A Flat Earther's Rough Guide To Winning A Nobel Prize - Solving The Sun Below The Clouds Problem

sun under plane.png

I think it is appropriate that the toughest problem the flat-earth 'truthers' face, is the one we tackle last in our Rough Guide series. In fact if I may be so bold to suggest, if you solve this particular riddle, not only will you win an instant Nobel Prize and be on the cover of Time magazine. It will probably somehow answer all our previous questions and they'll just give you an extra 10 Nobel Prizes anyway.

This problem has kept me up at night, because I want to believe you I do. Imagine how exciting it would be to find out that we don't just think we're special, we are special!

I would love to find out that the only place in the entire universe, where the laws of physics and science in general are not constant, is our little corner, of our humble little solar system.

However before I can commit my belief, I need you to explain exactly what it is that I saw on my trip to Madrid last month. That is to say, what I saw while I was in an aeroplane around 30,000 feet in the air.

Don't Let The Sun Go Down On Me

So as I mentioned, I went to Madrid last month (it was very nice, thanks for asking), and just as we were approaching our destination, I looked out of the window and saw something that really puts the kibosh on the flat earth theory.

You see, we happened to be coming into Madrid at around sunset, we were roughly 30,000 feet in the air, and the sun appeared to be below us, underneath the cloud layer.

Let that sink in, we were only a few miles up in the air, yet the sun was below us!!

Wha- Wait... What socrcery!!

Oh hang on, if you are an ignorant glober, this may not be so surprising to you. You may say to me, that the sun wasn't really below me, it was actually on the horizon and because the earth was turning away from the sun, it appeared to be below you.

Hmm, okay, I might answer, that sounds plausible, because the alternative is, it was actually below me, but then of course, that would mean that the sun was less than a few miles in diameter, which of course it isn't.

Maybe the people on the ground were seeing a different sunset? Perhaps there are two suns, one you see from the ground and one you see when you're in an aeroplane?

Nnnnoooo, that doesn't seem right . . .

Aha! I've got it, even though I didn't notice the switch, the windows were actually the most advance kind of monitor known to man, and they were simply playing a video in order to perpetuate the glober myth; they're sooooo desperate!!

Hmm, ok, that seems plausible that an airline and its employees would somehow be part of an impossible-to-uphold-conspiracy theory . . .

But let's just say for one ridiculous moment that the phenomenon is real, we - and when I say we, I mean you, have to come up with a really good explanation for that, one which we can test. Because, I have to level with you, this is a toughie.

I saw with my own eyes, the sun shinning upwards through the clouds, it was definitely below us. I even double checked by looking up at the darkening sky, and yup, no sun.

Anticipation And Experimentation

Seriously guys, this is the one I'm looking forward to most, because as far as I can tell, there is no way for the sun ever to be below us on a flat earth model. Unless of course it is passing underneath us, which we then go back to the; why isn't it night for everyone at the same time? argument.

So if the sun is 32,000 miles above the earth, and it stays at that height, because we are both accelerating 'up' together at 9.8 m/s^2, then how did I see the sun below me?

I guess the easy answer is; I didn't, I made a mistake, and I hallucinated it, however there are a lot of pictures online of the same effect, and of course, any flat earther who believed these images were faked, could easily book a trip on a commercial plane or even in a light aircraft around sunset, and actually open the window to make sure they weren't being tricked, and then simply observe the sun below them.

OK guys, if you can do this, they won't just give you Nobel Prizes, they'll make ones up just for you. They'll probably make a prize to give to future forward thinkers like yourself!

OK, so that's it for the series; I hope I've given you enough ammunition to either prove the theory, or just give up on the whole ludicrous idea. If you do the former and go onto win all those prizes, then I salute you. If you do the latter, then that's fine as well, you don't even have to tell anyone, in fact it's probably better if you don't, just simply let it go.

It's actually quite easy, when you realise there's not that much to hold onto in the first place . . .

Further reading:

Sunsets From A Plane: Google Image Search

Why is the sky blue? Why are sunsets red?: - The Optical Society

Further Viewing

Video Proof Of Round Earth -

Image citation:

Tom Barrett for Unsplash

Related musings:

A Flat Earther's Rough Guide To Winning A Nobel Prize - Tackling The Sun Problem

A Flat Earther's Rough Guide To Winning A Nobel Prize - Much Ado About Gravity

A Flat Earther's Rough Guide To Winning A Nobel Prize - Eclipsing Logic

A Flat Earther's Rough Guide To Winning A Nobel Prize - Sub Solar Seasoning

A Flat Earther's Rough Guide To Winning A Nobel Prize - Overcoming Rayleigh: Why Is The Sky Blue?

Cryptogee Musings Contents Pages:

Page One

Page Two

THAT'S ALL FOLKS! I HAVE LAID OUT IN THIS SERIES THE MOST FUNDEMENTAL PROOFS THAT OUR WORLD IS ROUND. THEY ARE AS FAR AS WE CAN TELL, COMPLETELY IMPOSSIBLE TO DISPROVE, HOWEVER I LEAVE ONE PERCENT OF ONE PERCENT OF MY REASONING TO BELIEVE THAT PERHAPS THEY CAN BE DISPROVED.

IN WHICH CASE, MY TONGUE-IN-CHEEK QUIPS ABOUT WINNING NOBEL PRIZES WILL ACTUALLY TURN OUT TO BE PROPHETIC MUTTERINGS, BECAUSE YOU WILL WIN NOBELS IF YOU CAN EXPLAIN JUST ONE THING THAT I HAVE LAID OUT IN THESE ARTICLES.

IF YOU FEEL YOU CAN, OR HAVE ANY OTHER COMMENTS, THEN AS EVER, LET ME KNOW BELOW!

Cryptogee

Sort:  

@cryptogee,

Listen, mister smarty-pants ... there's no need to be sarcastic.

There's a perfectly reasonable explanation for your observation. The sun, of course, was not underneath you. It was, in fact, above you - as logic would dictate.

The plane ... was flying upside down.

I'm surprised you didn't notice.

Of course! In some weird, elaborate plot to make me think the world is round!

Cg

Here, this is what happened. You were flying in the plane (in the picture you are silver surfer beacause i dont know how to draw a plane) and you were on the high ground of the flat earth near the north pole, so the sun seems to be below you.
I want my nobel prize now. (I draw this to my friend, that is why it is in spanish, but i think you undestand it anyways)
1522215145859.jpg

Hahahaaha, very good!! Give this man his prize now!! Muy bueno mi amigo!! LOL

Cg

gracias amigo, do you know Riquelme?

No, I did wonder about that, I just thought he was meant to be you?

Cg

He is a very loved football player, he played in barcelona but is from argentina.

Ah of course! That Riquelme :-), Yes I know of him :-)

Cg

Yeah, I used to do that...there was a water storage near our home and it was around 50 ft high...Sometimes I would sneak there(my mom had forbidden us going there, or obvious reasons) to watch the kites...(and the second sunset :) )

Really fun flight of fancy this series has been, thanks for the entertainment! And yes you've given me plenty of ammunition for any flat-earthers I might meet. I've met none so far, and I consider this a blessing!

Thanks, I've enjoyed writing it; I've only ever met them online, however when you see the size of some of their conventions, and the amount of retweets that idiot, flat-earther celebrities get, you realise that it's only a matter of time . . .

Cg

wow, freaky. reminds me of the my feeling after the 2016 election..."who ARE these people???"

I know, it is totally mental, they are growing in number, and it scares me, it really scares me.

Cg

Hahaha, great post with alot of humour and information. Amazing video to bring it all together!

I'm sure the Flat Earthers would claim it's all to do with smoke (or clouds in this case) and mirrors.

The Milky Way is one of the most powerful manifestations that exist, we believe that we are approaching when in reality we are very far from it. We believe that all planets are close to each other when in fact they are many kilometers away. Our universe is wonderful. Thanks for sharing.
If you like, you can visit my profile and if you prefer, vote .. Thank you.

We believe that all planets are close to each other when in fact they are many kilometers away.

We do know that, the outer planets' distances can be measured in light hours.

Cg

Well let me tell you! That here in Venezuela when you climb "Ávila mountain" (2144 masl) you can see the same phenomenon! I have seen it a couple times but never ask me why does this happened?

It is kind of interesting the information you just gave us! And yeah is really difficult to understand, maybe sometimes we just need to enjoy the show and not ask to much! But it is really important the information gave
Thanks for sharig

And yeah is really difficult to understand,

It isn't, it is very easy to understand if you accept reality. Because the world is round and spinning on its axis, we see the illusion of the sun setting. Which is my point, this phenomenon is impossible to explain in the flat earth model. :-)

Cg

Been a lot of fun reading the series!

I see you are in London: are you going to the London Cryptocurrency Show on the 14th? There are a lot of Steem Projects being showcased.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85