What Am I?

Who Am I .png

I was in the process of joining a new gym the other day, and the lady asked me what I did. I paused momentarily and said that I was into cryptocurrency; '...you know? Like Bitcoin.'

Ah yes! At the mention of Bitcoin, the blank look that had crossed her face when I said the word cryptocurrency, vanished, and was replaced by one of recognition.

I don't know why I said that, I usually reply that I'm a writer, seeing as I don't have a job and earn money writing on Steemit.

However that doesn't really cover what I do, and so it got me musing over how my situation is representative of countless others.

New Definitions For A New Paradigm

For some reason the word entrepreneur has always bothered me, although it may be an apt description of what I am, as I dabble in many things and don't have a regular job.

However the term doesn't seem to cover it for me, perhaps if I was French and had a deeper understanding of the term, I wouldn't be saying that.

The fact is I'm not, and when I think of my situation, and others that I'm either aware of or not, it strikes me that a term is needed to describe people who inhabit these new crypto spaces.

Trader's Paradise

Perhaps the most obvious feature of this new world we live in, is that the availability of cryptos has made traders of us all.

Perhaps then it is cryptotrader I should put on a business card?

Or maybe as I mentioned before, Steemit Blogger might be what one who survives by posting on Steemit should call themselves?

However what about somebody who still leverages their Steemit account, yet doesn't use it to post articles? There are many examples of that, to accounts that only vote, to ones like our dear friend @neoxian whom uses his account as a bank.

A Matter Of Definition

Maybe none of this matters, perhaps the only reason for any kind of new definition is to have something to answer to the question of 'So what do you do?'

It could all be a social question, something to say when we're at parties, or maybe it matters beyond that. There are instances in the corporate world, whereby we legally have to define our statuses.

Or maybe that's the point, we are part of a world that places high value on decentralisation and anonymity, perhaps then having no definition of what it is we do, is the ultimate manifestation of those values.

What's In A Name?

I guess that's all well and good, but when it comes down to it, categorisation is a human necessity. When Prince Rogers Nelson decided that he no longer wanted to be called Prince, as he felt the name had become a symbol for corporate greed. We still called him The Artist Formerly Known As Prince, because, well, what the hell were we supposed to call him?!

Prince himself decided that he wanted his name to be a symbol. When asked what the name of the symbol was, he replied that it didn't have a name.

Hmmm, shall we call you that sign then?

No.

It's pretty difficult to write album reviews on an artist with no name . . .

I Am Crypto

For now, 'I do crypto stuff' is enough, and I guess the fun is, I can answer differently to the question, whilst remaining truthful, depending on my mood at the time.

So I guess the real question is; is this just an interesting social question; or does it reflect a greater change at large, and if so; what does it mean?

ARE YOU HAVING TROUBLE DEFINING WHAT YOU DO? OR MAYBE WHAT YOU DID BEFORE THE DAYS OF CRYPTO IS CHANGING INTO SOMETHING ELSE AND YOU CAN'T QUITE WORK OUT WHAT. AS EVER, LET ME KNOW YOUR THOUGHTS BELOW!

Cryptogee

Sort:  

At the mention of Bitcoin, the blank look that had crossed her face when I said the word cryptocurrency, vanished, and was replaced by one of recognition.

I find it fascinating how uneducated the world is on cryptocurrancy and the assumption that Bitcoin is the only coin that exists. It's not really their fault as the media's coverage of crypto seems to ignore Altcoins altogether.

You also make another interesting point and that is about the changing nature of work and the opportunities things like this present to the world. What do we call this new style of work as its still work. I do believe is here to stay. As I think it's a smarter way to work, however, not easier as it's all down to self control and consistency.

Effort = Reward

My main aim is to build something residual but a lot of people get caught up in the prestige of the positions, myself included. I thought i liked being in the corporate world, it's only now I'm co sider ing what I really want out of life that I realise that a nave is just that. It doesn't have to define you.

Work smarter not harder and define yourself however you want. It may not make sense to them now but only you need to be satisfied with what you do. I'm excited and cant wait to get to an undefined status where I'm succesfully working for myself.

This is funny and interesting, I actually face the same issue. It was easier to say i am a quality control officer when i was working in a biscuit factory but now, when people ask where do you work? or what do you do?, I pause then smile and reply I work from home. I use my phone and my laptop. You need to see the looks i get from people when I say that lool....then I quickly add that i write and edit then i get paid for doing that. I mention cryptocurrencies in most cases.

Honestly, I haven't even started defining who I am.

I'm at the very end of my Master's degree in Bioinformatics, yet I seem to be losing any desire to work in the field.

Oh, I still want to have a positive impact on the world, and Bioinformatics is still interesting, but the more I think about it, the more I realize I have no idea what I'm aiming to be.

It's certainly not helping that my incapacity to concentrate on more than one thing at a time - to the point where I forget to do the other things - has led me to the point where I now technically have a month and a half and still haven't found an Internship ! (Well... found one, but when I could finally talk with them over Skype 3 day ago, it turns out they didn't even think about the need for me to actually have some kind of salary...).

I've been playing with the idea of writing a post to talk about my personal problems, like my inability to concentrate on more than one or two big things that need doing, and how I feel like time just keeps disappearing on me, but I'm not sure if anybody would feel like reading such a post, or that it would bring something of value to the people here on Steemit...

Hell, my mind even dreamt up the fantasy of trying to calculate the amount of money I'd need to do the Internship, and then write a post describing every detail of the proposed internship (Deep Learning applied to hyperloop prediction for Lymphocytes, for those interested) and how the budget was calculated, and ask if the Steemit Community fancied creating a kind of Scholarship for me XD (yeah... kind of a daydream :) )


In any case, to at least properly answer your question:

I have no idea what I could define myself as in the future, or even presently, other than "someone who wants to make the world a better place and also not live in a cardboard box in the future".

How's that for a job description ;)

As for crypto... I haven't actually really gotten into trading yet. I've invested in a total of 3 ICO's, but I just keep getting distracted (Ok... ok... I keep forgetting XS) from actually trying to actively trade.

There's just soo many things to do XS

I've been playing with the idea of writing a post to talk about my personal problems, like my inability to concentrate on more than one or two big things that need doing, and how I feel like time just keeps disappearing on me, but I'm not sure if anybody would feel like reading such a post, or that it would bring something of value to the people here on Steemit...

Are you crazy??? That would make a great post! I'm fairly sure I'd have something to say on the subject once you sketched out exactly where you felt you were having problems. Also, you won't be the only person in this predicament, so I think the post would bring a lot of value.

I think you're in a slightly different situation to me because you are in education, so it is quite natural to wonder about your future self, especially with such a complex subject. It's not like you're taking a course to become a gas engineer whereby it's pretty obvious what you'll be when you finish.

I know there are already coins out there like Folding Coin which is trying to marry the world of gene sequencing and cryptocurrency together. Perhaps your ultimate goal lies in that direction? :-)

Cg

I say always post and see what happens. You never know till you try...and then try some more!

I'll begin mentally prepping, figuring out how to say it and such.
Thanks for the encouragement, you're right.
You never know before you try.
And then you never know why it failed before you try again and change some of the parameters (said in a very scientific way I know XD).

Have an excellent day :)

Sure! Go ahead and post. It would be interesting to see what is involved in bioinformatics. I remember trying to read an O'Reilly book on the subject, but it was too deep for me. Maybe you could provide a little more light.

As an outsider looking in, I'd say you are living the dream. However I have also been an entrepreneur, but I do not know the history on that word (yet). What I do know is it is hard work to carve out a living on your own, and while I indicated that you could put "Living the Dream" on a business card, I also know there is more to it. I often found while Living the Dream, that I had much longer hours than with a typical job. However, at other times I had more leisure.

A quick peek at Wikipedia for the history of the word entrepreneur is interesting. It relates to commerce in France, and an adventurer in Britain. It is associated with classical economics including the work of Irish-French economist Richard Cantillon in the 17th and 18th centuries. Cantillon defined the term as a person who pays a certain price for a product and resells it at an uncertain price, i.e. crypottraders :-) .

It is interesting that In the 20th century entrepreneurship was studied by Austrian economist including Ludwig von Mises and Friedrich von Hayek.

Source: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Entrepreneurship#Historical_usage

Wikipedia goes on to sub-catorgize the term and it gets complicated, but I get the impression that you are an Entrepreneur ...maybe a Cryptopreneur

Great answer; as you correctly point out living the dream often requires long hours, no holidays or luxuries. I love the evolution of the word entrepreneur, and in some part of the descriptions I relate to the word, others I don't.

Thanks for the link, I think I may disappear down that particular rabbit hole for awhile :-)

Cg

I wiggle and cannot see, sometimes underground and sometimes on a tree. I really don't want to be on a hook, and I become a person when combined with book. What am I?

worm

It's a bit of a struggle for those who have multiple interests and jobs to explain what they are doing or who do they want to become; especially when a stranger asks you , like you can't sit down there with them and explain all your areas of interests in a short time . Neither are you able to choose a single one of them and give a reply because most of your jobs or hobbies are equally important.So, when i am confronted upto such a question, my only reply is I do many a things.

Very true, I think I will expand that to, I do many things in crypto :-)

Cg

I was into cryptocurrency; '...you know? Like Bitcoin.'

Ah yes! At the mention of Bitcoin, the blank look that had crossed her face when I said the word cryptocurrency, vanished, and was replaced by one of recognition.

Aah, I feel the pain. I'm also trying to figure out how to explain my dealings to the people in my civil service work place of what I'm doing/what I'm going to do when I've completed my service, without looking like the guy down, lol.

Cryptocurrencies are so out of regular people's world view as for now. but in 2-3 years saying your dealing with crypto is probably pretty common. But as for that, in short occasions I'm just going with "I'm still thinking what I'll do (because that's partially true)" when I don't have a good opportunity to explain what's the point of being in crypto.

I saw my grandparents the other day, and of course, they were asking about my future plans which are pretty much unknown except that I'll be dealing with cryptocurrencies. So, I got to explain the really basic things that they can also understand, like "Bitcoin introduced the technology that enables the exchanging of value without a third party, like bank." But kudos to my grandma who's trying to keep up with today's youth :D

Big kudos to your grandma! Lol, I don't even try with my mum (87), I just say, I'm doing computer stuff, which is sufficiently confusing for her :-)

Cg

You pose a very interesting question; one that I get'nailed' with all the time. Let me explain: I was a high school teacher for years (clearly defined title but it comes with a lot of preconceptions...some true, some false). Then I met the man of my dreams, walked away from my job/pension and opened a restaurant. Crazy, some said, but still very definable. He then got sick(cancer), we sold everything, and moved from Vancouver to Mexico, where we now reside. Thru a friend, I found steemit in December and it is now my "job". When people ask me what I do, I give varying answers. Some days, it is simply "whatever I want"; other days, I try my best to explain crypto and steemit blogger/commenter:) Throw in a language barrier, and it then becomes simply "retired". I always find it interesting that we feel the need to define ourselves, and just simply can't "be". One thing I do know for sure is that when I'm at social gatherings, I no longer begin my small talk with, "what do you do?" :) Cheers!

It's funny isn't it, because the only time it really matters, is when we're at social situations, and for the odd form. The rest of the time, I think we can just be.

I think history will define us, at some point in the future a word for what we do will be invented and that's what we'll be in the eyes of the public I guess :-)

Cg

Yes I think you are correct...wouldn't it be really cool to be the one who comes up with the name??:) Perhaps that's another contest!
Thank you for the recognition of my post; I really do appreciate it! Cheers:)

It is sad but funny

I hope to make it as a writer like you did

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62204.66
ETH 2437.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64