You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Stone Pile and Wishes of Common People

in #culture7 years ago (edited)

I always thought that cairns (piled stones) were a way to mark a trail. I went hiking/camping once in the mountains, at some point I got separated from my friends, each had a different pace of walking. I worried a bit, I felt lost at the top of that mountain. But, thankfully there were stone piles marking the path to follow. I followed them and I rejoined my friends later. Perhaps some cultures see them as a spiritual symbol. For me, I see them as a guide put by travelers for the travelers; they put me back on track 🙂

Sort:  

I live in Israel, In the desert the Beduians (Native tribes of the desert), used to mark their paths and trails in the mountains by piles of stones called Rujums (Arabic), from each Rujum you can see the next one, this way you travel from Rujum to Rujum. I also pile stones one on to of the other but in a very different way - It is called Stone Balancing, have you heard of it ?

It would be very useful in the mountain.
Thank you for your comment

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62521.03
ETH 3025.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97