You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What Am I?

in #cryptogee-musings7 years ago

Honestly, I haven't even started defining who I am.

I'm at the very end of my Master's degree in Bioinformatics, yet I seem to be losing any desire to work in the field.

Oh, I still want to have a positive impact on the world, and Bioinformatics is still interesting, but the more I think about it, the more I realize I have no idea what I'm aiming to be.

It's certainly not helping that my incapacity to concentrate on more than one thing at a time - to the point where I forget to do the other things - has led me to the point where I now technically have a month and a half and still haven't found an Internship ! (Well... found one, but when I could finally talk with them over Skype 3 day ago, it turns out they didn't even think about the need for me to actually have some kind of salary...).

I've been playing with the idea of writing a post to talk about my personal problems, like my inability to concentrate on more than one or two big things that need doing, and how I feel like time just keeps disappearing on me, but I'm not sure if anybody would feel like reading such a post, or that it would bring something of value to the people here on Steemit...

Hell, my mind even dreamt up the fantasy of trying to calculate the amount of money I'd need to do the Internship, and then write a post describing every detail of the proposed internship (Deep Learning applied to hyperloop prediction for Lymphocytes, for those interested) and how the budget was calculated, and ask if the Steemit Community fancied creating a kind of Scholarship for me XD (yeah... kind of a daydream :) )


In any case, to at least properly answer your question:

I have no idea what I could define myself as in the future, or even presently, other than "someone who wants to make the world a better place and also not live in a cardboard box in the future".

How's that for a job description ;)

As for crypto... I haven't actually really gotten into trading yet. I've invested in a total of 3 ICO's, but I just keep getting distracted (Ok... ok... I keep forgetting XS) from actually trying to actively trade.

There's just soo many things to do XS

Sort:  

I've been playing with the idea of writing a post to talk about my personal problems, like my inability to concentrate on more than one or two big things that need doing, and how I feel like time just keeps disappearing on me, but I'm not sure if anybody would feel like reading such a post, or that it would bring something of value to the people here on Steemit...

Are you crazy??? That would make a great post! I'm fairly sure I'd have something to say on the subject once you sketched out exactly where you felt you were having problems. Also, you won't be the only person in this predicament, so I think the post would bring a lot of value.

I think you're in a slightly different situation to me because you are in education, so it is quite natural to wonder about your future self, especially with such a complex subject. It's not like you're taking a course to become a gas engineer whereby it's pretty obvious what you'll be when you finish.

I know there are already coins out there like Folding Coin which is trying to marry the world of gene sequencing and cryptocurrency together. Perhaps your ultimate goal lies in that direction? :-)

Cg

I say always post and see what happens. You never know till you try...and then try some more!

I'll begin mentally prepping, figuring out how to say it and such.
Thanks for the encouragement, you're right.
You never know before you try.
And then you never know why it failed before you try again and change some of the parameters (said in a very scientific way I know XD).

Have an excellent day :)

Sure! Go ahead and post. It would be interesting to see what is involved in bioinformatics. I remember trying to read an O'Reilly book on the subject, but it was too deep for me. Maybe you could provide a little more light.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62296.59
ETH 2441.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65