a spiritual symbol. For me, I see them as a guide put by travelers for the travelers; they put me back on track 🙂

I live in Israel, In the desert the Beduians (Native tribes of the desert), used to mark their paths and trails in the mountains by piles of stones called Rujums (Arabic), from each Rujum you can see the next one, this way you travel from Rujum to Rujum. I also pile stones one on to of the other but in a very different way - It is called Stone Balancing, have you heard of it ?

It would be very useful in the mountain.
Thank you for your comment

wow maybe that's important. It is a relic of historic objects. means once had hudup ancestors there, thank's @slowwalker. a very good post about history I really like it

I am glad you like this post

I have silmilar memories with you when it comes to piling stones. But I didn't know there is the purpose of defense to use as a weapon. I have just known the meaning of "wish". Now I can make sense why Korean people in the old age pile stones in the entrance of the village.

you need to sleep early

When I was hiking, on the way I saw many stones was arranged like as these pictures but I don't know why they did like that in that time?

really @noopu wow.. sure hiking is fun.. nice comment and did you take some pictures?

No,I didn't.
😥

Awww😏 ...don't worry you get better chances... Find time to check my blog...have some good info for you

Yea, I will

ok dear and keep steeming
updated a new post today

I am looking forward your new post too.

thanks dear as always...just keep checking ... updated yesterday and will update a nice one tomorrow

In Thailand 🇹🇭

May be similar reason ?
Aians have common cultural background

i think same reason

Thought provoking article. I have seen the stone piling in many countries around the world. All are very similar. No one has been able to give me a reason for these piles. This comes close. It is amazing to think that many different cultures have this in common...

Thank you so much for your comment.
There must be lots of things we don't know yet

I know this stone piling practice after watching Korean drama, Scarlet Heart Ryeo. In this drama, the ones who piled stones were normally mothers. They wished for their children's sake. I had no idea that this practice actually existes in the past. I thought it was just the director's imagination. Thanks @slowwalker, now I know.

Thank you for your comment

You're most welcome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47