Very rare Crypto Kitty figurine GIVEAWAY! - details in the post

in #cryptokitties6 years ago (edited)

Here is the rarest Crypto Kitty you can put your hands on and it can be yours!

Just read the post and follow the rules. It is one of the kind figurine I sculpted exclusively for you Steemians and you can own it only by participating in this fun giveaway.

Backstory

I am active on Steemit platform since August 2017. I wrote many posts about things I sculpted in the past explaining the techniques and encouraging you dear readers to try DIY toys as a method to build your skills in art and crafts. All I earn from my posts and comments is used to power-up my account and give back in my upvotes. My recent post was discovered by one of the @curie curators last week and this event gave me a positive boost of confidence and I decided to give something back for your support. I wanted to make something exclusively for crypto enthusiasts while using my skills. Since I am not the best trader so I can't give you my advice, but I now how to sculpt. When browsing Steemit I saw one of the @brittuf posts and got this idea, to make a physical representation of Cryptokitties. It is only one figure like that in the whole world and you can have it. You can keep it as souvenir of this internet phenomenon, sell on eBay or pass it to your friend. It is like real crypto, you can't send it twice :)

Rules

It is a raffle. Next week, after the payout, I will randomly choose one person and send him/her the figure by registered post. To take part you can do one or all the following:

  • Upvote this post. Each vote no matter how small gives you one chance to win the figure. If your vote is bigger than 1 SBD you will get 1 ticket per each 1 SBD of value of your upvote.

  • Resteem to get 1 extra chance per 1000 of your followers. That means that if you have 3456 followers, you get 3 tickets in the raffle.

If the final payout is less than 30 SBD, it means that public decided it was not such a great idea and the giveaway is canceled.

Stretch Goals!

To spice the things a bit more, here are the stretch goals

If this post reaches 100 SBD, the winner will get an option to modify this cat. I will paint him and customize based on winners favorite kitty.

If this post reaches 200 SBD, I will make the SECOND cat for the person with the BIGGEST upvote based on his design of choice.

If this post reaches 500 SBD (I know it is crazy but let's make it exciting), I will make the THIRD cat based on Genesis Cat which will be the main prize. The second person from the raffle will get this model with the option to repaint it and the biggest upvoter will get one automatically the cat of his choice.

If you don't have enough Steem Power but you still want to have a chance to play for biggest upvote prize, you can fund an upvoting bot as long as your name appears on its comment.
Please leave the comment what do you think about this contest so I know somebody read this.
I will contact the selected person by wallet, comment and any means possible, but if this person will not respond with shipping details in 1 week, I will randomly choose the second person.

How was it made aka Proof of Work

You can skip this part if you don't have time or you are not interested in the process of creating this figure:) I wanted to sculpt it in clay but didn't have enough Sculpey at hand so decided to sculpt him digitally. I used a free program called Sculptris. It is a very basic version of Zbrush, you can download it and play with it, it is very intuitive. I already used it few times on different projects. You start with the sphere and shape it by pushing or pulling areas of the mesh using your mouse or pen and tablet. You can add multiple spheres to form separate shapes like eyes, ears and legs. When I was happy with the sculpt I exported it as .obj file, one of 2 options I could choose. I opened this in Meshlab to convert it to .stl which is the format ready for 3d printers. Because this model was not a single mesh but many separate (eyes, nose, ears and legs) I opened it in Meshmixer and turned it to single solid. I also used plane cut to make the bottom flat. I exported it as .stl file and it was ready to feed it to the slicer. I use Makerware, the program which came with my printer. I saved the file on SD card and pressed print on my machine.

It took 4h and 30 minutes to print it and it used 17.6m of PLA plastic for the body. It wasn't bad, it would be awesome if it was ready to paint. Not so fast :) That's the beginning of the labor-intensive task. I need to remove the lines from the printing visible on the surface, especially after painting. I sanded it with sander where I could reach and later with a piece of sandpaper around the little details and hard to reach areas.


I then filled all the holes I could see with Tamiya putty. As you can see, almost whole figure is covered with this smelly white stuff. When it dried, I sanded it by hand with sandpaper, the second pass.

That left the figure with some of the lines filled. I sprayed it 3 times with filler primer, that covered the whole thing with even color what helps to see any areas which need more putty.

As you can see below, many areas need more attention. I sanded it again and sprayed with primer. I still could find few places for extra spot putty. It took me 6 passes to get the smooth surface. When it was ready, I painted it with white primer to have a good base for final colors.

I went through all the color variations on the sales page at crypto kitty website. It was hard to choose one, but through a process of elimination of opened windows, I ended with this one. I know, you would probably choose differently, and you will have this option hopefully ;) I will happily sand it one more time and paint it the way YOU like it. That is what I do!

It is painted with acrylics. I used green and blue to mix the main color. It was applied with brushes, was a good coverage, I only needed to paint it twice to get a nice finish. At the end, I sprayed it with a matte clear coat for extra protection.

What do you think? Do you like him? Would you like to see more kitties like that? You can drop pictures of your favorite color scheme in comments below. Thanks for your time, upvotes and I wish you luck in the draw! Let's have some fun!

Sort:  

Oooh I won! I can't believe it! Thanks so much to @mitchhunter!

My pleasure, Thank you for taking part. Hope to see you in next raffle soon. Kitty packed and addressed as we discussed.

It has arrived and found a loving family right away!
https://steemit.com/cryptokitties/@nelyp/un-cryptokitty-real

Thanks for great news. I came back from holidays and was planning to check the tracking. I am happy it arrived safe.

Nice to meet you friends please we become friends @pharesim

Dear @pharesim;

I need any help to stop @grumpycat hurting innocent people.
We have to show that Steemit is bigger than any bully who is trying to impose his own rules by using his high SP on innocent people.
The post below is the summary of the situation :
https://steemit.com/life/@firedream/stop-the-grumpycat
Thank you for any help to stop the actions of @grumpycat.

Best Regards.

FD.

Que éxito, felixitaciones!

Brilliant! Thank you very much. You are an expert about kitties here, so if your resteem will not spread the word, nobody can. Your tickets in the raffle are registered. Good luck with the draw.

Thank you for doing so, otherwise I would have missed this opportunity 🤗

Fantastic piece of art...

Thanks! I am happy you decided to take part. Wish you luck in the draw.

This is p cool. :3

Thank you, I am glad you like it.

This is awesome!

Here's a tip for anyone that doesn't know - if you want to know your current voting power, have a look at https://steemdb.com/ for all your stats, including your voting power.
You can just add your steemit username (with the @ symbol) after the slash, so to check out @mitchhunter you'd go to https://steemdb.com/@mitchhunter - Easy peasy.

Good luck everyone! I know my daughter would flip out over this!

Thanks for the tip. I use steemworld.org I like its interface. I see it is a lot of information on steemdb. Thanks for the link. I will be checking it until I get used to and it will become my second nature to type it.
Good luck in my contest. I hope your daughter is not a toddler because I don't know how the paint will behave when licked :)

Yeah, steemdb has all the data. Very comprehensive. And no, my daughter is a teenager, so no worries there ;)

Finally a kittie with true value!

Hehe, Yes. I will sign it with my name and spend the rest of my life trying to raise its value, I promise! You didn't see the best of me yet!

This gem of a post was discovered by the OCD Team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used in our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

If you would like your posts to be resteemed by @ocd and reach a bigger audience, use the tag #ocd-resteem, it doesn´t have to be the first one. Every day, three posts using this tag will be chosen by our curators to be RS. Good Luck

Yes, of course, I accept! Thank you for noticing my post. Super happy

I like the cat just how he is - he looks great!

Very nice work in creating this, and very creative contest! I'm IN!

I would love to win this. I won the one-of-a-kind clay Steem Dollar, made by @stellabelle in the very early days of steemit and it is a prized possession. If I happen to get this cat, he will have a little spending money sitting right next to him!

Resteemed and Up Voted 100%

Good luck to everyone who enters this cool contest!!!

Thanks for your massive help. It is half way to my first stretch goal and I can already say it is a success. It broke my records for views and already makes my brain spinning, what can I make next.
I wish you success in the draw, you have multiple tickets from what I see so big chances to win it. It would be cool to see him next to the coin, as part of your steemit collection.

Oh my goodness, how cute! I would LOVE to see more kitties like this. 3D printing is so badass. I'd never seen so many variations before but a quick google search pulled this up:

If we don't win, would you consider selling them for Steem right here on Steemit?

Thanks for your nice words. Yes there is so many designs, I spent 2 hours going through them and eliminating :) It was hard choice to settle on one color scheme.
This one passed my minimum so it will go to somebody. Maybe to you, we will see. I will consider selling them if people will be interested. Making custom figures is what I do, check my other posts, I am most often hired to make custom engagement ring boxes :)

Wow, that's awesome! Yes, I do hope I win. 🤓 I will check out your other work!

Thanks for doing this giveaway! It's really cool to see your creative process, too. I think the cryptokitty turned out great … does it have a name? Or does the winner get to pick a name? :)

My pleasure. I had fun making it (except the sanding part which I still hate :) ) It does not have a name, if you have an idea, we can name him or leave it for the winner of the raffle. I can even print the name or barcode of winners ethereum wallet address as a decal on the back if you wish

Well, if I win it I'm going to name it Caspar. :)

I like this name!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64060.81
ETH 3129.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17