SPHERE decentralized social media the new STEEMIT!

in #cryptocurrency7 years ago

Sphere.png

Not very likely. I have been searching the web and cannot find much information about this. I do know that there is a website set up here at https://www.sphere.social/hello/ where you can set up a profile very similar to facebook. It has a facebook look and feel. They also have a Mobile app. As of now these sites are not monetized.

GET FREE TOKENS

They sent me a link here https://sphere.social/?ref_code=5309-f870ffec to refer friend where my friend will get 100 free SAT ( Social media tokens) based on the Etherum blockchain. This is about $5 dollars worth. If you sign up for the link I will receive 100 free SAT also. Their ICO is in pre-sale right now and you can get all the info from the referal link. They claim that you can buy each SAT for $.05 US

ICO Presale

The ICO is supposed to take place by the end of this month.

Here is a quote from their site

About Sphere
Sphere is the new generation of social network.
We are creating a decentralized social network, separate from those corporations. You have a say, you get compensated, and above all you take back the power with every click and every social connection.
Sphere Network Ltd.
Limited company incorporated in United Kingdom with Req no. 10961486.<

You can read the Whitepaper here https://sphere.social/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/Sphere_Whitepaper_v1.3.pdf

IS THIS A SCAM?

Now I don't know squat about ICO's but something doesn't seem right to me here. Why are they keeping the development team a secret? Someone went to the trouble to develop a very nice API and mobile app and that's about it. There are a couple of media releases regurgitating the information on the Sphere site. The SPhere website is nicely done and there is a very good professional video. What happened? Did they run out of marketing money? The concept seems like a really good idea to me. I find a lot of Facebook users are reluctant to make the switch to steemit for two reasons 1.) Steemit is too complicated for them to use. 2.) because they are not content creators and just like to post nonsense and collect the gratification of the likes. The Sphere platform should work really well for them.

So while I do not feel comfortable investing into this ICO at this time I have no problem collecting free tokens and referring people to get their own free tokens. If you would like to get free tokens and help me get free tokens you can get them get them HERE . In the meantime if would appreciate if anyone could share information they have about this product and this ICO

Sort:  

I just had a quick browse at their white paper. I can't find anything that can attract me to invest in it. I thought it would be like steemit but with a better features similar to facebook.

What I understand is it will be like facebook with the ability to sell and buy using the built in wallet and its own cryptocurrency SAT.

It's like getting a facebook, clone it and add wallet and then add buy and sell features but instead of using FIAT currency, use SAT instead.

If they say the platform have a look and feel of facebook and have all the features of steemit like the wallet, its own crypto currency and the main important thing "you get paid when you post you get paid when you comment and you get paid when you curate" not only you get paid when you sell something. THEN this platform will be the STEEMIT KILLER.

I believe their only offer for their ICO is a facebook like website with the ability to have your own wallet and digital currency for trading within that website. AND THAT'S ABOUT IT, I think.

Something is just not right about this. There is no information out there about it. Where is the Hype? As of right now it feels like a scam to me

I will say that I recently tweeted at them because I wanted to try the app but they still haven't responded which is a bit of a strange way to be when you're touting the fact that you're a social network. Also, their Tweets & Replies have practically no interaction with people.

I'm sticking to just getting some free coins for now and will see where this goes once the ICO is over. Definitely not comfortable giving any money to this right now.

Thanks for reading the whitepaper, thanks for sharing your thoughts

This post received a 75% upvote from @krwhale thanks to @steemthat! For more information, click here!
이 글은 @steemthat님의 소중한 스팀/스팀달러를 지원 받아 75% 보팅 후 작성한 글입니다. 이 글에 대한 자세한 정보를 원하시면, click here!

well...can't hurt trying right?

Thats what I thought too

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 2.2% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @steemthat
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @sostrin to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here! || Click here to participate in the @OriginalWorks sponsored writing contest(125 SBD in prizes)!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

This post has received a 50.00 % upvote from @steemthatyes thanks to: @steemthat.

I am tempted, free money is nice...

Although it is getting hard for me to keep track of my very diversified portfolio now, and it seems, as you said, that this platform is more similar to facebook, which is exactly what I don't want.

Thank you for bringing this to my attention! Information is power.

I have missed out on way too many financial opportunities in my life. I missed the the chance to buy Apple Stock because I thought that Windows was better. I didnt buy real estate because I thought that the price of the mortage was more than I wanted to spend, little did I know That home prices doubled and trippled. The worst one yet was not Buying Bitcoin in 2010 because it was too hard to configure the wallet and it seemed "shady". Thanks for the comment

You make very good points here. If these things were easy, we'd all be billionaires ;p

I think we are twins. I know I have said the exact same thing to friends recently. I think we did ok on this one. I'm not sure about Sphere but it sounds similar to what we are going to do with https://SteemThat.com and Steemish Tokens when Smart Media Tokens Become Available. Steemish Tokens will probably be launched as an ICO in this fashion to raise capital. To continue development in the way we need to will take significant capital infusions.

Hey did you see that this post got down voted by the anti upvote bot . That can't be too good for business huh? I wonder if it aimed toward me or steemthat

This post has been verified as a quality post and received a 50.00 % upvote from @binkley thanks to: @steemthat. SteemThatBotMoreIGrow . Please Upvote My Comment To Help Me Verify More Posts.

This post has received a 50.00 % upvote from @binkgirl thanks to: @steemthat. Your Comment Upvotes Help Us Both Grow. Thank you!

This post has received a 2.32 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @steemthat.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sostrin from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66342.41
ETH 3548.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.09