HODL: Meaning, Origins and Meme-CONTEST! [FREE SBD]

HODL?????

For a long time I really wondered where the term 'HODL ' came from.
I saw it popping up everywhere, and I quickly understood that it had to do with holding your cryptos, but I couldn't figure out why people started using this word everywhere. I bet I wasn't the only one, and that hundreds, maybe thousands of people have been wondering what it actually meant, or where it came from too.

I assumed it was some kind of lingo I didn't understand. Since I'm not a native speaker, articles related to cryptocurrency are often difficult to understand because of the niche-related jargon that is used. I just accepted it as another specific crypto-word.

Up until today...

I Didn't See That One Coming


I was reading an article when I noticed the word HODL was linked. My curiousity was too big not to click the link. I ended up at a Reddit thread where the meaning, or to be more specific: the source of the term was discussed.

And to be honest: I didn't see that one coming - I expected HODL had been created for some weird technical reason, but apparently it was not. The story behind it is hilarious. Better than I could ever imagine...

Although some think it has some deeper meaning like 'Hold On for Dear Life' or 'Hold On Don't Let (go)' and others think of it as 'a state of mind', they couldn't be further from the truth.

The term HODL was actually born when a drunk guy made a typo in his thread on Bitcointalk. Instead of 'HOLD', he typed 'HODL' and by doing so he triggered all the people that commented on the thread, who tought the typo was really funny. Ever since, the term started to live its own life and gained its place in the jargon of the cryptocurrency world.

HODL-thread.png

Bitcointalk Thread

Memes

And this wouldn't be 2017 if HODL wouldn't have been the start of a giant collection of related memes...



CONTEST

I'll share 50% of the SBD generated by this post with the funniest HODL-meme-reply.

Rules:

  • Upvote this post to maximize the generated SBD

  • Reply with the funniest HODL meme you can create or find

  • Your meme should contain text

  • Only memes in English will be accepted

  • Contest closes on Sunday Decemeber 17th, at 10 pm GMT. Winner will be announced on Monday December 18th.

(Winner will be picked by me)

Optional (But Recommended):

  • Resteem this post so it'll reach more people and more SBD can be shared

  • Add @OriginalWorks to your reply to active the @OriginalWorks Bot

  • Upvote whichever of the posted memes you think they're funny.

Of course you can use any bot you'd like to make this post generate more SBD.


Get Creative And Reply With Your Funniest HODL-Meme

Even if you don't want to enter, please upvote and re-STEEM this post to promote the contest, get more contestants and increase the SBD


Sort:  

image

Here's my submission. Not an original but my favorite hodl meme.

when-you-havent-told-anyone-in-5-minutes-hodl-hodl-hodl-hodl-hodl-hodl-hodl-hodl-hodlhodlhdl.jpg

This post received a 98.76% upvote from @randofish1 thanks to @mike314-0005!
For more information, click here!

This post has received a 1.61 % upvote from @boomerang thanks to: @mike314-0005

@boomerang distributes 100% of the SBD and up to 80% of the Curation Rewards to STEEM POWER Delegators. If you want to bid for votes or want to delegate SP please read the @boomerang whitepaper.

You got a 1.24% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @mike314-0005!

iNTRO pIC-01.jpg

This post was resteemed & upvoted by @superbot - the Best Resteem bot on Planet !
Good Luck!

Follow for 10 minutes ,
Send 0.100 Steem/Steem Dollar and the URL in the memo that you want resteemed and upvoted.

So don't waste any time ! Get More Followers and gain more Visibility With Superbot

Resteemed your article. This article was resteemed because you are part of the New Steemians project. You can learn more about it here: https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@gaman/new-steemians-project-launch

I love "Hodl" memes

Aw Man. I wasn't even on Steemit 3 days ago. Anyway, made this... HODLCOINS.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56